We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring the coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Port Rhu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Port Rhu to your Saves list
Hotel du Port Rhu
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99, Avenue de la Gare, 29100 Douarnenez, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Douarnenez
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vienna, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring the coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We selected Douarnenez as our base for staying in this part of Brittany. We stayed in a triple room that faces the port, and that worth paying extra as the other side faces a parking lot with some modern buildings. The manager is extremely helpful and provided us with the information about the region as well as the maps.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    28
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
37
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

The owner was very friendly and spoke good English, he gave us a map and showed us where to go in the town. Our room was quite spacious and had obviously been refurbished recently, very contemporary and clean with a nice new bathroom. Sadly did not get the opportunity to try their restaurant but the menu looked good. The breakfast was generous and make sure you have it on the terrace! It looks over the port and is such beautiful way to start the day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I traveled to Brittany in January 2010. Pierre the manager was absolutely amazing. He speaks good English so no problems for those who do not speak French like me. The breakfast is THE BEST in France. One eats so much that it will be enough for the rest of the day. The Crepes are delicious! Visit the restaurant. It is affordable; the food and the ambiance is excellent!
Hope to go back again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel du Port Rhu for one night in September 2010. The hotel is more of a boutique-style setup with a lot of personal-attention - the hosts are extremely accomodating, and were always available and friendly, as we needed some recommendations for nearby travel. Pierre had italian lessons playing at the bar overhead in the morning, which was really charming.

Many beaches in walking distance as well as the charming downtown area.

The room was recently updated, with a very comfortable bed and clean modern bathroom. There's free WiFi in the room

The restaurant on the property, the Terrace, was busiest at lunch-time with a nice selection of wine and local french favorites. Try the lobster appetizer. it's delicious.

All in all, highly recommend the hotel - one disadvantage: this isn't a huge hotel, so might be a problem for last minute bookings.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights and found the room very comfortable. Pierre the owner was very helpful and most conversational especially when we told him we were Australian and not English - something about the Bretons and the English!! He didn't speak much English but our francais was sufficient to cope.The food at the hotel restaurant was really top class and provided some of the best meals I have had.
Douarnenez is a fascinating maritime port with the best maritime museum I have seen. If you're into boats and maritime history, as we are, this is the place to visit. During the warm season swimming would be on offer as is sailing and the place is ideal for long walks.
Food along the beachfront is cheap and fantastic.
One of the most interesting places we have visited

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Kerry, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

We stayed here for just one night at the end of a week in Brittany. The hotel is in an area which is undergoing road and construction development at the moment, and has itself been recently refurbished. We were therefore a little apprehensive approaching the hotel, but we need not have been concerned - the welcome we received was warm and helpful from the owner Pascale, and he could not have been more pleasant. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, and the breakfast excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

We didn't stay long, but loved Treboul. Very pretty. We stayed at the Port du Rhu Hotel, and were very happy with the rooms, service and location. Dinner at the Crepe restaurant was lovely

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Port Rhu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Port Rhu

Address: 99, Avenue de la Gare, 29100 Douarnenez, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Douarnenez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Douarnenez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Port Rhu 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Port Rhu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Port Rhu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.