We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the Clouds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve to your Saves list
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Silencio de Los Angeles, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
¡Especial de Diciembre!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Tavistock, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise in the Clouds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I spent three nights here in January 2014 with my cousin and six year old daughter. If you are a brave traveller you can hire a car to get here from San Jose airport, but we were glad we paid for the hotel's transport as the roads were scenic and winding. Villa Blanca is a nature lover's paradise. Hikes around the property, benches to watch the hummingbirds feed, a chance to milk cows -oh yes, and eat the fresh homemade yogurt and cheese from that milk the next day in the restaurant! The food is excellent, especially the buffet breakfast. The casitas were private, clean and beautiful. The staff were all wonderful - attentive and friendly. This place has it's own research station, greenhouses and vegetable gardens - amazing! I can see that some children might get bored here after a few days, but mine loved watching the hummingbirds, leafcutter ants, frogs and milking the cows! Would go back any time and look forward to staying at their sister hotel Aguila Osa Inn - Si Como No was also excellent! Thanks Jim, for your commitment to eco-friendly tourism in beautiful Costa Rica!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear MilesofTravel70,

Thank you for taking the time to share your family’s wonderful experiences with all of us at Villa Blanca. You confirmed our efforts regarding the kid’s enjoyment of the natural surroundings of our cloud forest reserve and farm traditions and genuine Tico hospitality that goes back in San Ramon several generations. We look forward to hosting you again at our other Greentique Hotels and be sure to let us know when to expect you and we’ll leave the porch light on for you.

Sincerely,

Jim Damalas
Geenral Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    105
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
119
252
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We have just spent four nights relaxing and bird watching in the beautiful cloud forest. The weather was lovely which we were not really expecting after reading the reviews. It does get a bit chilly in the evenings so a cardigan or light fleece is needed. The views from the property are breath taking and the little paths winding through the lush forest are great to explore even when we went after dark with a guide looking for bugs and frogs and snakes.
The humming birds are particularly lovely and are not afraid so can get very close to take photos.
We went horse riding around the surrounding hills which was an experience as the horses don't have a bit just a head collar but still slow down when asked.
You are rather isolated and only have the one restaurant to eat in but the food is good just a little expensive.
This was the first place we stayed and arrived straight from the airport very late at night so appreciated the lovely big Jacuzzi bath and comfy bed .
We would certainly recommend Villa Blanca for anyone who loves nature and relaxing in lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Gilly C,

Thank you for your generous review. Glad you found our restaurant, El Sendero, worth the experience as well as our guided tours through our surrounding cloud forest reserve that our guides are so dedicated to. Hope we can host you again and take the time to explore more of the surroundings we have to offer.

Regards,

Joxan Obando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The staff and managers are wonderful and attentive. Everyone is so cordial and friendly. The casitas had a natural fireplace with the wood all stacked and ready to burn. All I had to do was light a match. What a nice touch. There were easy hiking trails on the property with beautiful views overlooking the rain forest and benches to enjoy the humming birds. I truly had an enjoyable and relaxing time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear ROBIN D,

We feel the added touch of your own traditional adobe fireplace sets the tone for a village-style experience is an important ingredient at Villa Blanca to take you back in time where peace and good energy are all around you. Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions and hope to see you again with more of our Greentique Hotel hospitality.

Sincerely,

Joxan Obando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My wife and I spent three nights at Villa Blanca in January 2014. The cloud forest is something to experience. The views are spectacular. We were in Casita 16 and could sit on our private deck and look out for miles. The rain forest is lush with many beautiful birds. We loved walking through the forest both alone and with a guide. Breakfast is terrific. It is served buffet style with eggs and omelets made to order. The restaurant is not cheap but the food is well prepared. It can be noisy if a bus group is dining so it is best to sit at the far end of the room away from the crowd. We spent an afternoon in San Ramon. The town is not "touristy" and has a really nice park where we sat and took in the local scene. The cab from the hotel to town is about $20.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, General Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Jerry20854

We thank you for your great review. I will let the chef know his menu was well appreciated. Your visit to San Ramon reflects how authentic our Canton where nearly all of our staff and their families come from. Villa Blanca's good natured hospitality comes natural to the staff who grew up in the area,
Even our licensed nature guides, who operate the Alfaro Research Station, are part of the community and their knowledge goes along with their pride to share their exceptional Costa Rica experiences along with our own extended family of Greentique Hotels.


