We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for relaxation, decompression in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve to your Saves list
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SEVEN DAY $955 P/P
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect for relaxation, decompression in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I, (we live in a major US city) truly enjoyed our weekend stay here early September 2013. We stayed for 2 nights but could easily be at least 3 if we had the time. Our deluxe cabin was perfect with a great view. The walking trail (self guided) was wonderful with the amazing exotic plants and animals. I saw a family of 4 feral pigs and my wife saw a black, cat size,almost raccoon-like animal (a staff mentioned the name, we forgot it). The sights and sounds are definitely amazing when you are there. Nothing I have ever heard or seen(I was born and raised also in a tropical country). The entire staff was very friendly and made our stay truly enjoyable and relaxing. The food/cuisine was absolutely delicious...go for the specials. This is the place to be in to relax and calm the nerves, and to tantalize the senses with nature.

Room Tip: Ours was cabin #28, which had a jacuzzi tub, shower, fireplace, fridge and a great view of the mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We thank you for your encouraging review and your own realisation that you did not have more time to spend with us enjoying what many agree is the relaxed atmosphere and friendly service of our entire staff. Our chef, and his kitchen staff, are dedicated to provide an exceptional menu that you were so kind to complement, and so do our conservation programs assure that nature is at your doorstep for a unique Costa Rican experience we pride ourselves in delivering within our protected Cloud Forest Reserve. Please don't hesitate to join us again and we'll be sure to include that third night free as a repeat guest of Greentique Hotels.

Saludos,

Joxan Obando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    120
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
160
318
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here 1 day while in Costa Rica. The hotel was gorgeous and the little cabins were adorable. It was quite possibly the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. The staff were so nice- great service all the way around. Dinner was delicious- world class, beautifully presented. We definitely will be back. I highly recommend this place- it's a can't miss. My only complaint is that we got lost for almost 2 hours on confusing dirt roads to get there, so MAKE SURE you have good directions. The hotel was well worth the hassle of getting there, though, and it was so nice being greated with a fresh tropical drink when we got there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We were so pleased that your efforts to get to Villa Blanca were worth the extra detour along the way by the most comfortable bed you've slept in and how much you appreciated our restaurant quality and hospitality. Sorry you missed the signage along the way, but are glad you plan to return again for a longer stay next time. We'll be sure to have the welcome drinks waiting for you without the extra efforts along the way.

Regards,

Joxan Obando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited Costa Rica in late August 2013 for 10 days & Villa Blanca was our first stop. The views were truly beautiful in the Los Angeles cloud forest. We really enjoyed the on property walking trail & how remote & quiet it was. The individual casitas are really charming & we loved having our own personal fireplace & back patio. Lots of beautiful birds & lush plant life to see. The food was outstanding & the staff was extremely friendly. It was perfect for 2 nights before moving on to the Arenal area. Great experience!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, General Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
The fact we were able to start your Costa Rican Holiday on a positive note was important for us to read in your generous review. Your recognition of the quality of our restaurant, and our natural attractions and "extremely friendly" hospitality is perhaps why we pride our selves on delivering the exceptional Costa Rican brand of sustainable hospitality that is at the core of our commitment to our guests and the reason we believe our hotel staff and community also value our efforts, year after year.

Sincerely,

Jim Damalas
CEO/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel with a welcoming, outstanding staff. The food was delicious and rooms comfy and roomy. The night walk and solo walks thru the rain forest were fun and educational. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is ecologically minded but also wants to be a bit spoiled. Muchas gracias to staff who made our visit so special!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, General Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We're so glad we were able to deliver an great experience as part of your holiday in Costa Rica. The fact you loved the quality of our menu and wait staff, as well as the comfortable and spacious casitas plus our cloud forest trails, and especially our friendly and professional staff is what we do our best to deliver as part of our goal for the exceptional brand of sustainable hospitality we are known for. As part of Greentique Hotels we wish to extend our invitation to return again and sample more of our hospitality in San Ramon as well as with our properties in Manuel Antonio and the Osa Peninsula.

Sincerely,

Jim Damalas
CEO/ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

great place to stay, thé Wayne to get there is a little bit difficulté,don ´ t get there by night. But once at the spot it ´s à green magic hôtel . Charming services. Good food, the horse ridding guide is really nice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. We appreciate when our guests take the time to comment, especially when they agree about the value and enjoyment they experienced staying with us. Just wanted to let you know that the last 9 km drive that's the country road to the hotel has been recently upgraded so even after sunset it remains a comfortable drive. We hope to see you back with us again when you may also consider our invitation to visit our other Greentique hotels in Manuel Antonio and the Osa Peninsula.

Regards,

Joxan Obando
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We did our team retreat at Villa Blanca.
Lovely meeting space - fabulous staff - welcoming environment with terrific attention to detail.
Couldn't have been better. Would definitely go back and use their facility. Interested in all their other properties.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Events Coordinator at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We appreciate how much you enjoyed your "team retreat" with us at Villa Blanca. We have been fortunate to hosting several corporate incentives and workshop series here in San Ramon that continue to provide the right atmosphere and hotel services to meet and often exceed many client expectations. I wanted to let you know that all the native trees your group adopted as part of our Carbon Offset program, are all doing just fine. We hope you and many of your colleagues return again to enjoy our hospitality and perhaps add our sister hotels, Si Como No and Aguila de Osa, to your itinerary.

Regards,

Cesar Vargas
Events Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Quiet, peaceful and remote. Villa Blanca is located in a cloud forest approximately 20 min from the main road. There always was a mystic mist as we walked around the property to the chapel, the research station, and main lobby/restaurant. The restaurant was very good as was the service from the staff especially Juan Carlos who was very friendly and graciously informed our family about his country and culture. We went on several tours through the hotel. We explored San Ramon area with Rodrigo and Arenal Volcano with Roy. Both guides were wonderful and informative. The rooms were quaint and clean, but a little damp due to the weather. Fireplace was used daily with the staff replacing the fire wood as needed. Would love to go back when it is not so cloudy to see the vistas. I would imagine it would be a perfect location for a destination wedding...again if the weather cooperated and on a more clear day. A wonderful choice if you would like eco friendly, quiet environment, Not for those looking for hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, General Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and the many values you noted of your experiences with us, especially the fact we're very "eco-friendy". We pride ourselves on our CST Five Green Leaves as part of our certification and mission statement. It's nice to know you took advantage of several of our guided tours of our adjacent 2000 acre cloud forest reserve and research station, as well as the tour we offer to Arenal Volcano and hot springs. Also the cultural guided tour of San Ramon with Rodrigo, a native of the same canton, has been a tour our guides pride themselves to share along with many other locals who are on our hotel staff. I will be sure to share your review with our guides and the rest of the staff your mentioned and trust you'll consider coming back again to see the variety of climate changes we enjoy in the mountain landscape of San Ramon. Since we host many weddings too, you may want to let any future couples know we'll be happy to create a wedding experience that will be as unique and memorable as your own exceptional stay with us.

Regards,
Jim Damalas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles | Los Angeles Norte, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.