We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seward

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seward to your Saves list
Hotel Seward
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Seward
San Antonio, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unique Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here for two nights prior to getting on our cruise and I was pleasantly surprised by how fun this hotel was! It is definitely an older hotel but has tons of charm. The rooms were perfect for what we needed...a place to sleep and clean up. The food at the restaurant was great for dinner and breakfast! The person we enjoyed the most was Jamie! He was the jack of all trades here and had quite the personality! One of our favorite people we met along our whole trip actually!

Would definitely recommend to friends as this was unique place to say in just a great little town!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    112
    41
    22
    13
See reviews for
94
144
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This is our second trip to Seward, but our first at this hotel. The woman who checked us in was anything but cheery so that wasn't a good start. However, it got better. The room was nice, by Alaskan standards. The lobby was impressive with all of the trophys displayed--only one missing was a wolf! There is a gym next door, which my daughter enjoyed and it's complementary for guests of the hotel. Parking was plentiful but it is a little bit of a walk to the docks. However, there are ample resataurants from which to choose in close proximity. All in all, a good choice!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Location, location, location! We loved quirky downtown Seward, right near the inlet and aquarium. Everything was within walking distance. The hotel and rooms were clean, comfy and homey, adorned throughout with local flair. Friendly and helpful staff; family owned and run. We don't think better accommodations can be found elsewhere, unless you want a typically cookie-cutter bland modern hotel. The attached restaurant serves delicious homemade meals. You really experience the culture of Alaska at the Seward Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor facing the street. Quiet and best view of the inlet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The best thing about Hotel Seward was its price. We paid $109 per night for a 3 night stay. We stayed in the older half of the hotel, which has "Euro-style" bathroom facilities. This means that there isn't a bathroom in each room (though there is a sink). Instead there are two bathrooms across the hallway that are used by the entire floor. I think there are twenty to thirty rooms on the flloor, we didn't have any issues about being able to access the bathrooms when we needed to.

We found Alaska to be very expensive. Hotel Seward was the cheapest place we stayed, so that is a major plus.

The biggest negative is that the doors latch and slam loudly. Because everyone gets up at various times in the night to use the bathroom, if you are a light sleeper, you will hear the doors as they slam shut (apparently, no one ever considers closing their door softly.)

The staff is friendly and our room was clean. We did not eat here.

Hotel Seward is located in the older section of Seward, near the end of land. The boat docks are all at the harbor, about half a mile away. The old section of Seward has a nice small park on the waterfront, an aquarium with marine life, and some shops and restaurants. The rest of the shops and restaurants are located near the harbor, where all the boat cruises launch from.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, Owner at Hotel Seward, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review of the Historic Wing. I appreciate the issue with the doors and do think that most people try to be considerate as they realize they are the original door with the older key locks. Also, I wanted to explain that there 16 rooms on the 2nd floor. Only 8 rooms that use the 2 public bathrooms on the second floor. The other rooms have there own bathrooms. Our goal is that overall each guest have a good experience. This side is a walk back in time and when you choose rooms without baths it does limit your conveniences. I am glad we had a price that fit your needs. Appreciate you time, Mary
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I found it a very nice hotel our room was clean & comfortable. Staff was very friendly. It is close to all of downtown. I will choose it again if I go back. The restaurant had great breakfast loved the reindeer sausage was fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

In our travels, we found this hotel to be the best. Nobody can say it is dirty. I saw the room attendants on her hands and knees cleaning the bathroom floors. Our room was large and the bed was to die for. All the special little things for the guests makes it so unique. We had three wonderful meals in the restaurant. The staff makes you feel very welcome. The owners go above and beyond to make it a pleasurable stay. There are not enough stars on here to rate. Be sure to look all around for history memorabilia!

Room Tip: The rooms are large on the new side but they are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I would not recommend this place. The bathrooms were nasty. The restroom down stairs were the restaurant is also nasty. I don't have any problem with using shared bathrooms. But this was not nice. The lounge downstairs is cute and I liked food at Mrs. Jeans too. But not worth the nasty bathrooms for the money we paid here and it was not cheap.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary K, Owner at Hotel Seward, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest, I apologize that we failed you and the bathrooms were not maintained appropriately at the time of your stay. It is always our intention to keep the hotel in good order and I will work harder at not failing in the future. Sincerely, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seward

Address: 221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Seward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Seward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seward, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.