We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cloud Forest Sanctuary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Save Saved
You added Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Silencio de Los Angeles, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
7 x 5 :2 nights free
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in San Ramon
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Cloud Forest Sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I spent part of our honeymoon at Villa Blanca, and found it to be by far the best stay in Costa Rica (and everywhere else was great). The views alone are enchanting, and every place or path on the grounds is a treat. The food was very good at the restaurant, and the service at the front desk and in the restaurant were all excellent. We enjoyed the simple pleasure of feeding our fireplace and waking up to foraging animals. Thanks again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
WOW, what a great review about Villa Blanca hosting such an important part of your honeymoon in Costa Rica! We seem to be the ideal romantic getaway for honeymooners who want the perfect natural setting balanced with the comfortable amenities and quality of our restaurant and staff all providing you both our brand of friendly and sustainable hospitality. Hope you will come back to celebrate your anniversary with us and include our sister hotels in Manuel Antonio, at Si Como No Resort, and also in the Osa Peninsula, at Aguila de Osa Inn as part of Greentique Hotels exceptional Costa Rica Experiences you enjoyed with us in San Ramon de Alajuela. Again we congratulate you on your marriage and thank you for trusting us to providing you part of your wonderful stay in beautiful Costa Rica.

Regards,

Joxan Obando
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    321
    101
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
93
230
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellaire, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Villa Blanca is my favorite hotel in the whole world. Set in the beautiful, lush Los Angeles Cloud Forest, it is a wonderful retreat into nature. It's high enough in elevation to be cool and misty and the private cabinas have little fireplaces where you can set fires at night. You might be snug and secluded, but the accommodations and amenities are first rate. My husband and I love birds, and we have counted numerous types on the private trails and by just wondering the property.Depending on the time of year, you can see amazon parrots, toucans, and a whole rainbow of little birds named tanagers. The staff are polite and friendly and they go out of their way to make your stay exceptional. One day they heard I was carsick. They sent my husband down to our cabin with chamomile tea for me. When I didn't show up for dinner, my husband asked if he could take some soup to me. Absolutely he could and their concern was very touching. My last day there, I had a fairly long massage, scrub, and facial at the spa. I felt so peaceful and relaxed after the treatments. This is my second stay at Villa Blanca and it gets better each time I go. I can't wait to see what my next trip brings.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful. If you like to look at birds, stay in Room 15 down at the far end of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Greetings from Los Angeles Cloud Forest!
We thank you for your kind and wonderful review , its always nice to have you back at Villa Blanca and again we are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and our own brand of “The Magic of Nature!!” After reading your review we feel we met and perhaps exceeded our goal, along with the exceptional and friendly Costa Rican experiences. We look forward to have you & your family next year as a guests and hopefully include our sister hotels, near Corcovado and Manuel Antonio National Park, that are also members of Greentique Hotels of Costa Rica.
Best regards
Joxan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We just got back from this destination. Although the road was rough getting there (literally) it was well worth it! The staff and service was fantastic, I cannot express how good the food was. Had a very nice body scrub in the spa which felt amazing. We went during the "rainy season" athough it did not rain at all, so there were very few people at the resort which made it even more wonderful. Lots of walking trails, hummingbird feeders, theater etc. There is no airconditioning but we did not feel hot at all, the fan helped. You are in the middle of the woods so expect a few insects around, didn't bother us though. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hello from Villa Blanca!

Thanks for taken your valuable time to write this wonderful review about our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had a good experience at our El Sendero Restaurant, and yes the fact that we use use natural and organic products at the spa, also helps the therapist to deliver an amazing experience.
We look forward to have you & your family as a repeat guests and hopefully include our sister hotels, Alguila de Osa Inn near Corcovado. Si Como No Hotel, nearby Manuel Antonio National Park, also members of Greentique Hotels of Costa Rica.

