We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Executive view room was delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seward

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seward to your Saves list
Hotel Seward
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Seward
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Executive view room was delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights before our cruise, arriving via train from Anchorage. We got to the hotel around noon and were told our room was ready. The lobby area is very interesting, take some time to check it out. We were given a room on the first floor that had one queen bed with a couch and sitting area with no view. The room was pleasant enough but I thought I remembered we were supposed to have 2 queen beds and a view. We ran out for as few minutes then I checked our itinerary when we returned. It indicated that we were supposed to be in an Executive View room with a fireplace and other nice extras. We took the itinerary to the front desk, they realized their error and reassigned to the appropriate room that was wonderful! It had a king bed, bay window, fireplace, and beautiful décor. There was a long countertop with a sink and microwave in our room and a rainshower head in the bath, We enjoyed the location of the hotel being close to the Sea Life Center, waterfront, several shops and restaurants. There was a free shuttle or taxis available if you wanted to venture further away.
We ate one dinner and one breakfast at the hotel restaurant and found the food to be good and fairly priced. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly. There is a washer and dryer that cost $2.00 each which we used to wash our clothes from our first week which greatly saved on the amount of clothing and luggage we had to bring.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    111
    41
    22
    13
See reviews for
94
142
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Seward prior to taking a cruise back down to Vancouver, and found it friendly and comfortable - as long as you're not put off by the menagerie of stuffed animals in the foyer (in which case, you're not going to feel at home in Alaska!) Shelley who cooks and serves the breakfasts was just lovely, but the person who really made our stay was Wes, the resident fishing guide. He's a larger-than-life character and very knowlegeable about not only fishing but just about anything local you're curious about.

He overheard in the hotel foyer that I wanted to go on a trail ride and really went the extra mile to try to make it happen; when it didn't (not his fault) he offered to take us out to the salmon weir as a small compensation, no charge. It was a generous offer and gift of his time, and we appreciated it as well as finding the outing interesting and enjoyable. If you want to go fishing, he's your man, no question.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

nd Area in Alaska. Hotel Seward was one of the hot spots for us. It felt very quirky in its décor. Reminded us both of Northern Exposure which started us on this quest years ago. Taxidermy everywhere as well as photos of the hotels 100 year old history. Who wants Best Western Banality when you can have all this charm! The amenities include the best mattress we have slept on in Alaska,(the owner told us they were brand new pillow tops) refrig in the room, beds turned down at night, but the best was the staff who would do ANYTHING for you and were full of local lore.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the stree...and the mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed there one night. There were two options a room with your own bathroom and a room with a shared bathroom. We choose the room with the shared bathroom. Although it was an older part of the building it was extremely clean and well cared for. The shared bathrooms were both very clean and well maintained.
The hotel is downtown and close to the brewery. Our room had a view of the bay. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. It is a short walk to the bay. There was a vast amount of historical pictures and things to read about Seward and we really enjoyed our stay because I felt like I was in a room that was very typical of travelers who would stay in a room on there way to their destination. Meaning they had to share the bathroom down the hall.

On a side note: There is no swimming pool, I am not sure why this site wants me to rate it.

Room Tip: Only a fan in the shared bathrooms area. No air conditioner if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Both nights we ate in their on site restraurant. Jamie was very helpful and friendly. We had the spinach salad with shrimp and scallops, delicious! Front desk staff was also accommodating. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Located in the downtown part of Seward, this hotel is within walking distance of many shops and restaurants, although not near the marina. We stayed in the Alaska wing, not the historic one. Rooms are small and unremarkable but comfortable and although it was warm when we were here, the breeze off the bay and a really nice room fan kept us comfortable enough to sleep. I did notice a great room (peeked in while it was being cleaned) and it had a big King bed, sitting area with fireplace and great views of the bay--Room 333. The downstairs lobby was an interesting sort of mini-museum, with photos of early Seward and all kinds of stuffed animals/animal heads representing most of the species of Alaskan wildlife. This is a nice hotel, but I would try to stay at the Best Western first, as they have killer views of the bay from every room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a must in the area. Our room was extremely comfortable. We booked an executive king. They even had robes in the room. The staff was very welcoming and we would like to go back for the comfort and hospitality.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seward

Address: 221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Seward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Seward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seward, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.