We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rich history & Cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seward

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seward to your Saves list
Hotel Seward
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Seward
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Rich history & Cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

A great community of people here.
Best Western recommended here because they accept dogs.
Grateful for the recommendation, upon walking in you are embraced by the incredible history of this town and all the great people it took to create it.
Love the way the current owners Mary & Mark honor the previous owner Ms. Gene with the restaurant and memorabilia.
Room, customer service is great and location spectacular.
A definite place we would return to.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, Owner at Hotel Seward, responded to this review, March 9, 2015
Dear Kim, Thank you, it is always our intention to make our guest stay enjoyable and share Seward's rich history with them. I appreciate the time we had to visit. It is always helpful when we get input to help give our guest a better experience. If you have any suggestions, please send them to me. Hope to see you again, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    112
    41
    22
    13
See reviews for
94
144
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenai, Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

My lady and I spent a wonderful January weekend here. Because of the time of year we basically had the beautiful Hotel Seward to ourselves. The front desk agent gave us a very nice warm greeting. The lobby is great, such personality and charm. Our room was perfect, clean and inviting. Hotel Seward is in a perfect location, walking distance to the Sea Life Center and numerous local shops. Friday night we had a night cap at the hotels quaint bar and had a nice conversation with the bartender. We met Jeff, the main chef of the hotel, what a character he is...a chef among chefs. He made us a special bacon stuffed shrimp appetizer on Saturday night that I must recommend to anyone who visits, and the entrees were superb. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is going to visit Seward, I know that we will be back in the Summer.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, Owner at Hotel Seward, responded to this review, January 28, 2015
Robert, Thank you sincerely, we try our best to have staff that makes you feel at home. Chef Jeff is a wonderful new addition to our family. Please say hi when you stop in again, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

Spent two nights here,as we were coming to the end of a wonderful trip,very nice and friendly staff,room was of good size,nice and clean,great location to wander around town,close to some great little bars,would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

We had the big corner room with the excellent view, a fireplace, plush antique looking chairs, and art deco lamp shades. The room was comfortable and quiet, and the staff was all friendly and helpful. We met the owners as we left, very nice people. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We had a terrific meal one evening and met lots of interesting people in the restaurant. Food and service are top rate, there is a lot of original art and period photography all over the restaurant. The staff will let you walk around and take pictures, and it was their great attitudes that brought us back for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Stay in this hotel for an authentic Alaskan experience with perks. This is a nicely restored historic hotel in the best location in Seward. The extended family that operates the hotel are an Alaskan treasure on to themselves. Great service, no request too small. Rides to and from train station and drop sites for tours, no problem. Keep your sense of humor and watch Northern Exposure tv episodes before you go. I would love to return for a longer stay. Put Seward and the Seward Hotel on your bucket list.

Room Tip: take what you are assigned and be surprised. This is not the Ritz, it is what you come to alaska to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Room was quite comfortable but there are issues with the plumbing this is probably due to the age of the building.
Housekeeping leaves a lot to be desired, items found in draws, namely a big bag of medication from the previous occupant, the attitude of staff when this was brought to their attention.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, Manager at Hotel Seward, responded to this review, October 15, 2014
Dear Guest, I apologize that you had any issue when you where here in June. Unfortunately plumbing can be an issue that can only be fixed when the problem occur. We do try to fix them as quickly as possible, but if we cannot get it to repeat it may take more then 1 try. We always try to do something as a courtesy for any of our shortcomings too make an adjustment for the inconvenience, once brought to our attention. My goal is that the staff recognizes and responds appropriately to a guest concerns. I am sorry to hear a housekeeper would made an error in checking the drawers or that the notice of the error did not seem to be address correctly. I appreciate your input and I will continue to work with all the staff, in training them to show the care each guest deserves. Sincerely my best, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seward

Address: 221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Seward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Seward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seward, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.