We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and large portions ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Rancho Bar Restaurante Y Chicharronera

Mi Rancho Bar Restaurante Y Chicharronera
100 Meters past the speed bump, in Los Angles Sur, San Ramon, Costa Rica
24451551
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in San Ramon
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
2 reviews
“Good food and large portions ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Villa blanca restaurant was too pricy and small portions. We tried eating at various restaurants in San Ramon and were consistently disappointed. Both my wife and I really enjoyed Mi Rancho. Seafood garlic platter was well portioned with very fresh mussles, a whole little crab, shrimp, rice and chicken with a flavorful salad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Or
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nice Stop on the Way from San Jose to La Fortuna”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The place was packed - very popular. Service was fine and the food was our first meal in Costa Rica - and a good experience. We ordered the rice and beans with chicken - a typical CR meal and were not disappointed. This is not high cuisine to be sure - but good food in a nice setting and not grossly overpriced like so many restaurants in Costa Rica. Our beers were $2. In other places the same beer was $8. Our typical dishes were $8-10. So a reasonable value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I miss Big Willy and the crew :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

If you are on a tour bus to Arenal, you will most likely stop at Mi Rancho. By any other means, if you are on the road north of San Ramon, toward La Fortuna and the volcano, make a point of stopping in, for an ice cold beer and decent food. Willy, a big tico who owns the place, is bi-lingual, and a fun, funny guy, and his staff of young waiters are courteous and helpful. Food service is a little slow, but relax; sit outside and take in the breathtaking view; snap a few pictures.
The best value on the menu---the chicharrones---hunks of well-seasoned, tender pork---similar to carnitas in the States. A full order can easily be shared, or one of you can get a half order and someone else can try the highly-recommended fajitas or the fried fish.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worst wings ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Wings turned out to be fried, underfed, small wings with appendages. Service was even worse. Other people came in, had dinner and had left before we were served.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramón, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I've had lunch and dinner here a few times. The service is excellent, the view is beautiful, and they seem to really care about food allergies. Did I say the view is really lovely? I like to sit outside, weather permitting, or inside near the open windows.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Rancho Bar Restaurante Y Chicharronera also viewed

San Ramon, Province of Alajuela
San Ramon, Province of Alajuela
 
San Ramon, Province of Alajuela
San Ramon, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Mi Rancho Bar Restaurante Y Chicharronera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Rancho Bar Restaurante Y Chicharronera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.