We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misty and cold” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Silencio de Los Angeles Cloud Forest Reserve

El Silencio de Los Angeles Cloud Forest Reserve
El Silencio de Los Angeles, San Ramon 33102, Costa Rica
24610300
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in San Ramon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: El Silencio de Los Angeles Walk - Walk around with your head in the clouds as you step into… the heart of the cloud forest with our own nature interpreters who will unveil a secret world of rich tropical life all along this 3 kilometer user-friendly trail. Located right on the hotel property, the trail was created by our hotel’s professional nature guides and is designed to showcase a variety of tropical flora and fauna as it winds its way throughout this rare and incredibly diverse biosphere. As a part of only 2.5% of the planet’s remaining cloud forests, this unique forest habitat continues to amaze our hotel guests and guides, as well as the trained research scientists from INBio (The National Institute of Biodiversity), who stablished staff the first research station to operate on a hotel property in Costa Rica.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
150 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Misty and cold”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I booked a jungle tour at the Los Angelos Cloud Forest in March 2013, which is supposed to be the dry season. It was raining, misty, storming and cold. According to the guide it was too dangerous to walk in the forest due to the risk of falling branches. Due to the bad weather all animals were hiding. We made a small walk with a guide around the lodge were we saw less bird species as in my back garden at home.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Haelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful countryside dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

A little expensive but the food was very good. The service was impeccable. The menu is very creative with a wide variety.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

If you've ever wanted to know what it's like to live amongst the clouds, then visit the Cloud Forest!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank HankinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Loved the Cloud Forest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Great hiking; very beautiful! Our whole family had a great time.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank SLara1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

beautiful location, great trails, nature, cows, horseback riding. A little rustic, but truly lovely and the staff make you feel so welcome.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Abbeyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Silencio de Los Angeles Cloud Forest Reserve also viewed

San Ramon, Province of Alajuela
San Ramon, Province of Alajuela
 
San Ramon, Province of Alajuela
Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to El Silencio de Los Angeles Cloud Forest Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing