We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely delicious...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ

Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ
3393 Cherokee St, Kennesaw, GA
770-499-7444
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #6 of 239 restaurants in Kennesaw
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Description: A cute & cozy BBQ joint specializing in FRESH hickory smoked meats. Located just 1.5 miles from I-73, exit 273.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Big Shanty has some of the best BBQ around. Smoked pork, ribs, and brisket were all very good. Excellent smokey flavor and texture.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    34
    14
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great family owned and operated BBQ. Everything is homemade right there. great choices platters or make your own combos

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“try the turkey "ribs!"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Dependably good bbq. Try to turkey "ribs" - white meat smoked with bbq sauce. The side dishes are just okay, but the meat is almost always excellent.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nearby best BBQ!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place is practically across the street from my house so we have been there several times. The BBQ pork is amazing. One time I went and just got the Caesar salad and I could not believe how awesome it was. Now Caesar salad only consists of some romaine, parm, croutons and dressing so how awesome could it be? But it was! However, the next time I went and ordered it again, it was only so-so. The desserts are homemade and heavenly but I can't allow myself to sample them too often!
The restaurant is real small so do take out if it is full. I think the place has good days and bad days for food with the bad days in the minority. If you like pulled pork, ribs and bbq chicken, you will be more than pleased with this place.
It has a TV with sports playing usually so guys will be especially happy about this.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Q - Would Return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stopped in at the Big Shanty Smokehouse for lunch the other day and generally found it a pleasant experience with good barbecue.

I ordered the pulled pork plate and found the flavor to be solid and their home made sauce a good attribute. The string bean and baked bean sides were good, not great, and I found the "sides" selections a bit limited. I'd like to have the choice of french fries at a barbecue place, but that;s a minor quibble. The star of the show was definitely the Q, and when I return i'm interested to try their ribs and brisket. They also had rib tips and smoked wings for appetizers, and those sound good as well.

I found the small dining room clean, and the drinks are u-serve and contain tea and sodas. If I had one complaint it's the service was a little cool. For a small town place with a homestyle feel to it, I feel the employees could have been a little warmer in their service.

In the end I will return here when in this area, hoping to try out some of their other selections and maybe catch the employees on a better day.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Shanty Smokehouse BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.