We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only come here if you love rain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Save Saved
You added Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   El Silencio de Los Angeles, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
7 x 5 :2 nights free
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in San Ramon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Only come here if you love rain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel itself is wonderful- great service and the best food we've had in CR. however, the location is not great. it rains all the time, non stop, even when it's not CR's "rainy season". We booked a pre packaged deal for 9 days at three locations in CR, and villa Blanca was our last stop. Had we known that "cloud forest" meant you are in a cold foggy mist the entire time, we would not have come here. The drinks are great, breakfast buffet fabulous, etc... We arrived with an empty gas tank- not enough to drive to the nearest station in San ramon- so they kindy arranged to put 2 gal in our tank. The place is clean and as a health nut, it was great to see their organic herbs and veggies, but other than their nature path and spa, there isn't much to do but curl up by the fireplace in your room with a good book. Needless to say, I was quite content but my boyfriend was not. If you are just looking to get away from work and worries, this place is great, but as I am from sunny, dry south Texas... I would not return to cloud forest. If you must go to cloud forest though , this is a superb place and Id recommend it .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    333
    102
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
102
232
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Our travel agent booked this place for us, so we had no idea what to expect. We loved it! It's very quiet and you are a bit isolated (we didn't have a car) but, the food, the location, the serenity, and the cool air was a blessing. Our kids milked cows every morning, fed the chickens, watched the hummingbirds, and loved the little coati that visited us every day. We did a horseback ride and recommend at least a 2 hour ride. We did an hour and had to turn back just as we were starting to feel like we away from everything. It's a beautiful ride. The zipline isn't high adventure, but so much more relaxed than the zipline's in Arenal or MA. We took our time and got to watch the monkeys for a long time. We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hello from Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel Nature and Reserve.

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice comment. Your feedback helps all of us to improve our service and facilities, as we strengthen our commitment to delivering the exceptional Costa Rica experience you expect from a Greentique Hotel.

Warmest regards,

Sindy Vega
Costumer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My sister and I stayed here for 2 nights in September and I have only good things to say. The staff was excellent and could not do enough for us. Of course the road getting there was abit much but could not take away from the ambiance of the cloud forest. We were greeted with a welcome drink and were told all our options for tours, Bryan was very knowledgeable. The casita was great, so cozy and quaint. We had a front porch and a back deck. We were the only ones there (another couple came later in the day) and they were so accomadating, filling the hot tub for us and answering any questions we had. It is such a peaceful place, definately a must when you go to Costa Rica. The food was great and the hot stone massage was heavenly. We were not bored at all (thought we might be) and took the time to milk Madonna (the cow), do the self guided trail and the nature walk at night. We had to leave at 2:30am and our wake up call was right on time with the night desk down to pick up our luggage shortly after. Since we missed breakfast, they packed us a sandwich with some fruit and a drink, which was much appreciated. The movie theatre was a nice change, they will even let you pick the movie if you are the only one there. Definately a place to remember and go back to the next time I am in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Linda,

We appreciated this review that you posted in Tripadvisor and thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are glad to hear about your exceptional experience that you had in Costa Rica and Greentique Hotels. So from all your friends at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel Nature & Reserve, thank you for being our guest.

We hope to see you again.

Sindy Vega
Costumer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

What an incredible location! Although the road needs repair (to put it mildly), it added to the ambiance of the location. We loved the drive through farms, fields, mountain views - stunning!

The breakfast is by far one of the best we've ever had at a hotel - they do an incredible job!!

The site is very quaint, peaceful and worth the visit. The rooms are also quaint, and reflect the history of the site. They aren't what you normally get in a hotel - less sound-proof - but the fire place, tub and private patio with rockers were fantastic.

Great place for a romantic weekend if you want tranquility and GREAT food!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Hello Becky

As we have been commenting, we are making several repairs to the road that leads to the hotel, giving priority to the most affected areas, all with the support of neighbors, Development Association of Los Angeles and City Hall of San Ramon, Adventure Park and the Congressman of the Zone. We are pleased to tell you that the works are very advanced and we are ready to start laying asphalt in November. We appreciate the review you posted on Trip Advisor.

Regards,

Sindy Vega
Costumer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Not only is the location beautiful, uncrowded, serene and restful (it's completely quiet), but just as importantly the entire staff is ALWAYS friendly, warm, and helpful. They even laughed at our jokes! In fact, after a couple of days, the wait staff at their restaurant, El Sendero, was so at ease that they addressed us in the Spanish familiar tense ("tu"), which we thought was charming.

