We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money at Bistrot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Quartier Gourmand

Le Quartier Gourmand
2-4 avenue Gambetta | Hotel Restaurant Le Rempart, Tournus, France
0385511056
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Le Quartier Gourmand is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 33 Restaurants in Tournus
Price range: $23 - $94
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: L'etablissement dispose de 2 restaurants, le restaurant Gastronomique le Quartier Gourmand et le Bistrot. Possibilite d'accueillir des groupes, des familles, des seminaires selon vos envies et vos budgets.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great value for money at Bistrot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We went for the 19 Euro menu on the terrace. Setting is s bit fake and "kitsch" but service and quality of the food is very good. Prices of the wines are extremely interesting.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    30
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Dogs in a Michelin star restaurant?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had dinner at Le Rempart when passing through Tournus on a boat. The restaurant is very elegantly decorated, with impeccably dressed staff who are professional waiters. The sun was setting and shining straight into the restaurant, which made it uncomfortably warm, so this was a negative.
When we arrived we noticed that there were two big French poodles, table height, sitting at a table in the corner, they were well behaved until two wheezing and slobbering bulldogs arrived, one so fat that it couldn't walk and the owner staggered in carrying it. They sat at the table next to us and once they noticed the other dogs, the barking started. It was bizarre to see, but the staff never battered an eyelid, so presume this is normal in France.
Personally, I think it's outrageous and wouldn't even take a dog into a casual restaurant, let alone a posh upmarket establishment.
Having said that we settled into enjoying our meal. We chose the set menu option and it was all delicious and beautifully presented and served. The staff are excellent and the sommelier knowledgeable. The wines are reasonably priced, the set menu Euros65 per head.
It wasn't the best meal we had in France, perhaps a little stuffy for us, but pleased to have experienced a Michelin Star restaurant's fare.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Le Bistro Restaurant at Le Rempart Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have been to Le Rempart's Bistro restaurant several times over the years and enjoyed eating there. The last time we went a year or two ago it was ok - not great but more than good enough. Last night's meal however was a huge disappointment. All the more so because the main restaurant at Le Rempart has just earned its first Michelin star. Generally the cheaper bistro of a Michelin restaurant still serves food with that Michelin touch - it just much simpler food; lesser cuts of meat and fish; and without all the add-on extras one expects from the big brother.

Not so in the case of Le Rempart! I ordered the Caesar salad starter. This was a pile of iceberg lettuce in a tasteless dressing (no sign of egginess) and into which was mixed sharp aperitif anchovies, dry chicken, olives, pine nuts and tomatoes. The croutons were miniscule.

My main - so-called cochon - a pork chop covered with a thick coating of Maille(?) grain mustard, clearly straight out of the jar, was far too crude and strong. The chop, which was fine once I had scraped off all the mustard, was served with a so-called ratatouille - in fact a tablespoon of some quite fierce semi-dried tomato paste - on which rested half-a-dozen obviously shop-bought (Lustacru?) gnocchi. The dish was finished with a streak of unidentifiable (as it was quite tasteless) green sauce.

We had been asked to order our dessert in advance; something which happens in most good restaurants in order that they have time to prepare and cook it. At the Bistro Le Rempart this is simply a worthless pretense on their part. My gauffre was clearly shop-bought as was the apple puree, Chantilly cream and chocolate sauce which came with it.

This was a heavy-handed unimaginative meal more suited to a (not very good) lorry drivers caff than food served in a Michelin establishment.

My argument is not with the food per se - it was cheap and reasonably edible. But definitely not what one would expect from an establishment of this stature. It was not food that should have been coming out of a Michelin starred kitchen even if the chef was not actually cooking it himself. I found it insulting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacrost, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gastronomic Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you are travelling through, or staying in Tournus, or nearby, then the restaurant at "Le Rempart" should be a place to visit for fine dining. Delightful decor and a friendly and professional staff welcome you to this excellent dining experience. A range of set menus and 'A la Carte' are available to you, plus a very comprehensive selection of wines. We have lived in the area for just over eight years and have never been disappointed on any of our many visits to" Le Rempart". The Marion family are to be highly complimented for their attention to service and satisfaction of their clients.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“U expectedly good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Very good dinner, which was included in our Vermont Bike Tour package. Surprisingly good for a package meal.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Quartier Gourmand also viewed

Tournus, Saone-et-Loire
 
Tournus, Saone-et-Loire
Tournus, Saone-et-Loire
 

Been to Le Quartier Gourmand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Quartier Gourmand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.