We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic area, fantastic guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Sixty North

Adventure Sixty North
31872 Exit Glacier Road/Herman Lierer Road, Seward, AK 99664
+1 907-224-2600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 48 Activities in Seward
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adventure Sixty North LLC sea kayaking adventures in Seward, Alaska offers guided sea kayaking tours in Bear Glacier, Resurrection Bay,Aialik Bay and also sea kayak rentals, Bicycle rentals, camping gear rentals. Adventure Sixty North provides ice hiking trips on Exit Glacier and Bear Glacier in the Kenai Fjords National Park. Join us in our half-day paddles, full day paddles and multi-day paddles. Let our guides show you the largest glacier in the Kenai Fjords National Park, Bear Glacier Kayaking and Helicopter flight seeing! Best experiences! Best service! We cater to smaller groups, family paddles, and the adventurous spirit! We now have adaptive paddle gear for special needs adventurers.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic area, fantastic guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We took the overnight into Aialik Bay, and the trip ended up being one of our favorite experiences during our 10 days in Alaska. Much of that praise goes to our awesome guide - Sol - who was so knowledgeable about the wildlife, kayaking, and just general outdoorsmen-ship. We learned so much, saw so much, and had an awesome time. Adventure60North was also really accommodating since we didn't know what exact time we would arrive on the day before the trip.

Definitely recommend going with this company, and recommend requesting Sol if you can!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    11
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moline, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bear lake kayaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

It was a very windy and rainy day so we had to adjust plans and go to Bear Lake and calmer waters. We had a group of 8, in double kayaks with 2 guides. We got a lesson in safety and paddling first. Spent a couple of hours on the lake with one stop for hot chocolate and snacks. I know have a new favorite thing to do - kayaking. Thanks so much!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quiet morning for reflecting and peace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The crew at Adventure Sixty North is outstanding. We came to visit my brother in Seward and wanted to take a short Kayak trip. We decided on the four hour trip in Resurrection Bay. Even though it doesn't have the glamour of the larger glacier trips, I would recommend this trip to just enjoy the surrounding bay and area. While in the bay, we saw porpoises, eagles and the glacier on the other side of the bay. James was great with the family and very informative. The snack and coffee break on the beach of Bridal Veil falls was very relaxing. If you just want a short relaxing trip, this is the one to take. Thanks again to the staff at Adventure Sixty North.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very professional and just a flat out amazing time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Me and my family did the Upper trail hike and kayaking out to Kanes head with Adventure Sixty North. Over all it was just a flat out once in a life time experience! Got to see the beautiful picturesque Alaska that you see all the post cards of and Adventure Sixty North was the best company to do it with. Wouldn’t go anywhere else and highly recommend them to anyone trying to see this beautiful state. Our guide was Racheal Taylor for both days and she was just amazing!! She was so knowledgeable/professional and so good about catering to us and our needs making sure we had the best experience possible throughout the whole trip. Over all everyone there really takes care of you and they run like a well-oiled machine. Never stressful for you so all you got to do is enjoy yourself!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bear Glacier Paddle Worth the Extra Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I wanted to do something memorable with my dad and his fiancé while they were visiting. My dad is not a super stable kayaker and has a history of flipping over, but I figured he would be okay in a double kayak. I called Adventure 60 North and they had a trip going out to Bear Glacier, which involves a helicopter ride. I knew it was more expensive because you have to be transported to Bear Glacier Lagoon via helicopter but it sounded like something exciting. And it was!
The helicopter took us up over the snow capped peaks and we had a beautiful view of Resurrection Bay. Once we dropped over the other side of the mountains we had an amazing view of Bear Glacier - the largest glacier in Kenai Fjords National Park. We saw huge ice bergs floating in the calm lagoon beneath us and landed on the beach, where our kayaks and guides were waiting for us.
Once we geared up, we got into our double kayaks and paddled around with giant ice bergs, curious harbor seals, and as close to the face of Bear Glacier as was safe to get.
It was an incredible trip, and I'm glad we did it. It is a once in a lifetime thing and my dad is still bragging about it to everyone back home :)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Sixty North also viewed

 

Been to Adventure Sixty North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Sixty North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.