We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time staying” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seward

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seward to your Saves list
Hotel Seward
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Seward
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Second time staying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Check was super easy, it was quiet and clean. We stayed for what night with three kids. The kids loved it, the beds were super comfy. And the price was much better than some of the big box neighbors. And of course the kids love the lobby with the taxidermy animals they can pet. We loved not having to drive to the restaurant and Sea Life center after a long car ride there, we just walked around downtown. I always put a critique in my review, so I found something. The side door we went in and out of had a puddle in front of it, so we had to do a little stretch to get over it. I understands its Alaska and we can't control the freezing ground, but I had to find something for them to improve!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    111
    41
    22
    13
See reviews for
94
142
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the a Hotel Seward and would definitely stay there again. We stayed in the Executive King View room and it was wonderful - esp. the comfortable bed. Staff was very friendly and helpful too.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ks
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Seward. The room was very comfortable. The staff were very helpful. There are lots of interesting buildings and walk routes to explore, and the Sea Life Center is just around the corner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Alaska is expensive... and I knew when we booked this place that it was "old school" and we would have to share a bathroom. We were encouraged by the good reviews on trip advisor. Unfortunately I still didn't feel that it was worth $100 a night in the off season.

Problems: The walls are paper thin; one of the two bathrooms on our floor had a very difficult lock which is hard to navigate when half asleep; there is no "do not disturb sign to place on the door; the bed is way too soft; the cleaning staff use very smelly products which gave me a head ache.

Plusses: The staff really are wonderful; The lobby is like a museum for taxidermy

Room Tip: Room 201 is right over the bar and very loud on weekend nights but the internet works in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Fishing with the hotel's resident guide Wes was fantastic. He is an exceptional guide because he understands customer service and adapts the day to best fit his clients. Despite horrible weather, Wes had us catching fish and having a blast. Wes made sure it wasn't *only* about catching fish - it was about enjoying the overall experience of being out on the river. This was our first time fishing with fly rods, but with Wes's patient instructions, even my 9-year old daughter had it down pat in no time. The day with Wes was the highlight of our trip. I can't WAIT to get back and fish with Wes again next summer! We didn't stay at the Hotel Steward but judging from our first impressions of the location, building, very cool lobby, and very friendly front desk staff, we definitely would stay there if not for the special deals for military we get at the nearby Seward Military Resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We live in Alaska and have spent many nights in Seward, but until last weekend we had never stayed at the Hotel Seward. We have missed “the boat.” This locally owned hotel is clean, friendly, and wonderfully convenient. The cost was not that much more than the local chains, and the customer service definitely made up for it. We had two delightful breakfasts at the hotel. The Hotel Seward will be our first choice from this point forward when we are in Seward.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights Sept 5&6 in a queen executive room. While the decor in the hotel is very busy we enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was spacious and quiet, bed was fine. Hotel staff was kind and helpful. We ate breakfast here both mornings and it was wonderful, we were waited on by Shelly and Mike who were great. We didn't eat dinner here...we ate at Apollos and Christos, both were very good. Close to Alaska sealife center and small boat Harbour for excursions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seward

Address: 221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Seward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Seward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seward, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.