We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden, but nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baltaci

Hotel Baltaci
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Baltaci to your Saves list
Hotel Baltaci
U Nahonu 3946, Zlin 760 01, Czech Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Zlin
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Hidden, but nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Hotel is a bit hard to find, but it has all what you need. Nice parking place under cameras, 3* which are really there and restaurant with good meals. If you´re looking for a good and price accurate stay, this is very good tip.
If you prefer better rooms and more luxury, there is also a second Baltaci (Baltaci Atrium) which is a bit closer to the city centre and is a 5-star hotel. It´s a bit more expensive, but it´s really the best you can get in Zlin.

Room Tip: Had a standard double room and everything was fine - the street is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Olomouc, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My occasional stays at the Baltacci were always without any issue. The beds are of good quality. The rooms are clean and tidy. Breakfast is acceptable. However nothing to justify a price close to Prague' hotels.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Now there is a new hotel Baltaci Atrium, which is a bit closer to the city centre than the old Baltaci.

They lost my reservation, which also happened once in old Baltaci. This never happened to my in any other hotel in the world. So the management somehow has a problem with the reservation procedure. Anyway, the lady at the reception was very friendly and because there were a lot of rooms available, it was not a problem to check in. All the staff in the hotel speak a good english, which is not always the case in Czech Republic.

The room was very spacious and comfortable. For my taste, the furniture is a bit old fashioned, but probably most of the people will like this style. There was a big flat screen tv, but the choice of tv stations was a bit limited. The other Baltaci had 2 German tv station, but the new one does not have one. Fortunately they had a very fast internet connection (cable), so I could download a few German tv shows.

The restaurant serves very good meals and the waiters are all very friendly and professional.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

We stayed at the Baltaci for 9 nights and used Zlin as a "jumping off point" for visiting central Czech Republic. We booked a superior room because we heard the beds were better in these rooms. The superior room has a bed room with a clothing wardrobe, king bed, night stands, tv and upholstered chairs. There is a seperate bath (with european shower) and sink, and the toilet is in a little room of it's own. The accomodations are very simple but comfortable and ample. The room was also very quiet as the walls are very thick. We had a baby staying next to us and never heard it unless they were in the hallway. There are no refrigerators in the rooms, but we were there in Oct so we left our drinks on the window ledge. We also bought a bucket for ice to chill items. Since we were staying for so long we invested in a hot water kettle and a couple of coffee cups we kept in our room for making coffee and tea. Though my husband went to the front desk, even in the middle of the night, and they would make him a latte or hot cocoa for no charge. On the beds they use a stretch terry cloth bottom sheet, which we found very rough. So we turned the sheet inside out, and used the back side which was less abrasive. Later I met people who had traveled in the Czech before, and had brought their own fitted king size bottom sheet from home to use. The beds also have two individual down comforters with duvet covers. We found this same thing everywhere in the Czech.

The price includes a "european breakfast" which includes breads, sliced meats, cheeses, yogurt, cereal, fruit, coffee, juice and most days scrambled eggs and sausage. You can also make a plate of food to take to your room. We were never there for lunch, but we had quite a few dinners there. Everything we tried was very good, and was reasonably priced. We especially liked the pastas and the rumpsteak. The presentation was lovely, and though the portions looked small when they arrived, we were stuffed when we left. They have a wine list (which we did not try) and they serve Kosel beer (very tasty Czech beer). They will bring dinner to your room as well if you like. A thumbs up to the restaurant, even if you are not staying at the hotel give it a try. One warning - smoking is allowed anywhere in the Czech, so the restaurant sometimes was a little smokey, even at breakfast. But that is a fact of life anywhere in the Czech.

They also have a "wellness center" which is open from 6:00 - 8:30pm every day. Guests in superior rooms do not have to pay, but in the regular room there is a fee. The center includes a steam room, dry sauna, cool plunge pool and hot tub, as well as a couple showers. There is also a meditation room - which has dim lighting, leather couches and stars on the ceiling illuminated with black light. Guests use the wellness center with or without clothing. Don't be surprised if you arrive and there are naked people using the facility. One thing I don't like about the wellness center is they play a local rock radio station on the speakers, not very relaxing. But the facility is beautiful with wood slat flooring and rock walls to give you the feeling of being in an outdoor facility. You can also pay an additional fee to use the center privately on an hourly basis.

There is one small elevator - and no stairs to drag your bags up. (All the hotels we had stayed in up to this point had elevators, but we had to take our backs up a half flight of stairs to reach the elevator - one of the drawbacks to staying in old buildings.) There is a small, free, off street parking lot outside the building. It is tight, but we always found a spot. And a great service they offer is that they will wash clothing for guests for free. You just need to give them at least 24 hours since they don't have dryers and air dry all the laundry. This is a terrific service since laundry mats are almost impossible to find in the Czech.

The hotel is located is a residental area, you are surrounded by apartment buildings and private homes, so the neighborhood is quiet and safe. In the mornings out our window we watched people walking their dogs and woman walking their babies in strollers. There is a train track about 2 blocks away, but when the windows were closed we could not hear the train. Even when we could hear it, it was not very loud, and sort of add to the charm. There is a small local grocery store about 2 blocks away that has a post box and sells postage stamps. The hotel is also less then a block away from a small river, which is picturesque, and locals stroll up and down the walkways on the river too. We had a car (which I would highly reccomend) so we were only mintes way from a large shopping center with a very large grocery store.

The staff was courteous, and the people who could speak English were very helpful. But they did appreciate when we used the few words and phrases we learned in Czech. The hotel is also about a ten minute walk from the "heart" of town with the main square, lots of restaurants and shopping. The guests we met were mostly business travelers, and only a few leisure travelers. Overall I would reccomend this hotel and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baltaci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baltaci

Address: U Nahonu 3946, Zlin 760 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > Zlin Region > Zlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Zlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Baltaci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baltaci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.