We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try their Fried Green Tomatoes!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trackside Grill

Trackside Grill
2840 S Main St NW, Kennesaw, GA 30144-2749
770-499-0874
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 240 Restaurants in Kennesaw
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Marietta, GA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Try their Fried Green Tomatoes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Had a very late lunch on Saturday with my parents, after visiting the nearby Southern Museum (wonderful exhibit covering railroad history during the Civil War including the great locomotive chase and the steam locomotive involved in that, the General…definitely recommend a visit if you have any interest in local history).

It was about 3:30 PM when we arrived, and the tiny parking lot was full, but a couple of cars started to leave, just as I was starting to consider other parking options. After going inside, the restaurant was only about 10-15% occupied at that off-peak time, so they definitely don’t have adequate parking for a full house. But the restaurant is sandwiched in between double railroad tracks on one side and Main Street in downtown Kennesaw on the other.

We ordered the Fried Green Tomatoes as a shared appetizer...very tasty with roasted peppers, goat cheese and a red pepper sauce. I ordered the Reuben sandwich…also very tasty, and on a par with the Reuben from Howard’s Deli in Smyrna, close to my home. The house-made potato chips that accompanied the sandwich were rather greasy but tasty...I’d probably try the potato salad, southern slaw, or French fries next time.

Mom and Dad shared a Cuban sandwich and a bowl of crab bisque soup, which they enjoyed. Drinks are served in 1-quart Mason jars…I was really thirsty, but even that size didn’t need refilling with iced tea for me.

The wait staff was very friendly and accommodating without being intrusive and the restaurant itself is comfortable and very nicely decorated, with appropriate railroad photos and other local memorabilia.

All in all, it was a very pleasant lunch experience, and I would definitely dine here again if in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    34
    16
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

After living here for 7 years, met a friend for lunch at Trackside Grill. Why have I not been here before? Great food, ambience, perfect place.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Celebrating the 4th of July!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We had a wonderful time celebrating the 4th of July at the Trackside Grill! If you want to eat outside (in the courtyard or on the rooftop) so that you can watch the fireworks, you MUST make a reservation! Eating in the air conditioned interior is not a problem. The menu is limited, but their southern specialties are always delicious! We had buttermilk fried chicken with mashed potatoes and gravy, green beans, and cole slaw with a small American flag placed in the chicken. The table was ours for the entire evening, and the view of the fireworks was great! Of course, the name "Trackside Grill" comes from the fact that the RR tracks run right behind the restaurant, so the trains were coming and going throughout the evening; but that is part of the ambiance of being in downtown Kennesaw.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Good, but not outstanding!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

1. We ordered water-no ice, and got warm water that tasted like tap water, so we asked for some ice to make it tolerable. Most places, the water is filtered and chilled, at least. 2. The blackened grouper sandwich that my wife ordered was excellent. 3. The Southern roast pork dinner that I ordered was O.K. The meat was good but not super tender, and was a generous portion size, and the gravy had a good flavor. The potatoes and collards were scant, maybe 1/2 to 1/3 the size that a man would expect. The waitress was not friendly at all, and we had quite a wait before we could order. Overall, I can recommend Trackside grill, but while the prices were upscale, and I would consider the food pretty good quality, I would not consider the food a "good value". Don't go here if you are really hungry!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montezuma, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We love this southern place. We enjoyed the patio.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trackside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trackside Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;