We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smith Gilbert Gardens

Smith Gilbert Gardens
2382 Pine Mountain Road, Kennesaw, GA 30152
770-919-0248
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Attractions in Kennesaw
Type: Gardens, Nature & Parks
Attraction details
Kennesaw, GA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I didn't really expect too much, since Kennesaw is a small town, but I was very impressed. Beautiful place with friendly people. The gardens are very well kept, and they have a considerable variety. The bonsai garden alone is worth the price of admission; they have at least 25 different bonsai trees, including a 300-year-old one. The coniferous garden, the carnelia garden, the Japanese garden (with its own tea house overlooking a pond of coy and a small waterfall; terrific place to chill or to read), and the rose garden are all must-sees. Friendly people, terrific place. Depending on how much you love plants, I'd recommend 90 minutes to three hours. They have a vegetable garden with big bubble wands and dirt piles for kids, though kids may not be as excited about the main trails (maybe a mile and a half if you do every inch). Lots of sculptures, which didn't do very much for me, but nor do they detract from the garden at all. Remarkable place. Very worth the money, very much recommended. Shon's been mentioned in a few reviews, and he's a knowledgeable and friendly caretaker. They also have plants for sale, from single-digit-cost potted plants to three-digit bonsai trees. A very worthwhile venture.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    9
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kennesaw, Georgia
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great place to view flowers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is worth the trip to view beautiful flowers and trees. They have the place organized into different species so more interesting to view them. The people there provide lots of gardening information that can help you if you like gardening. Even a garden area for children. Small entrance fee but it helps support them.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
477 helpful votes 477 helpful votes
“Worth the drive for a half-day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Having relatives or visitors in? Try something different and see the Smith-Gilbert Gardens in Kennesaw. We only recently learned about these gardens through Groupon, and what a find! The Gardens are minutes from the highway. Pack a picnic lunch and plan on about two hours of easy walking on well-maintained trails. They have a designated picnic area with tables, a relaxing water feature complete with a waterfall, dozens of sculptures, a conifer area, and the best of all - a huge perfectly cultivated Bonsai Garden unlike I have ever seen. Plan to be impressed.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed this little garden. It has such a pleasant feel. The staff (Shawn) was so helpful and knowledgeable. I hope to come back when everything is in full bloom.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very beautiful to have a walk or a picnic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

When the flowers are out it is a very beautiful place to walk on the many winding paths. It has a Picnic area and does offer classes.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Smith Gilbert Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smith Gilbert Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.