We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first class hotel, oozing with charm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skovshoved Hotel

Save Saved
You added Skovshoved Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skovshoved Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strandvejen 267, Charlottenlund 2920, Denmark   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlottenlund
Chippenham
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A first class hotel, oozing with charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

I loved my stay at Skovshoved. We were on our way to Sweden by car so wanted to be located to the north of Copenhagen near Helsingor. You are only 15 minutes from the city centre here and the bus stops right outside the hotel, but that was not important to us.

From the moment we arrived we were greeted and made to feel really welcome. The hotel had a wedding on that day and we were offered a choice of rooms and a promise that if noise was a problem a quick call to reception would sort things out. (Noise was not a problem at all). The receptionsit was really friendly and made us feel right at home, even down to walking us around to the hotel's pub and getting us settled there for dinner later on.

The hotel is located one street back from the beach road. You can opt for a room with a sea view which we did but it was a little disappointing, you are looking out over the houses on the street. However we had a big balcony with chairs and table to enjoy the view there was. The hotel is undoubtedly old and full of history, you get the feeling of walking into a country house. Yet at the sametime it is modern, minimalist and tasteful - very Danish. Our room had some nice touches, sweets, Molten Brown toiletries and free, fast wireless internet.

We decided to eat in the 'pub' which is more of a relaxed restaurant with a bar. You won't find crowds of drinkers here. The pub is part of the hotel, along with a takeway! There is also a lovely restaurant that serves fine dining type food, we didn't eat there although I wish we had it looked superb. The pub served traditional Danish food, burgers and steaks that sort of thing. Dish of the day changes daily and this is what I had. Roast beef with salad and a bakesd potato. The biggest (and typically Danish) serving I've ever had, lots of delicious roast beef and the best bearnaise sauce. May partner had the cheeseburger and rated that highly too.

If you've been to Denmark before you'll know that it is expensive, there really is no point mentioning that this stay was on the expensive side but the quality was superb. I can not wait to go back on anther trip to Sweden. I've had dreams about the place ever since we stayed!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    18
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
32
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

Very nicely decorated & furnished hotel and room. The room was rather expensive for what you get, but thats to be expected at the current GBP FX rate in Denmark. I can't comment on lifts since we used the stairs, or air con since we don't normally use it.

Our room on the top floor at the front was especially nice, being quite spacious with lovely sea views from the french windows or sitting on the balcony. Very clean and modern furnishing.

The hotel restaurant was good and I think good value by local standards.

The hotel and restaurant staff were generally very helpful and pleasant. Notable, because service was very lacking at some other places we visited.

We hired a car & wanted to travel about a bit, so this hotel was the perfect choice. Able to get into town easily (10+min walk to a train/subway) or drive up the coast. Driving around was very straight forward since all the roads are very quiet and uncongested compared to the UK. The only difficulty caused by a minimalist approach to road signs and directions.

Would strongly recommend a drive north to Tisvildeleje & Hornbaek if you want to walk along beautiful and relatively undeveloped North Norfolk style beaches with big natural sand dunes. Of course, the weather is still northern Europe.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

We had a great stay here for three nights at the end of a trip around Denmark. Very nice rooms which were simply but very tastefully decorated. The pub food is great (I recommend the ribs). Very simple to catch a bus into town. My only gripe is that it is pretty expensive. That said, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding and were very impressed. The hotel is expertly run and very accomodating. It is a three floor hotel (no elevator) with rooms of various sizes. Some rooms have balconies and are pretty large, some are much smaller. The hotel has a bar with an outdoor patio and a wonderful restaurant with a fantastic wine list and excellent food. The rooms themselves have comfortable beds, nice bathrooms and overhead, rainforest style showers.
There is a bus stop right outside the hotel, and the bus goes right into City Hall Square (near Tivoli and the Strogat which is great if you don't want to take a taxi every time you go into the city. A taxi from this hotel to center city is about 15-20 min and costs 165Kr.
From the Skovshoved hotel, you can walk about 20-25 minutes along the sea and through a park to the very cool town of Hellerup, where there is some interesting shopping for clothes, housewares and a few restaurants.

  • Liked — Quiet and lovely with a fantastic restaurant and friendly accomodating service
  • Disliked — Slightly expensive, but not the hotel's fault....I earn my living in US Pesos.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2006

was really surprised that Skovshoved Hotel was urban, chic, and up-beat. The food was the best we have ever had in Copenhagen. The rooms were luscious with a fabulous view of the ocean - and room service every morning on our balcony! I will never stay in central Copenhagen again - only took us 15 minutes by bus to get to the city center!

Love Skovshoved Hotel! Love the staff, surroundings and interior.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Tips/Secrets — bring your bathing suit
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2006

Booked into this hotel because of a Rotary convention in Copenhagen had all hotels in Copenhagen booked. We got the suite due to having a child with us. Please note the following about this hotel.
There are three floors with no elevator, and there is no service people to carry luggage. The suites in the forward part of the hotel faces the street, and the front door. We were woken up at 3:00 AM by people leaving the restaurant and saying good by and then slamming the doors of the car. There are no electric adapters for USA appliances. There are adapters for British, but not the USA. The hotel charges about 4% fee or higher if you pay with a non Denmark credit card. This includes the restaurants associated with the hotel.
You are in a small town outside of Copenhagen. This means that if you want a carton of milk after 5:00 PM, you have to go to the Shell station 1 KM away from the hotel. The hotel has a bus stop right at the door step. It is the 14 line. This bus line is really good for going into Copenhagen. You are about 1/2 hour outside the Copenhagen by bus. However, after 9:00 PM, there is only a bus stopping at the Hotel once an hour coming back from Copenhagen. One night took 1 1/2 hours to ride and walk to get back. There is quite a walk from the S Tog stop.
We had a single shelving unit for our clothes, so we lived out of our suitcases for the entire trip. We ended up moving rooms twice times during this stay due to a clerk mistake and the noise from the street. The breakfast buffet was better than average, if you can handle bread, deli meat and cheese every day of the visit. We consistantly had many small problems with service.
I think this hotel is more appropriate for a bed and breakfast experience and a single overnight stay on the way to somewhere else. I would not consider the cost of a suite worth the money. The hotel looks better in a picture than actually staying there.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2006

We splurged and had a balcony with sea view at this charming hotel. The breakfast wasn't much and the restaurant was expensive....BUT the "pub" had reasonably priced terrific food. The beauty of this hotel is its location in a gentrified fishing village just out of town. It was easy to drive from here to Helsingor, Roskilde and Hillerod and the area was quiet and pretty. A little town center was just a bit away, there was a bus stop direct to Radhus plaza just outside the door, and there were reasonable restaurants nearby. The staff was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Skovshoved Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skovshoved Hotel

Address: Strandvejen 267, Charlottenlund 2920, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Gentofte Municipality > Charlottenlund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlottenlund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Skovshoved Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to welcome you at one of Denmark’s most charming hotels.You will find the hotel – cosy, presence, hip and romantic, at the same time.Skovshoved Hotel is located north of Copenhagen (only 7 kilometres). It is beautifully surrounded by old fishers men houses andmore wealthy modern houses Close to beaches, Nature, architecture and shopping areas.We welcome you to 22 modern rooms with balcony and sea view, perfect for work or treatment.Since 2011 our restaurant was awarded with a Bib Gourmand by the prestige’s Michelin guide as the only hotel in Scandinavian.Skovshoved Hotel and Restaurant is a modern hotel with unique facilities and with 350 years of atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Skovshoved Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skovshoved Hotel Charlottenlund, Denmark - Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skovshoved Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.