We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel outside the city of Copenhagen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skovshoved Hotel

Save Saved
You added Skovshoved Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skovshoved Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strandvejen 267, Charlottenlund 2920, Denmark   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlottenlund
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel outside the city of Copenhagen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding and were very impressed. The hotel is expertly run and very accomodating. It is a three floor hotel (no elevator) with rooms of various sizes. Some rooms have balconies and are pretty large, some are much smaller. The hotel has a bar with an outdoor patio and a wonderful restaurant with a fantastic wine list and excellent food. The rooms themselves have comfortable beds, nice bathrooms and overhead, rainforest style showers.
There is a bus stop right outside the hotel, and the bus goes right into City Hall Square (near Tivoli and the Strogat which is great if you don't want to take a taxi every time you go into the city. A taxi from this hotel to center city is about 15-20 min and costs 165Kr.
From the Skovshoved hotel, you can walk about 20-25 minutes along the sea and through a park to the very cool town of Hellerup, where there is some interesting shopping for clothes, housewares and a few restaurants.

  • Liked — Quiet and lovely with a fantastic restaurant and friendly accomodating service
  • Disliked — Slightly expensive, but not the hotel's fault....I earn my living in US Pesos.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    18
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
32
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2006

was really surprised that Skovshoved Hotel was urban, chic, and up-beat. The food was the best we have ever had in Copenhagen. The rooms were luscious with a fabulous view of the ocean - and room service every morning on our balcony! I will never stay in central Copenhagen again - only took us 15 minutes by bus to get to the city center!

Love Skovshoved Hotel! Love the staff, surroundings and interior.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Tips/Secrets — bring your bathing suit
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2006

Booked into this hotel because of a Rotary convention in Copenhagen had all hotels in Copenhagen booked. We got the suite due to having a child with us. Please note the following about this hotel.
There are three floors with no elevator, and there is no service people to carry luggage. The suites in the forward part of the hotel faces the street, and the front door. We were woken up at 3:00 AM by people leaving the restaurant and saying good by and then slamming the doors of the car. There are no electric adapters for USA appliances. There are adapters for British, but not the USA. The hotel charges about 4% fee or higher if you pay with a non Denmark credit card. This includes the restaurants associated with the hotel.
You are in a small town outside of Copenhagen. This means that if you want a carton of milk after 5:00 PM, you have to go to the Shell station 1 KM away from the hotel. The hotel has a bus stop right at the door step. It is the 14 line. This bus line is really good for going into Copenhagen. You are about 1/2 hour outside the Copenhagen by bus. However, after 9:00 PM, there is only a bus stopping at the Hotel once an hour coming back from Copenhagen. One night took 1 1/2 hours to ride and walk to get back. There is quite a walk from the S Tog stop.
We had a single shelving unit for our clothes, so we lived out of our suitcases for the entire trip. We ended up moving rooms twice times during this stay due to a clerk mistake and the noise from the street. The breakfast buffet was better than average, if you can handle bread, deli meat and cheese every day of the visit. We consistantly had many small problems with service.
I think this hotel is more appropriate for a bed and breakfast experience and a single overnight stay on the way to somewhere else. I would not consider the cost of a suite worth the money. The hotel looks better in a picture than actually staying there.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2006

We splurged and had a balcony with sea view at this charming hotel. The breakfast wasn't much and the restaurant was expensive....BUT the "pub" had reasonably priced terrific food. The beauty of this hotel is its location in a gentrified fishing village just out of town. It was easy to drive from here to Helsingor, Roskilde and Hillerod and the area was quiet and pretty. A little town center was just a bit away, there was a bus stop direct to Radhus plaza just outside the door, and there were reasonable restaurants nearby. The staff was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2005

Very cosy hotel. The room was very nice with a wonderful view over the see. The bed was not comfortable (I have backproblems) and the Tv (flat screen) blurried. The room was very cleen. Breakfast nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2004, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Skovshoved Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skovshoved Hotel

Address: Strandvejen 267, Charlottenlund 2920, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Gentofte Municipality > Charlottenlund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlottenlund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Skovshoved Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to welcome you at one of Denmark’s most charming hotels.You will find the hotel – cosy, presence, hip and romantic, at the same time.Skovshoved Hotel is located north of Copenhagen (only 7 kilometres). It is beautifully surrounded by old fishers men houses andmore wealthy modern houses Close to beaches, Nature, architecture and shopping areas.We welcome you to 22 modern rooms with balcony and sea view, perfect for work or treatment.Since 2011 our restaurant was awarded with a Bib Gourmand by the prestige’s Michelin guide as the only hotel in Scandinavian.Skovshoved Hotel and Restaurant is a modern hotel with unique facilities and with 350 years of atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Skovshoved Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skovshoved Hotel Charlottenlund, Denmark - Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skovshoved Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.