Best regards
Joxan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Bar none this has to be the most unique experience in any hotel in the country. We were pleasantly surprised to find the old fashion clay style fireplaces inside both of our "casitas". The beds were dreamy and as a result we found ourselves nearly sleeping through the included breakfast.

The staff - from waiters to tour guides - were incredibly courteous and informative of the surrounding cloud forest and natural plant and wildlife. The entire hotel exudes a sense of authenticity and sincerity whereas their commitment to the environment is evident.

Room Tip: The deluxe suites are highly recommended for their size and handy back patio to enjoy the sounds of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Greetings from Los Angeles Cloud Forest!
Thank you for your kind review and we are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and our own brand of “The Magic of Nature!!” After reading your review we feel we met and perhaps exceeded our goal, along with the exceptional and friendly Costa Rican experiences. We look forward to have you & your family as repeat guests and hopefully include our sister hotels, Alguiade Osa Inn near Corcovado. Si Como No Hotel, near by Manuel Antonio National Park, that are also members of Greentique Hotels of Costa Rica.
Best regards
Joxan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

A group of us planned a trip to CR and Villa Blanca was one of the places recommended to stay at. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the staff was very welcoming and made our stay pleasant. The food was outstanding and every meal was something to talk about. We've been back a month to the states and can't stop talking about Villa Blanca and the country of CR. For sure we will be back! Highly recommend VB to everyone. Thank you again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello from Villa Blanca!

Thanks for taken your valuable time to write this wonderful review about our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had a good experience at our El Sendero Restaurant. We will be waiting for you in the future to share more of the Costa Rican Experiences!
We look forward to have you & your family as repeat guests and hopefully include our sister hotels, near Corcovado and Manuel Antonio National Park, that are also members of Greentique Hotels of Costa Rica.

Regards,

Joselyn Araya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I traveled here during the rainy season, and loved it. Spent 3 nights here, and that was just right.

It was sunny during the mornings and cloudy and rainy during the late afternoon and night. So in the mornings we went hiking and horseback riding. When the thunder rolled in, it was very loud and surreal. Getting cozy in the cabin over a fire, having a glass of wine at their lodge area, or sitting out on the porch of the villa ...this is where I go now in my mind when I relax now.
Loved this place and want to go back someday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Greetings from Los Angeles Cloud Forest!
We are back on rainy season… It’s been year, sounds like you are ready for a trip back to our beautiful Costa Rica and of course Villa Blanca hotel.
We thank you for your kind review and we are glad that you enjoyed our hotel and our own brand of “The Magic of Nature!!” We look forward to have you & your family as repeat guests and hopefully include our sister hotels, Algui ade Osa Inn near Corcovado and Si Como No Hotel, Manuel Antonio National Park, that are also members of Greentique Hotels of Costa Rica.
Best regards
Joxan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huatulco, Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We live on a sailboat so it was quite a treat to take an inland trip in Costa Rica. We spend three days at the Villa Blanca Hotel. It was very quiet (which we liked). The service was fantastic, food was good and reasonable (us yachties can be kind of cheap). We loved the bird watching tour as well as just watching all the birds and animals from our back deck. Lovely weather even though it was the start of the rainy season. Views were fantastic. My friend and I (who also lives on a sailboat) enjoyed the benefits of the hot stone massage which was the special of the week - very, very, nice. We did not want to leave!!!! The only thing I would suggest is that the bed and bedding be updated.

Room Tip: Cabin 15 had an amazing view and was very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Gerente at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the clouds!

We really appreciate your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed El Silencio de Los Angeles( The silent of the Angels, wich is the name of the region). And we are pleased to hear your reviews about our service especially for the food at El Sendero restaurant and the massage at Voices of Nature Spa.
We will consider your suggestions about the bed and bedding, thanks for sharing your experience in Villa Blanca.
We look forward to have you & your family as repeat guests and hopefully include our sister hotels, near Corcovado and Manuel Antonio National Park, that are also members of Greentique Hotels of Costa Rica.

Best regards

Joselyn Araya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.