Everyone went out of their way to help, changing tour times--or even tours--when we asked. Umbrellas were in each room, a plus for the rainy season. We never had to ask twice for anything, and one example here will give you the idea: I mentioned to the front desk that our clock wasn't working, and that we needed a box of Kleenex, and within 10 minutes, TWO workers came down, one with a new clock and the other with a box of tissues.

The food at El Sendero was superb--world class for hearty "country style" cooking. As a pure vegetarian, or vegan, I often have trouble with menus. Not here. There were at least 6-8 different items per day that I could eat with no changes, directly from the menu, and the staff was able to answer detailed questions about each dish. It was also easy to ask for special dishes off the menu. Once again, the wait staff was superb, and the food and presentations were equal to any cuisine of this type that I've had in LA or San Francisco--and probably even New York, for that matter. Very impressive, and even more so when I was told that the chef was not imported, but a resident of nearby San Ramon who studied for years to get to this level of excellence.

Tours were informative and/or exciting, such as the zip line, where our guide put us completely at ease with his excellent instruction and concern for our safety. We also recommend the bird-watching tour, a relaxed walk on the spacious grounds with a knowledgeable naturalist. (The only downside is that it starts at 6:00 AM!)

Although Costa Rican travel agencies are well aware of Villa Blanca, it's surprisingly uncrowded here and seems to be off the beaten track--perhaps the long pot hole-ridden access road is a deterrent. Well, not for us: we definitely plan to return in a couple of years, hopefully accompanied by friends to share this delightful place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villablanca2011, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Ira,

We appreciate that you took the time to write this review on Tripdvisor. We share all guests comments with our managers and staff every week, because good or bad, they are an important indication of our performance in meeting your expectations. It was nice to hear that you had such a nice time in Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel Nature & Reserve.

Warmest regards,

Sindy Vega
Costumer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pellston, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived via a very difficult 9k road to be greeted with specialty house cocktails at the reception desk! The resort was enshrouded with mist as you might expect in the cloud forest. Our casita was charming and very comfortable. The main lodge featured a private movie theater and a cozy game room. The food was top notch and the staff was amazing, very friendly and helpful. We had the feeling we were at someone's home. The grounds were lovely and the nature trails were filled with surprises. We met the owner and he was so gracious and made us feel right at home. Definitely a lovely respite!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I decided to add the Villa Blanca resort to the itinerary for my annual Costa Rica Photo workshop this year. My wife and I were there briefly in January, and I was excited to bring my group to the cloud forest.
My expectations were met and then some! The staff was friendly and accommodating at every turn. The rooms, restaurant and meeting facilities were all great.
The hiking trails on the grounds and the staff naturalists were a favorite of our photographers. The Hummingbirds feeding in the morning are a treat with or without a camera.
The La Mariana chapel on the grounds is beautiful and another great spot for photos.
I look forward to bringing more photographers to Villa Blanca next year.

Room Tip: The GIANT tub in the Deluxe room is worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve

Address: El Silencio de Los Angeles, San Ramon 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > San Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in San Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over an hour's drive from San Jose International Costa Rica airport (SJO), eco-minded travelers from all over the world have reveled in the beauty of Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel, located within the Los Angeles Private Biological Nature Reserve & Research Station in the Canton of San Ramon. The hotel is ideally situated as a gateway to Arenal Volcano and the famous Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. Here, you're immersed in one of the world's most precious and complex jungle ecosystems - the cloud forest. This boutique mountain hotel is nestled on 75-acres of gentle rolling hills, with well-appointed "casitas" and Honeymoon Suites, each with their own fireplace, and surrounded by acres of lush botanical gardens. Originally owned by former president Rodrigo Carazo Odio and First Lady, Estrella Zeledon de Carazo, Villa Blanca has become a renown and cherished Costa Rica destination. The architecture reflects the original farm village concept, with a welcoming Hacienda, offering guests exceptional Costa Rican hospitality, premier dining, a private theater, conference facilities, and pampering spa menu. Also quite unique is a replica of a 14th century Roman wedding chapel, La Mariana, with its hand painted ceramic ceiling. Choose from a variety of nature-based activities, including horseback, zip-lines, and user-friendly guided trials, plus excursions to Arenal and Poas volcanoes, hot springs, and rural-cultural tours. This is the Costa Rica where those who "travel well and travel right" want to go. Please feel free to visit our sister-site, one of the most prestigious Manuel Antonio hotels, Si Como No. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blanca Cloud Forest
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel And Nature Reserve Costa Rica/San Ramon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.