Saludos

Jim Damalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We have just spent 2 nights here and had great weather for our nature trail day yesterday. Despite not seeing the Quetsal on the tour that bears it's name, our guide, Roy, gave us an unforgettable experience, pointing out bird life, insects, flora and fauna. He even took some photographs through his scope of birds and a sloth as my lens was not strong enough to do it alone. Roy was very knowledgeable and really enjoyed sharing his hobby with his guests. In the evening we took the nighttime tour with Ingrid. Again she was very knowledgeable and excited to be able to point out various frog and insect life as well as flora and fauna on route.
We had a superior room ( actually their basic!) which, unlike the deluxe and honeymoon suites, did not have a jacuzzi, but the shower was perfectly adequate and, as others have mentioned, the two rocking chairs in front of the log fire ( we did light it the first night) provided a glimpse of total tranquility.
We would have preferred a King sized bed, preferably a bit firmer, but we were quite comfortable
The food in the restaurant was excellent and the servers were all friendly and helpful as were the reception staff.
At lunchtime we leave for the Arenal Volcano and the clouds have engulfed Villa Blanca. We have utilised our free time this morning looking around the nature centre and writing this review :)
A trip to Costa Rica would not be complete without Villa Blanca, and we are so pleased that we were able to have the experience in good weather

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Propietario at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear HSeeingtheworld,
So glad you found you stay has been “a great experiences” and a must include for anyone visiting Costa Rica. We could not agree more that our guides and hotel staff are two important key ingredients that set us apart as a genuine boutique Costa Rican Hotel!

Regards,

Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleetwood
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Although we knew we going to a rainforest, we were sorry to get some exceptionally wet weather during our stay. However, that did not mean we regretted going. The cabins were great with fantastic circular, brick fireplaces with unlimited supplies of wood delivered to your door! Sitting in our rocking chairs digesting a delicious meal was a wonderful way to end an exciting day. It was only beaten by going out into the pitch-black forest (flash lights provided) with a knowledgeable guide to search for pygmy frogs and ocelots! The cabins each had their own gardens and we were lucky to see a variety of birds and wildlife from our bed! You can even milk cows here, or use the meditation area, gym or sauna. Parts of each of our days were spent watching the fantastic variety of humming birds, 3-4 feet from us. They showed no fear of humans so photos aplenty were taken. The hotel is part of a farm and they grow many of their ingredients and a research station is undertaking several investigations.
The staff were all wonderfully helpful, knowledgeable and good natured so we really enjoyed our time here. The morning we left, the sun came out briefly, and we got a frustrating glimpse of the beautiful surrounding landscape. A great place!

Room Tip: We had cabin 16. A bit of a walk from the dining room, but in good weather fantastic views across th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear cindypFleetwood,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We try to emphasize the beauty and mystique of the Cloud Forest and the tranquil farm village atmosphere that we’re pleased you enjoyed so much. With over a dozen varieties of hummingbirds we can see why you were so impressed, and glad you were able to experience our guided night tour through the private nature reserve. As part of the family of Greentique Hotels, we pride ourselves on sharing the magic of nature and good natured staff at Villa Blanca, as well as our sister hotels at Si Como No and Aguila de Osa that we hope you come back to visit with us.
Regards,

Joxan Obando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This was our first stop on our honeymoon. Since this was our first trip to Costa Rica, we had no idea what to expect. The car ride to get to the hotel was very rocky and bumpy, however, we came to learn pretty quickly that most areas in CR do not have paved roads.

This hotel was very beautiful and a very romantic and remote area. The view from our Casitas #14 was beautiful!

The food was excellent, the service was outstanding and the tour guides were very knowledgeable. (We did horseback riding in the farmland and a nocturnal nature hike on the property.)

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking to relax and enjoy each other's company. When we come back to CR, we will be sure to pay another visit to Villablanca!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Bethany S,

We again congratulate you on your honeymoon and feel honored that we were able to start your holiday on such a positive note. True the roads in Costa Rica are not the greatest, but fortunately there’s only 9km between the main hwy and us. And once at Villa Blanca, the few potholes seem to be justifies by what you find at the end of the road. So hope when you return to stay with us you’ll let us know so we can suggest adding our sister hotels at Si Como No and Aguila de Osa where we think you’ll find more of the Greentique hospitality we are noted for.

Saludos,
Joxan Obando,
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.