We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Touch of class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Radio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Radio to your Saves list
Hotel Radio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43, avenue Pierre et Marie Curie, 63400 Chamalieres, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chamalieres
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Touch of class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Lovely hotel with good parking, love,y beds, unusual art deco rooms and an amazing resturant. Very good value for money and the best cheese board that I've had in 20years of traveling in France. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
37
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I staid twice in this hotel over a short period of time. The second time was somewhat disappointing as the room was rather dull and plain compared to the first stay. Request one of the renovated rooms to enjoy the atmosphere that welcomes you once you enter the hallway and adjacent public areas (bar, restaurant) in the hotel. Although we did not have diner at the hotel, it seems to have one of the better restaurants in the area.

As it is in a residential area up in the hills overlooking Clermont-Ferrand, you'll have no problem sleeping with the windows open.

The staff was attentive and when I called to warn I would be arriving later than expected (and later than the checkin time) there was no problem whatsoever.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My wife and I spent 6 days at this hotel in August. The room was confortable and views appealing. The wireless was fine. But the main point is the staff. They were the perfect hosts. Gracious. Attentive. Friendly. Made us feel perfectly at home. The hotel is in a residential area nice to walk through, and near a park, spas and thermal baths (which we didn't sample but which lend a kind of relaxing atmosphere to the area; they have been cleansing folk since at least the Romans). The hotel restaurant is special and too intense (and expensive!) to eat in every night; but some of that quality rubs off on the breakfasts. The room is pleasant, the breads, cheeses, and cold cuts tasty, the coffee made fresh to order, and the homemade apricot jam was easily the best I have tasted, anywhere. I hope one day to return!

Room Tip: Some rooms have A/C, which are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

A great find for an overnight stop. A wonderful Art Deco hotel, beautifully looked after.
The rooms are very comfortable with views out over the city.We had a very friendly welcome and a lovely room. The food was amazing, not cheap but well worth the money. We tried the Menu Degustation and it was wonderful. Food that would grace any Michelin starred restaurant. We particularly enjoyed the pigeon.
Sat nav really helpful in finding this hotel. The hotel did give directions, but it was complicated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

When I read other reviews of this hotel I think we stayed at different hotels. This hotel was definitely less of a standard than all other 3 star French hotels we have stayed in recent years. I thought the decor rather than quirky was "tied". The staff were not friendly nor helpful which in a 4 week holiday entirely in France was unusual.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

I knew that climb up the Puy de Dome would do for me for clearly I have died and, by some incredible bureaucratic foul up, the sins of my former life have gone unreported and I have somehow sneeked into heaven.

For those who have not been there recently the Puy de Dome is no longer easily accessible by car. It is a 1000 ft + struggle up a steep former mule track from the current car park to the top while a new train line is installed (a cable car would seem to me a better solution,) due to open next year. If you have a heart condition you are advised not to attempt this. However the views on the way up and from the top are quite spectacular so it was worth the effort with a wealth of wild life to view as you go. There is also a smattering of insane people who lug large haversacks up to the top, unload some bits of string and fabric to which they attach themselves and then throw themselves off the top. They call it paragliding but I am sure there must be another name for it is some psychiatric textbook.

But back to heaven masquerading as an art deco hotel on the northwest outskirts of Clermont Ferrand (see photo). It claims to have a car park but we found a convenient spot just outside the door. Reception is an art deco triumph (see photo)and the theme based on a radio of that period is worked thoughout the building. You expect to see Hercule Poirot at any moment.

The welcome was very pleasant and, as only happens in heaven, we seemed to have been upgraded. The lift up was a tad snug for the three of us plus our suitcase but we managed, as did the old lift (which is more than I can say for many modern ones.)

Our room (18) was charming with art deco triangular mirrors above the headboard, a huge bed, good sized wardrobe with safe and drawers. seats and french doors that gave a great view over the city (see photo). The en suite had a bath with shower over, loo, wash basin and toiletries of a high standard (no sachets here). Two very comfortable towelling bathrobes. Only minor quibble was the lack of a razor-socket. Wifi was excellent and fast. TV was a large wall mounted flat screen.

We were invited to attend for dinner any time that suited between 7.15 and 9.30 pm. No fuss. No checking that it was convenient for chef. They were at our disposal. You would have sworn we might have been the only guests but that was far from the truth.

