We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of On the Border

On the Border
790 Cobb Place Blvd NW, Kennesaw, GA 30144
678-279-5970
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 230 Restaurants in Kennesaw
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I met up with some colleagues for a farewell lunch.The atmosphere was very busy yet accomodating at the same time.Huge lunch crowds,laughs,a magharita or two,you name it.Our waiter was wonderful though the food took a little while.We didn't mind because we were busy chatting and it was lunch time,so that's understandable.It seems like a nice place for groups and such.Overall,it was a great experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best salsa and mojito in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

There isn't an On the Border where I live so I make it a point to stop here EVERY CHANCE I GET! The salsa is always perfect and you can't beat the smoked jalapeno vinaigrette. I asked for and got a particularly good customized mojito. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I ate here last week as we had a $50 gift card. We were greeted quickly upon entering and the host was very polite and efficient. We sat on the patio which was quite pleasant. I had not eaten at On the Border for several years. The margarita was good, chips OK. To start we tried the spinach and mushroom fundido - which was OK but had a kick to it which we were not expecting based on the menu description. I ordered cheese and onion enchiladas with sour cream sauce. I was quite disappointed. The food was barely lukewarm. I didn't send it back as my husband's food was fine, and I did not want to delay our meal. The rice was very salty, and the enchilladas were kind of bland. We decided not to stay for dessert. Overall, the meal was average. Not bad, but not great. I'm glad we used a gift card to pay - I would not pay $50 for that meal otherwise. I don't think we will be back very soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not so great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Ate here with my wife today for the first time in many years. Chips were too thick but the salsa was excellent...somewhat spicey. The service was good but the food was nothing special. Portions were smaller than I remembered. Black beans were tasteless as was the rice. Mystery meat in the enchilada. The best item I had was the chili relleno stuffed with Jack cheese. My wife's refried beans were good and very smokey. La Parilla has them beat in this area of town.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Salsa and Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Friends from Canton will call, enroute to Marietta, and we meet at On the Border. The food is good, the salsa is mildly hot - but not stingingly so, and the place is good for table-side conversations (NO loud Mariachi band music drowning out all the pleasure of enjoying both a good meal and pleasent conversation with friends).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Border also viewed

 

Been to On the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Border, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.