We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely the place to stay in San Ramon!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Ramon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Posada Hotel
San Ramon, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in San Ramon
Salem, Utah
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely the place to stay in San Ramon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

From the moment we made our reservation, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Because San Ramon isn't a tourist city, I was worried about the condition of the hotel, but it exceeded my expectations. The room was clean and the bed was large, comfortable, and had a beautiful detailed headboard. I felt safe and didn't worry about leaving my car in their secure, locked parking lot. The free Wi-Fi was great, too. Our rate was $70/night and included a delicious breakfast - a choice between a Costa Rican or American breakfast. My only complaint was that the shower water didn't stay hot very long; however, the jacuzzi tub (not standard in every room) water did. Also, no A/C, but they keep a good fan in every room. La Posada Hotel is definitely the place to stay in San Ramon!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 33, which is one of their rooms with a jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
24
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed for one night while visiting local friends in San Ramon. Our friends were the ones who recommended this hotel and it did not disappoint. Our Room was across the street from the reception and up the stairs. The room and bathroom were spacious, but the best part was the intricate wood working in the room. Beautiful dolphin carvings on the bed posts, head board, tables, door!! There was a HUGE tv that we did not use. We did however utilize the free WiFi. We had our breakfast included- choice of American or Typical Breakfast. We choose the typical breakfast-- It was average.

The staff is friendly and the rooms while maybe need a little sprucing up are still beautiful. Overall a very good deal.

If you're looking for a place to stay in San Ramon. I would recommend this unique hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were looking for somewhere to put our heads down for the night before setting off early the next morning towards Arenal.

The rack up rate was very reasonable (~40-excl breakfast) with secure parking. The rooms were very dated however they were clean and for the price we paid very reasonable. The staff were very friendly. We arrived very late so there weren't many places to eat however the pizza takeout across the road did huge loaded pizzas which we would recommend if you're in the same situation.

Unfortunately there was a cockerel near that crowed at the crack of dawn for an hour so didn't get much sleep, different wildlife to what we thought we would awake to in CR but we did have to be up early anyway!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was a great hotel. Clean, quiet, comfortable, secure. The rates came out to be about $50.00 a night and included breakfast and laundry services. Computers with internet access available and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. Very accommodating staff. I stayed 7 nights for business and never had any trouble

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

La Posada is one of the nicest places to stay San Ramon. The showers are a nice size and there are big screen TV's in each room. Each room has hardwood floors and ceilings. The breakfast is excellent and the staff is very friendly. There are rooms with and without air conditioning, so be sure to ask if you prefer air conditioning. They also have a gate that is locked each night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The staff of the hotel was very friendly and helpful. Most of the rooms are centered along a small court yard, which is secured at one side with a strong gate. The rooms have furniture that resembles Lodewijk XIV style. It is good value for what you get. It was quiet at night after 10 p.m. The rooms are a bit dark. The City centres is about 1km from the hotel and can easy be reached on foot. I was advised to leave valuables behind while walking alone the streets at night. If you feel uncomfortable taxi's are readily available. San Ramon catches much less rain, gets more sun and is significant warmer than the nearby cloud forest reserve and La Poseda is good alternative to stay, although less luxurious than the expensive Vila Blanca Cloud Forest hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This small hotel is very quiet and in the center of the city of San Ramon. The staff and the owner can not be more accomodated of their guest. the cleaning staff answering all the question accompanied with a big, nice smile, always happy, always trying to please. I highly recomended. There is nothing fancy, but a good customer service anda very good value for your hard earned money. Visit them and will see.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Address: San Ramon, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > San Ramon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
La Posada Hotel Costa Rica/San Ramon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Posada Hotel to your Saves list