We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delicious...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ

Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ
3393 Cherokee St, Kennesaw, GA 30144
17704997444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 262 Restaurants in Kennesaw
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A cute & cozy BBQ joint specializing in FRESH hickory smoked meats. Located just 1.5 miles from I-73, exit 273.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Big Shanty has some of the best BBQ around. Smoked pork, ribs, and brisket were all very good. Excellent smokey flavor and texture.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Motogeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great family owned and operated BBQ. Everything is homemade right there. great choices platters or make your own combos

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rocks4me2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“try the turkey "ribs!"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Dependably good bbq. Try to turkey "ribs" - white meat smoked with bbq sauce. The side dishes are just okay, but the meat is almost always excellent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kahunacpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nearby best BBQ!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place is practically across the street from my house so we have been there several times. The BBQ pork is amazing. One time I went and just got the Caesar salad and I could not believe how awesome it was. Now Caesar salad only consists of some romaine, parm, croutons and dressing so how awesome could it be? But it was! However, the next time I went and ordered it again, it was only so-so. The desserts are homemade and heavenly but I can't allow myself to sample them too often!
The restaurant is real small so do take out if it is full. I think the place has good days and bad days for food with the bad days in the minority. If you like pulled pork, ribs and bbq chicken, you will be more than pleased with this place.
It has a TV with sports playing usually so guys will be especially happy about this.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank VivianFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Q - Would Return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stopped in at the Big Shanty Smokehouse for lunch the other day and generally found it a pleasant experience with good barbecue.

I ordered the pulled pork plate and found the flavor to be solid and their home made sauce a good attribute. The string bean and baked bean sides were good, not great, and I found the "sides" selections a bit limited. I'd like to have the choice of french fries at a barbecue place, but that;s a minor quibble. The star of the show was definitely the Q, and when I return i'm interested to try their ribs and brisket. They also had rib tips and smoked wings for appetizers, and those sound good as well.

I found the small dining room clean, and the drinks are u-serve and contain tea and sodas. If I had one complaint it's the service was a little cool. For a small town place with a homestyle feel to it, I feel the employees could have been a little warmer in their service.

In the end I will return here when in this area, hoping to try out some of their other selections and maybe catch the employees on a better day.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheDapperGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing