We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the White House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The White House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skagway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White House
Save
You added The White House to your Saves list
Eighth & Main Sts, Box 41, PO Box 41, Skagway, AK 99840   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Skagway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved the White House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

What a lovely restored home with lots of room and friendly staff and visitors. We, and the couple we were traveling with, were pleased with our choice of The White House B&B. We were warmly welcomed and the extras of hot coffee, tea and cookies certainly made us feel at home. We had two upstairs rooms that were large and comfy and had private baths. Breakfast was soooo good and the other visitors made it a lively and fun filled conversation while eating. We can recommend staying here and we're sure you'll enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you kindly for using some of your seconds to share. All the very best. Jan and John

“God gave you a gift of 86 400 seconds today. Have you used one to say thank you ”
― William Arthur Ward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    17
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
34
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cancun
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Lovely service nice breakfast in a house with history. Super decor The daylong drinks and cookies are a nice addition . Beds very clean and very helpful staff. Good location. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Hope you enjoyed the rest Skagway had to offer. Blessings, Jan and John

"Feeling gratitude and not expressing it is like wrapping a present and not giving it." - William Arthur Ward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

If you are traveling in Skagway, the Whitehouse B&B is a great choice. The rooms were spotless, Jan and John and staff were very friendly. Since Skagway is a small town, it is a short walk to anything including the airport. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Your endorsement is greatly appreciated. Safe travels. Jan and John
A thankful heart is not only the greatest virtue, but the parent of all the other virtues. - Cicero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumner, WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were very happy when we pulled up to the White House B&B. It is a beautifully restored home in Skagway. The room we had was very large, and the bed was very comfortable. Some of the furnishings appeared historic. The quilts were made, I believe, by the owner. Skagway still has some of the feelings of the gold rush era as the downtown area caters (or fleeces) those who step off the cruise ships and ferries. The White House certainly does not. The rooms are extremely clean, the bed was one of the best I've slept in, the morning breakfast was scrumptious. I would definitely recommend staying here as the staff and owners are wonderful people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you. Such encouraging words. Thanks for taking the time to share. Jan and John
"The smallest act of kindness is worth more than the grandest intention."
- Oscar Wilde
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Advertised as a B&B, this is a fairly large historic building. The individual washrooms were modern, most of the other decor was historic or looked like it. The rooms were spotless, and the bed one of the most comfortable we have slept on.
The staff service was great, and a lot of thought went into making sure everything was available to make your stay enjoyable - from coffee, freshly baked cookies, and other items.
The really outdo themselves at the included breakfast. Advertised as continental style, they went well beyond that with freshly baked items, a variety of quality cereals with a variety of toppings, juice, yogurt, granola bars, fruit..and many other items in a comfortable dining room
We will stay here again, and the cost was reasonable for Skagway. There is a lobby display of antiques and memorabilia that many will find enjoyable.

Room Tip: There is no elevator to the second floor, so request the ground floor if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are enjoying our life and are happy to share it with our visitors. Safe travels. “Too much of a good thing can be wonderful!” ― Mae West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed over at the White House in Skagway. Not only had we a nice, clean and bright room, the host was very kind and had quite some stories to share about fishing and Alaskan life style.
Impressive breakfast room, variety of cereals, bread, cookies, even soja milk present.
The teddy bears on the bed and the little duck in the bathroom were just the right finishing touch.
Unlike most of the smaller towns and villages we drove through, Skagway can be extremely busy when cruise ships arrive, so perhaps better to make reservations if you would like to stay in this historical house!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you ... safe travels. “Appreciation is a wonderful thing. It makes what is excellent in others belong to us as well.” ― Voltaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

couldn't fault Jan's Accommodation. walking around town, we felt we had picked the best place to stay. Surprise on booking in, we had been upgraded to a ground floor room.
the guest notebook was full of praise from worldwide guests

Room Tip: depends if you want upstairs or down. downstairs to right has luxurious bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you ... "No duty is more urgent than that of returning thanks." ~St. Ambrose of Milan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: Eighth & Main Sts, Box 41, PO Box 41, Skagway, AK 99840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Skagway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Skagway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfy little inn, bringing together modern conveniences and Skagway history, for a restful night's sleep. Rooms vary in size, but they all feature cable TV, handcrafted quilts, wireless Internet, mini refrigerators, screened windows and ceiling fans. The Continental breakfast has lots of choices. Warm, welcoming, and open year round. Afternoon tea and the cookie jar are always a treat. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.