We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot and close to St Emilion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Courtebotte

Save Saved
You added Chateau de Courtebotte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Courtebotte
1 Courtebotte, Saint-Jean-de-Blaignac, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Perfect spot and close to St Emilion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you are visiting St Emilion or the area, this chateau is the perfect base. Isabelle, my hostess, and her husband thought of every detail when they renovated this lovely little chateau on the banks of the Dordogne. Every room feels luxurious and comfortable. From the bathroom fixtures to the bed linens to the soaps and shampoo, everything was carefully chosen and is wonderful. In addition to the individually decorated rooms (no two are alike but all that I've seen are lovely), there are common rooms on the ground floor - a beautiful, huge salon, a TV room (although there are TVs in each room), the dining room and a billiard room. The lovely welcome coffee was just the first bit of excellent service I experienced at the Chateau. Isabelle recommended that I have dinner my first night at the Auberge Saint-Jean, a restaurant a 5 minute walk from the hotel in the little town of Saint-Jean-de-Blaignac, and she made a reservation for me. It was superb. My only regret during my stay at the Chateau de Courtebotte was to have missed the dinner Isabelle and Pascal served at the Chateau one evening. I chose not to attend because I wasn't sure of my schedule that day - but I really regret missing it! Everyone else staying at the Chateau (whom I met at the breakfast table) had attended and said the food was magnificent and it was an experience not to be missed. The breakfast that Isabelle served was delicious - homemade muffins and crepes, and baguette and croissants from the local bakery with a delightful selection of jams and perfect lattes - so I was not surprised that the dinner was excellent. Well, I will have to return and I will be sure to join the dinner next time! I had booked a room in the pavilion but Isabelle upgraded me as she had the space available (a rainy May mid-week). She showed me a couple of rooms and I chose the Concerto - a huge room with a huge bathroom, decorated with oversized lush velvet pink armchairs. I loved sitting at the window and looking out at the river. I highly recommend this lovely hotel with the proprietors who could not be more helpful with any and every request.

Room Tip: I loved the Concerto. Request a view of the Dordogne River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
67
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

if you are trying to find a place to stay while visiting St Emillion- this is it! Chateau de Courtebotte is 5-10 minutes from St Emillion. Why stay in the overpriced, touristy hotels in S E? C Courtebotte is in a beautiful setting on the river Dordogne. A fantastic redo of original Chateau. They kept the original structure and feel of the old chateau and added a modern interior renovations and furnishings- it works very well. Very classy, elegant, and beautiful. The best part is Isabelle, the hostess and owner. She couldn't be nicer. Warm, friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Her home made yogurt and jams at breakfast are the best we have ever had. We stayed in a two room suite on the 2 nd floor- it was huge with views of the river and perfect for 3 adults. make sure to eat at the restaurant that Isabelle recommends within walking distance- it was fabulous. We wished we could have stayed longer, but we will return soon.

Room Tip: all are unique. ask for a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonia, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent 4 nights with at Chateau Courtebotte and seriously did not want to leave. The chateau has been beautifully decorated with the historic and modern combined. The rooms were all different-we stayed in the Vintage room, which was lovely. But what made it the most special was the assistance we received during our stay from Isabelle-what a great hostess! She was helpful before our arrival in setting up winery tours and restaurant reservations for us, and continued to make suggestions and reservations during our stay, and they even provided suggestions for restaurants in Paris. Lovely people and a lovely property. You will not go wrong staying there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I was so impressed with this place that it's prompted me to write my first review in nearly half a decade of using this website. My only hesitation is that the continued rave reviews will soon render it too popular - but selfishness should never win out when it comes to wine country.

At risk of plagerising the previous entries, one of the primary reasons this place is so special is the very individual attention given to each guest at the B&B. Having managed to escape the city drabs for only one night, Isabelle's thoughtful and meticulous planning removed any requirement for the time or stress which would usually be associated with planning a last minute trip, which meant the weekend felt like a much longer break.

I mean seriously, how many places have you been that present you with a printed itinerary of your wine tour bookings on arrival, and a torch when you leave for the local restaurant so that you don't meander into potholes on your unlit stumble home? The rooms overlooking the Dordogne don't hurt either.

Depending on what you're after, Isabelle will be able to recommend a number of different types of winery tours - Chateau Beausejour Becot was a highlight - I highly recommend taking her suggestions, and pre-booking. The rooms are incredibly good value for money - we stayed in tastefully done-up twin with many personal touches. A dinner at the local establishment (please do go to Auberge St Jean, it's as marvelous as everyone keeps saying), especially if you can get a table on the "jutty-outty" area overhanging the water, tops off a fantastic evening - but make sure you leave room for breakfast the next morning.

A huge thanks to Isabelle and her team for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Honestly, we were completely blown away by this place. Professional, hospitable, beautifully decorated and all the small touches you can think of. Isabelle and Pascal were superb hosts. We stayed for 2 nights in the Capri Suite (2 bed) with our 2 sons. Stunning rooms and bathroom overlooking the river. Beautiful furniture, linens etc even down to hair straighteners!! Brilliant. Superb breakfasts both mornings and a brilliant evening meal. 39 Euros for 4 courses and all the wines was excellent value, in fact, the best meal we had had on our whole trip to Bordeaux - do not miss the opportunity to have dinner there! We will definitely be going back here. WE LOVED IT!! My only gripe, and it is only small, was that there is no insulation between the downstairs rooms and the bedrooms on the 1st floor. If guests are eating downstairs at night time and you're wanting to sleep, you will hear noise. Don't let this put you off though. They are currently re-landscaping their gardens with a brand new swimming pool and spa plus a beautiful pathway up to a stunning balcony overlooking the river. It will be finished in a couple of months and will be of the highest quality, I can be certain of that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Really competent, professional and efficient management. We loved the location and the room. It was very large, well appointed and the bed was to die for. The owner recommended that we visit the local auberge for dinner. DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE. (Auberge St Jean). How it does not have a Michelin star is beyond us and it is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We are very lucky that prior to arriving we extended our stay to 6 nights. I would have found it difficult to leave before that. The renovation and decorations that have taken place in this Chateau need to be seen to be believed. It is lavish and tasteful and we could have stayed in the Patio room for the duration of our stay (as long as Isabelle kept delivering her home-made delicious far, including the yoghurt we are still craving for). Luckily Isabelle provided suggested daily outings to make sure our stay was even more special as this area of France is beautiful. The suggested itineraries were aligned with the weather, our interests, our desire to have either a busy or slow day. The restaurant suggestions were also superb, as was our Sunday night dinner at the Chateau which was prepared by Isabelle, Pascal and Isabelle's Mum (I think). This is a lovely family who deserve to be successful. They provided the perfect holiday experience and I hope we get to return someday. In the meantime I can only suggest others book a stay and get to enjoy the experience as much as we did and we will continue to remind ourselves how priveleged we were to have had this opportunity.

Room Tip: We LOVED the patio room but I have no doubt everyroom in this Chateau is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau de Courtebotte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Courtebotte

Address: 1 Courtebotte, Saint-Jean-de-Blaignac, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Jean-de-Blaignac
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Jean-de-Blaignac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Chateau de Courtebotte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Courtebotte France/Saint-Jean-De-Blaignac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Courtebotte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.