We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve to your Saves list
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Silencio de Los Angeles, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
¡Especial de Diciembre!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying for one night at Villa Blanca in June of this year and wish I'd been able to spend a week. Two days and one night were not nearly enough time to enjoy all this property has to offer.

From the friendly staff to the amazing food and the beautiful location, everything was absolutely perfect. I adored the little cabins - they offered peace and quiet, privacy and amazing views, yet were close enough together to feel like you were in a small village.

I'd highly recommend having a massage - it's a wonderful experience.

I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, General Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
You could not be more accurate regarding a common complaint we hear from many folks who had wished they could have stayed longer with us! What can be more encouraging for a hotel than when a guest takes the time to let other readers of Trip Advisor be aware of their exceptional Costa Rican experience, although too brief, that's was good enough to spend a week because of the great food, hospitality, food, Spa treatments, and many other attractions you acknowledged. Should you decide to return to visit us again, we will be sure to offer you a great incentive to stay the whole week next time!

Regards,

Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    105
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
119
252
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Iberia, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just spent two wonderful nights at Villa Blanca. Peaceful is the only way to describe this place. From the moment we checked in until the drive leaving this beautiful place, we enjoyed our stay. The hiking trails around the grounds are great, short little self guided trails loaded with plants and animals indigenous to the cloud forest that that encompasses this fantastic place. Bryan and the staff really were helpful with local knowledge and accommodated us with wonderful trip to Sarchi, where we visited the local artisans building everything from ox carts to some of the finest woodworking I've ever seen. Warner guided us through the country side with knowledge unsurpassed by anyone I've ever met. He knew the area, the people, the wildlife, and the customs better than I know my family. Good luck with your butterfly farm Warner. He made our trip the most memorable ever. To those who complain about the bugs, you ARE in a FOREST. To those that complain about rain you are in a RAIN forest, that's part of being there. NOTHING COULD HAVE BEEN BETTER.

Room Tip: They are all phenomenal Pura Vida.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Front Office Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
What else can we say. You conveyed what so many continue to share with us about the genuine hospitality, the incredible cloud forest landscape, and the rich culture of San Ramon and Sarchi. With the quality of our licensed nature interpreters, some of which have been with us many years, we can see how you were so impressed with their knowledge and enthusiasm for their country. It's all why we believe, as members of Greentique Hotels, that it's about "Exceptional Costa Rica Experiences" that we pride ourselves on delivering, year after year, since we opened our sister hotel, Si Como No, in 1993. We hope you come back and take advantage of enjoying more of our sustainable hospitality at Villa Blanca and consider more of the same with our sister properties in the Osa Peninsula, at Aguila de Osa Inn and Si Como No in Manuel Antonio where it can also rain in the "rainforest" while ocean temps around 80 degrees just three hours aways from the refreshing cloud forests mist in our 2000 acre Los Angeles Private Nature Reserve.

Regards,

Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

As our trip continued through Costa Rica, our 3rd green spa was in a Nature Reserve. They grow their own organic vegetables in green houses, had their own dairy farm,they made their own cheese and yogurt even!
We had our little private, detached room (casita). It was warm and cozy with 2 locally made rocking chairs, a fire place, re fridge, gigantic open shower, stained glass window, no TV, loads of plugs for charging. Walking sticks and umbrellas are available without asking. The nature trails are sweet and filled with exotics! (It can be a little cool at night in rainy season-but we had fireplace going and windows open :)
Food was amazing!
We had a special guide-Warner Arias. They called him on a Sunday and he was kind enough to guide us through Sarchi (little art town) and explain so many things we would have never known without his help.
Clouds move through fast so the sky and light changes rapidly. We were visiting in October. The rain seemed to only come late at night or late afternoon. It did not effect a thing!

Room Tip: We had 5! Private back yard, by the trails but far away from traffic. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, General Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
What more can we say but to thank you "mucho max" for your gracious review. You covered the gambit of added values that set us apart as a mountain boutique sustainable hotel. Hope we can offer you more valuable experiences, including our sister resort in Manuel Antonio Beach and in the pristine Osa Peninsula, all of part of Greentique Hotels here in beautiful and friendly Costa Rica.

Jim Damalas
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Villa Blanca and are very glad we did. We were planning activities in La Fortuna and this seemed a reasonable choice to get away from the airport area. We changed our plans to be able to stay and enjoy our stay here instead of going on. The property exceeded our expectations. The grounds are beautiful with hiking trails and wonderful views. The service and dining was excellent. Thank you Enrique! We enjoyed our room with a fireplace and jucuzzi. It was a bit off the main road and driving was interesting but I'm very happy we included this in our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are pleased you decided to choose Villa Blanca for not only to start your holiday in Costa Rica, but that you found it to meet your expectations that you extended your stay. We pride ourselves on our brand of Sustainable Hospitality and that fact you changed your travel plans to stay longer confirms our commitment to providing exceptional Costa rica experiences as part of the family of Greentique Hotels. We would like to invite you to come back again in the future and perhaps consider adding our resort in Manuel Antonio, Si Como No, as well as Aguila de Osa Inn on the Osa Peninsula.

Regards,

Joxan Obando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent two nights here in the off season and were the only two there. We had a honeymoon suite which was great. Big enough spa tub for two looking out into the forest. Room had a fireplace, two chairs out back,and wifi. If you want to get away this is the place. It is off the main road aways so be prepared to be away from everything.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We glad you found our property a private getaway for your honeymoon. Because we choose to stay open when other properties close for the season, it affords the rare opportunity to stay when we can offer you a truly private romantic retreat. Your enjoyment of your Honeymoon suite and privacy is what makes us so popular with honeymooners, even when they have the rum of the place.

Regards,

Joxan Obando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My daughter and I were on vacation in Costa Rica and this was our first stop. The grounds are gorgeous, location wonderful, accommodations great and the food delicious - with a lot of options for my daughter that is vegetarian. The people working in the bar / restaurant were very nice and helpful. Ronald was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience along with your family at Villa Blanca. You covered the basis by appreciating our hospitality, our unique mountain location, and the pride our gardener's take in caring for our tropical Cloud Forest gardens that you enjoyed. I will be sure to also let our team at El Sendero Restaurant know how much you enjoyed our menu, including our fresh vegetarian specialties, all from our local gardens and family farms here in San Ramon. As well as the personal service by our waiters and bartenders. We hope you come back soon and include our other Greentique Hotel properties in Manuel Antonio and the Osa Peninsula where we will do our best to deliver more of our boutique and sustainable brands of "Exceptional Costa Rica Experiences".


Regards,

Joxan Obando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

What a joy! Every minute of my stay last week at Villa Blanca was a treat. Even though I was alone, they put me in one of their 'honeymoon suites' with a Jacuzzi tub. The room was spacious, simply furnished and just right.
What I loved most was the carefully, locally sourced cuisine. Almost everything on the menu was grown on property, making every meal a delight.
Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Room #26, one of the Honeymoon Suites. Very quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write an encouraging review to share your experience with us in the cloud forest of Villa Blanca. We take great pride in the design of our authentic village concept with each unique casita we've created, as well as our restaurant menu of local ingredients that our chef combines into delicious traditional and international plates offered in El Sendero. Our Canton of San Ramon has many rural family recipes that we have adopted that also meet our Five Green Leaf Certification standards, as well as our high standards of service and hospitality that are trademarks of our membership in Greentique Hotels.

Best regards,

Joxan Obando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.