We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Agur Deneri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Agur Deneri to your Saves list
Hotel Agur Deneri
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Impasse Muskoa, 64500 Ciboure, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ciboure
London UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A room with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I booked this hotel based on previous Tripadviser reviews and was not disappointed. We stayed in room 26 on the 2nd floor overlooking the bay. We went to sleep at night with the doors open to the sound of the waves and ate breakfast on the patio, again with the fantastic view.
On the downside it is a long walk back from St Jean after dinner, the parking is tricky, the WiFi was a little hit and miss and we would have prefered a hotter shower but ha ho the good far far out weighed the bad.

Room Tip: Room 26 had an eastly aspect with a small balcony with a table and 2 chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    59
    10
    8
    7
See reviews for
13
90
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011 via mobile

We enjoyed wonderful views over Saint-Jean-de-Luz from our first floor room with balcony. Superb breakfasts and friendly service allow the hosts to make the most of this 2* hotel. The room was clean, but dated. The double bed was comfortable, but was the smallest of our stay in France. A GPS is a definite plus, but tight parking can be solved by giving the keys to the owner. Wi-fi worked okay in the room in the early morning, but required a trip to the landing to get a signal at night.
There are a whole range of enticing restaurants in Saint-Jean-de-Luz but, unless you propose to jog, they will more likely take 20 - 25 minutes to reach rather than the 15 suggested by others. The Google map underplays the distance.
Beware the traffic going north on the D918. It took us a good 90 minutes to travel 2 kilometers in the evening to reach the junction with the D810.
Overall, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Found this hotel on Trip Advisor and based on the reviews booked one night in late July just before the great French exodus occurs. What a gem of a place. Agree about the need for Satnav to find it but once there is it well worth the trip.
Stayed is wonderfull room overlooking the beach at St. Jean De Luz. Bed was comfortable, bathroom excellent and breakfast in the morning -perfect.
Wish we culd have stayed longer and will definetly return

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in July - 200euros total.
Took the balcony room with jacuzzi, very romantic- see the photo for the great view.

The hotel is a v.good 2*, only the cheaper bedding and lack of 24hr reception holds it back.

We let them know we were arriving at 11pm and they gave us the code for the door and told how to collect our room key. When we arrived, the manager was still there so it wasn't a problem anyway. I only speak basic french, but everything went smoothly.

The car park is tight, but we never had a problem, came back v.late one evening it was full so we parked 20m up the hill - never really an issue.

Breakfast is simple, but ample.

The best thing about the hotel for us was the location: quiet at night, great view over st. J. de L. and we had a car so getting around/sightseeing was never a problem.

Room Tip: Would recommend the sea view with balcony - jacuzzi mandatory :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
climping
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Stayed here after booking up at the last minute based upon minimal options and trip advisor feedback. We booked a garden room with jaccuzzi( unbeknown to us at the time as it was the last available room) and were very much pleasantly surprised. The views of St jean de luz bay were lovely, and whilst a steep walk down from the hotel to the road to the town was involved this was only about 15 minutes in total.
Hotel was very quiet and set back from the main road which does seem very busy and noisy.
The room itself was very clean, spacious and had separate toilet to the main bathroom which in addition to the jacuzzi had all mod cons including integrated music and radio!
If you are looking for a mid priced good quality hotel in this busy town it comes highly recommended. Have to say it beats the business type hotels and we would describe it more of a boutique hotel in terms of charm.
Did not have breakfast so cant comment..

Room Tip: Garden room with jaccuzzi with own entrance and patio area !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condom, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Hotel could be difficult to find if one had no internet access or, SatNav. Having said that, it is sign-posted. Keeps you fit with quite a few steps to negotiate.
Service very good, friendly and most helpful.
Breakfast excellent
Parking awkward but, not difficult, limited space.
We had two dogs so, took a room below reception, adequate and had a 'jaquzzi' bath and patio. In all, a very pleasant holiday week-end.
One problem for me. could not get onto the WiFi system even though all the staff had a go. Not terminal

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

Really lovely alternative to staying right in the center of St. Jean de Luz. 15 minutes walk from this hotel in Ciboure down to St. Jean de Luz town center. We stayed in a small double room on the second floor, facing the harbour (so beautiful views). Other friends in our group stayed in larger rooms with balconies. The owners were very gracious and in addition to the wonderful French breakfast spread of croissants, baguettes, cheeses, hams and jams, the owners also served our group aperos on the terrace in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Agur Deneri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Agur Deneri

Address: 14 Impasse Muskoa, 64500 Ciboure, France
Location: France > Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Ciboure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ciboure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Agur Deneri 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Basque coast, bathed in the Atlantic ocean and nested on the side of "la colline de Bordagain" (Bordagain hill), l'hotel Agur Deneri offers an unrivaled view over Saint Jean de Luz bay and the fishing ports. From the high terraces or balconies, you can watch the sea rolling in and out with the tides. The area's charm and serenity compliment each other fantastically. Inspired by their Basque origins, and by the peaceful atmosphere of the surroundings, Veronique and Xalbat have created an atmosphere which positively breathes relaxation, to receive their guests. Since the beginning of this adventure, in 2000, they've put their all into creating this "etxe" just as they wanted it and transforming it into an "etxetoa" Comfortable : Calm and quiet, the sea view, the terraces and the gardens to the south. Convenient : Private parking, close proximity to the beaches, to the nautical centre in Socoa and both Ciboure and Saint Jean de Luz city centres ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Agur Deneri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Agur Deneri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.