We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No sauce needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ

Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ
3393 Cherokee St, Kennesaw, GA
770-499-7444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 247 Restaurants in Kennesaw
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Description: A cute & cozy BBQ joint specializing in FRESH hickory smoked meats. Located just 1.5 miles from I-73, exit 273.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“No sauce needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Tried this local joint based on reviews and was not disappointed. Ordered the 2 pounder, pulled pork to go with buns and two sides: $32.00. The BBQ is the best around and some of the best I've ever had. In fact, no sauce is needed, nor wanted. Just sit back and devour the juicy pulled pork with a side of potato(e) salad and mac and cheese. Who could ask for anything more?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    16
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in Cobb County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have tried them all as I love BBQ and this place should get First Place. Pulled and chopped pork are excellent with their awesome home made proprietary sauce. Smoke flavor ratio perfect and sides are all home made and fresh. Also, be sure to try the salads as an alternative, the smoked salmon Caesar is wonderful and the Blu cheese wedge is to die for. Top it off with their down home banana pudding and that's a meal. We will continue to go back regularity. Owners on premise to insure quality.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not a bad experience, but the sauce is underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

As many of the other reviewers have noted, Big Shanty is a cozy little joint that prides itself on providing multiple tasty meat options. I would agree that the meats are good and flavorful, but their sauce needs some work. For me, when I'm in the mood for BBQ, the quality of my experience hinges on the sauce. The average overall score is driven by the fact that the sauce wasn't that great and I didn't feel like we got good value for the money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Small measured portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

The BBQ is not bad, they think its the best but portion control is enforced. I ordered a brisket plate with pickled green beans. 4 thin slices of brisket and 3 beans? Maybe it's his vision of a 3 bean salad? The brisket was good, qute tasty but they offer one sauce. I wish they would offer more varity of sauce. For the no gluten cult they offer gluten free, whatever that is

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chic D, Owner at Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
The portion of the Brisket Platter is about a 1/2 pound. A large percentage of people that order any of our menu items requests a to-go box because of the large portions. We do not serve pickled beans? Our "smoked" baked beans are served in a 5.5 ounce portion cup. When we offer green beans as our side of the day they are served in an 8 ounce cup. It is our goal to make sure all of our guests leave full & happy. Sorry to hear we didn't achieve this during your visit and hope to have a chance to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Long way from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I have now driven from Durham, NC to Kennesaw, Ga to visit family twice, a year apart. Each time we were taken to Big Shanty Bar-B-Cue. I would drive that far to eat their food. It is delicious. Generous helpings and cooked with red sauce. My husband had the salmon and I took a few bites. I don't like fish but this was very good also.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.