We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Damp delight'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve to your Saves list
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Silencio de Los Angeles, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
¡Especial de Diciembre!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
West Sussex England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“'Damp delight'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A good introduction, in a most civilised setting, to the delights of the Cloud Forest. From pleasant rural lodges overlooking well maintained grounds paths lead into the verdant rainforest with its astonishing and spectacular variety of fauna and flora. We enjoyed both the self-guided and organised tours before returning to the excellent restaurent and other in-house facilities!
Beware however that you do not miss the essential turning off route 703 north of St Ramon! Look out for the right turn sign for the hotel 'Villa Banca' turn immediately, then have faith for the next 20 minutes on a rugged country track leading through a hilly beautiful landscape to your goal.
It is worth the journey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Hola Chrishrsmith !!!!!

We are pleased that you have chosen Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Nature Reserve as an excellent way to start your holidays in Costa Rica .On behalf of the entire family , we want to thank you for visiting us and be part of our Hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed the wonders of the Cloud Forest and our beautiful landscaping.

Thanks for your feedback by letting our guests know the right way to get to our Hotel! We hope you have a chance to come back to our home in the very near future.

Warmest regards.

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    105
    14
    5
    0
See reviews for
120
252
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is damp Cloudforest and not easy to run a hotel where the sun does not often shine. Our charming room was a little damp but having a log fire in the corner of the bedroom generated a warmth both physically and atmospheric. Normally I begrudge the prices charged for mini-bars but here it was well stocked and reasonably priced.

The Surrounding cloud forest reserve provided interesting trails and sufficient activity to amuse for at least two days.
The staff were efficient, friendly and charming. Food was very good and breakfast exceptionally so with a wide variety and delicious home made breads.

Good free wi-fi is available in the main building where one could sit comfortably in big leather chairs/sofas in front of the fire, with free coffee and cake/ biscuits on hand while catching up with emails. When the cloud lifts,as it does occasionally the views are great
This hotel has a good feel, good staff, and good quality food. I would recommend it to my friends..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank for been part of our Greentique Hotels Family and recommend our hospitality to all your friends and readers of the Trip Advisor website.

Our goal is always to provide our guests an unforgettable experience enjoying the Casitas with beautiful fireplace, our 5 friendy trails, many choices of tours,a restaurant with a menu filled with a variety of dishes from which you can choose , our lovely and cozy main building and a whole more of amenities we have to offer here at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel Nature Reserve....all this to make our guests feel at home.

So from all your friends at Villa Blanca, thank you for being our guest. We hope to see you again.

Warmest regards,

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

this was well worth the fear of falling off the cliff or running out of taxi money because it took longer to get to from San Ramon than we thought. worth every penny . Restaurant alike pricey but amazingly delicious and vegeterian friendly! Staff were amazing. the rooms were secluded with a fireplace

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with all the readers of the Trip Advisor
website. We are pleased that for you was worth the whole trip to Villa Blanca!!!!!

It is a pleasure for us that you have been part of the family of Greentique Hotels!

Hope to see you again!

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We loved our casita, had coatis come visit, did a great night tour, and enjoyed walking the extensive grounds. Don't miss happy hour, the best guaro sour in CR! It is a bit remote. The food and 5 leaf rating are fantastic. We had homemade quesa and yogurt, and got to milk the cow!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Jeanine,

We are very pleased you enjoyed the night walk in our friendly trails with our own nature interpreters who unveil a secret world of rich tropical life when the sun goes down and the cloud forest habitat transforms like no other in the world.

The happy hour is one of the services we provide to our guests, we have a variety of drinks and cocktails, but the most popular is Costarican Guaro sour ... Glad you didn´t miss it!!....as well as another amenities that you can enjoy is the Dairy Farm where you can join our staff and have the chance to milk the cows! So much fun!!!

From all your friends at Villa Blanca, thank you for being our guest. We hope to see you again!

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Hotel was very good, very quite, plenty of walks.It is remote Do not go there if you are expecting 4 star with swimming pool,TV and other entertainment. It was as our agent advised us, wife enjoyed watching hummng birds from room window. Food good, staff excellent also night walks with guide only problem was my wife suffers from motion sickness thus the journey from Arenal proved difficult, road surface ok but very bendy where as the journey away from Villa Blanca in the direction of San Jose was much better, .Ideal for a quite rest

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Greetings from the Clouds!!

Gracias!!!!!
We appreciate you took the time to visit Tripadvisor web page and living your comment about us! We are sorry that your wife had problems with the road and suffered from dizziness. But we are happy to hear that you got the opportunity to take a walk into our trails, enjoy the diversity that Villa has and also liked our facilities along with our stuff .
This is an extremely relaxing place! If you are looking for privacy, intimacy , much peace and quiet our Hotel is the perfect place to visit!

We hope to see you again soon!!

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at Villa Blanca for two nights at the end of a Windstar cruise. The cottage we had was exactly as advertised, comfortable and clean. If you enjoy nature, relaxing by a fire, and being above the couds, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Buenos dias!!!

What a great way to start the day by reading such good reviews like this. We really appreciate you taking the time to write this comment of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel Nature Reserve!!!!

We are pleased that you have enjoyed the facilities as well as our warm and confortable Casitas!!!

Hope you come and visit again sometime soon!!!!!!

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Branch, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here one night as part of a bicycling tour. Complete solitude and not a sound except for those of the rainforest just outside your door. The wall of the bathroom looking out onto the rainforest was glass so you could soak in the tub and enjoy the sights and sounds of the forest. Little fireplace in the corner was cozy for the chilly night. Food was wonderful. We didn't have time to check out the pool or spa, so can't comment.......this is a heavenly place for those who want to get away from everything and everybody.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy V, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Villa Blanca is a very quiet place, where you are surrounded only by nature. The cottages are located in the forest and so you can enjoy the views from wherever you are. We are happy to read this comment you left us here at Tripadvisor web page that actually let everyone knows that you really enjoy all those details and amenities that Villa Blanca has to offer. And you are right, if you want to be away from the crowd and the stress come to the Cloud Forest…. This is the best place to be!

Muchas Gracias !!!!!!

Sindy Vega
Custumer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.