We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tallinn trip.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roots Village Restaurant

Roots Village Restaurant
Rohuneeme tee 57b | Pringi, Viimsi, Estonia
+3725575025
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 9 Restaurants in Viimsi
Price range: $3 - $16
Cuisines: Scandinavian
Restaurant details
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Tallinn trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We wandered along to the village restaurant from the Viimsi open air museum, whilst waiting for the next bus back into Tallinn. We had a nice relaxing time. The service was good, the food and drinks equally so. Good value for money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Nice place for a quick bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were out looking for a place to have a quick lunch and we suddenly passed a colorful place with some chairs outside and we decided to try it. Inside we were the first guests of the day and we took a table near the windows. The interior was nice; it was like an outdoor place inside with wooden benches and tables. There were also some cozy decorations so it was a nice place to be.

I ordered some Sashimi and a traditional Russian Beetroot soup and the food was really great. The persons serving were nice and friendly and speaking very good English, which always is nice. While we were there more and more people arrived and when we left it was almost full.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice village restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

It's a village restaurant located about 25 minute car ride outside of Tallinn centre in a former fisherman's village. Simple restaurant with a quite simple rural-looking (coast and fishing inspired) interior. Food and prices are fine. They have quite a variety of cold and warm snacks, some soups and main courses. Also some deserts. Service was nice and quite fast, and food was tasty. Sadly they were out of baltic sprout, which is the kind of fish you could expect from a coastal village restaurant in this region. Actually they were out of any local fish whatsoever the time we visited the place. Anyhow, pasta and steak was just fine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

To be honest the food was nothing special but the waiter - estonian guy - was really helpful and nice. He had no problem speaking Russian and those who ever been to Estonia know that it could be a problem in many places. This waiter alone is a good reason to go to Roots.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roots Village Restaurant also viewed

Viimsi, Harju County
Viimsi, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Viimsi, Harju County
 

Been to Roots Village Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roots Village Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.