On presenting ourselves for the repast the Maitre D greeted us and showed us to our table. The decor continued the art deco theme with even the lighting scheme enhancing the effect with the patterns that it produced on the wall. Such a thoroughly well thought out chorography!

There are two set menu's: we had the menu of the month at 50 Euro but there was also a taster (degustation) menu at 85 Euro or a la carte. Kirs were accompanied by equisite canapes of tapenade on brioche, sardine on lemon toast and a garlic mousse.

The menu of the month is a fixed menu so the selecting is already done. A pre-starter amuse bouche was a tomato coulis with squid, a delectable tomato sorbet with a squid ink fan. The starter was a veloute of strawberry with thinly sliced ham, a salad of mussels and a marmelade of tomato; fabulous! The fish course was monkfisk with carrot puree, courgette with fennel and celery; brilliant. Main was pigeon leg and breast with a reduction sauce, pistachio mousse in a mould made of a thinly cut strip of cooked aubergine, with a topping of redcurrents, blackcurrents, blackberries, and raspberry; I am convinced I have died and gone to heaven. This is just fantastic!

But it got even better (if such were possible) despite the protests of my trouser belt. A unannounced pre-dessert was produced of strawberry on a pistachio sponge with caramel fan. This chef is a genius! Cheese board was then brought on with many local delicacies and we enjoyed some St Nectaire, Chevre and a Montagne. Dessert was a smooth poached apricot on a biscuit base with ice cream flavoured with honey and vanilla seeds and a sprinkling of gold leaf just for the bling effect (told you we had gone to heaven...want any more proof?). We declined the coffee but we were still presented with Petit Fours and it would have been cherlish to refuse (waist line has admitted defeat and visit to tailor scheduled for near future.) The little jellies, macaroons, chocolate and coffee minicake, and fresh cherry were delightful. The meal was washed down by a silky smooth and beatiful Chateau Mersault Beaune Premier Cru 2000 that at 50 Euro was superb value for a wine of this quality.

A digestive of cognac was then enjoyed in the salon (see photo) another of their stylish rooms with a double height ceiling. I'm sure Poirot is around somewhere. At 11 euro these are smooth and warming.

The meal has been delivered by staff of the highest calibre with style and good humour. It has been a evening that will long in our hearts and possibly even longer on our hips but that would be such a worthwhile sacrifice.

But the experience continued to impress. After a good night's sleep in a comfortable bed I awoke to the most spectacular sunrise (see photo) and this captured the essence of a magical experience.

Breakfast did not dissappoint either. Served in the diningroom by one of the waiters from the night before, on the table were little bowls of breakfast cereal flakes. The waiter then delivered on a tray more delights. The croissants were fresh, still warm from cooking, flaky and beautiful. The coffee was freshly made in pots with jugs of warm and cold milk. The orange juice was freshly squeezed and delicious. There were stoned prunes with fresh yoghurt, pain au chocolate, and little Madeliene cakes. All wonderful, fresh and tasty.

Nothing, just nothing, detracted from this fantastic stay. The menu changes on a monthly basis. Now I just have to work out how I get back there on a monthly basis.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

The Hotel Radio was decorated in the original art deco style throughout. We were two families sharing 5 rooms between us. All were different and all charming. Best of all was the restaurant. We had the 50 Euro menu and have never enjoyed a meal more. The table centrepiece was made of sweets, the bread was served on blocks of lava and the (seemingly endless) sets of courses had the most unusual taste combinations ( garlic mousse and honey, cauliflower jelly etc). I can't say that everyone enjoyed all of them but they prompted endless discussion between the six teeenagers and 4 adults. The meal was served with real flair and charm - the waiter taught the children the proper way to ask for something "J'aimerais avoir", whisked sweets from his pockets, and even the way the crumbs were swept off the table had a certain magic to it. This was food served as theatre and experience like no other. Fantastic. If you like quirky and interesting places to stay this should be high on your list and blow your budget on the menu it was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Radio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Radio

Address: 43, avenue Pierre et Marie Curie, 63400 Chamalieres, France
Location: France > Auvergne > Puy-de-Dome > Chamalieres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chamalieres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Radio 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Radio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Radio Chamalieres, France, Europe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Radio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.