We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History and Exercise Together” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park

Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park
900 Kennesaw Mountain Drive, Kennesaw, GA 30152
770 427 4686
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Attractions in Kennesaw
Type: Battlefields, Historic Sites, History Museums, National Parks, Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Site of a crucial Civil War battle offers a modern visitor center and a number of hiking trails on its grounds.
Ranger, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“History and Exercise Together”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The park is a great combination of history and recreational areas. Nice museum with interesting artifacts. You can hike to the top of the mountain if you are into that, or take the bus up. The view at the top is worth the trip.On a clear day you can see for miles, all the way down to Stone Mountain to the south. Lots of excellent walking trails, picnic areas, and ample parking most of the time. Lots of joggers, hikers, and walkers use the park, which is very large, continuing all the way west to Cheatham Hill Battlefield, which was the most critical part of the battle.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    89
    21
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Every American should see this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a great place to visit and learn about the Civil War. Its very informative and they are so helpful at the front desk. Theres a great movie depicting the battle at Kennesaw Mountain. This movie will be replaced with a new one this summer they told me. Definitely check it out.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Nice battlefield park.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Quite a hike up the hill to the top of the "mountain", but a spectacular view when you get there. There was a mini-encampment and a few cannon shots while we were there. Museum is very nicely done. They could use some more parking though.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“History With A View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Climbing to the top of Lookout Mountain via the wide paved road (now foot traffic only) affords a great view of the surrounding land and towns as well as time for reflection and a history lesson. A ridge of earthworks are intact and cannons still face 'the approaching enemy.' Considering the mountain had no paved road in the 1860's I always marvel at how the armies got artillery and troops up the steep incline. The feeling of anticipation and fear is still palpable though the setting is serene and beautiful now. Well worth a visit to both the mountain top and the museum and gift shop on the grounds near the park entrance. The park itself has picnic tables and a lush meadow where camp re-enactments take place during scheduled annual events. I live near the park and see the mountain en route to work every day and though it's a small mound as far as mountains go, it always awes me. I can even see it from miles away and it stands like an old friend guiding me home. It's a gorgeous setting even if civil war history is not an interest. Lots of wildlife can be seen here during any season as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Free Outdoor Fun & History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Kennesaw Mtn is a cool place to go for both exercise & a history lesson. It's free unlike many other similar sites. It's got a lot to offer civil war buffs - there are many historic landmarks with signage to educate you & they've even gone digital - you can use your smartphone to scan some signs & go to audio/video for more info. There are various paths to take - if you want more of a flat, easy trail go to Cheathem Hill, more moderate to challenging go to Pigeon Hill &/or Kennesaw Mtn. I've seen all ages there & it's appropriate for couples, families, friends, solo. We also take our dogs there so it's pet friendly (but remember to bring doodoo bags) & go early to avoid overheating & take water of course.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park also viewed

 

Been to Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.