We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had some major issues with this place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seward

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seward to your Saves list
Hotel Seward
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Seward
Monument, Colorado
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“We had some major issues with this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I would not stay here at all. I would usually never write a review this bad, but the way this place is run merits a terrible review. I think the owner needs to train the staff and also teach them some professionalism and ethics.

For a better value and stay, go to the Exit Glacier Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    111
    41
    22
    13
See reviews for
94
142
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were fortunate to win a raffle ticket for a two night stay at the Hotel Seward with a fishing trip with Wes added in. At no point in our trip were we treated differently because we had a complimentary room. We stayed in a deluxe room (with a bathroom) and although the view was nothing special the room itself was fantastic. The staff were friendly and helpful and even when we did experience an issue they went out of their way to accomodate us and resolve the issue. We met up with Wes the Fish Slayer and had such a brilliant time with this incredible "character". I caught my first ever fish and he made me feel like I had won the lottery. We ate breakfast in the hotel's restaurant and I was limited to waffles as the options were not as wide and varied as I would have liked. Overall we would thoroughly reccomend the Hotel Seward and would definitley recommend Wes the Fish Slayer!

Room Tip: The deluxe room we stayed in has it's own bathroom, if you are private people this is the way to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stopped at the seaward hotel for 5 days in August . The twin room was shoe box size with a worn carpet , the bathroom was so small with a tiny hand basin and a standard shower.
The restaurant service was very slow , the food was fair to poor for main meals , the sweets were good. The entertainment was good on 2 nights with the other 2 nights fair.
There was an incident on the last night between the cheff and a coach driver who was defending one of his clients which required a police visit on the morning of departure.The hotel management i understand had little option but to terminate the employment of the cheff. Our overall opinion was that this hotel left an awfull lot to be desired and we will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My son&I stayed there for one night with my 3lbs yorkie.Front desk were very friendly&helpful. but they didn't have name tag so i couldn't tell who. we checked in 1st floor&bathroom was dirty so I wrote Manager how helpful they are but bathroom cleanness needs improving. room was very nice. very comfortable pillow top bedding. next morning, when i checked out, front ops manager Mary came by and subtracted some pet fee/house keeping error fee. I thanked her for that. yes, hotel was full, however we local Alaskan pay top dollar for the room, we'd expect bed and bathroom to be excellent/sparkly clean. I gave management AAA++++ for follow up on the guest like us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I think this is the last time my friend and I will stay in a hotel with shared bathrooms. After my shower I went to clean my hair out of the shower drain and pulled out the hair of who knows HOW many other people plus a piece of broken glass. OK, I didn't HAVE to do that, but I felt like I should clean up after myself -- apparently no one else feels that way. But the room was comfortable enough, the staff friendly and the location convenient to restaurants and shops and to the Sea Life Center. We never tried the restaurant in the hotel but later read online that it was considered good.

Room Tip: You might save $50 by getting a room with shared baths, but there are only two baths for several roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We arrived at the Hotel Seward in July on a typical Alaskan day of rain and fog.
We were met at the train by the hotel's van and while our room was not ready to be occupied as it was only noon, we were warmly created by the hotel staff.
Our luggage was safely stowed and they arranged for us to strike out to tour Exit Glacier, all suited up in our Gortex rain gear and hiking boots...
We returned later to our wonderfully appointed room, had a superb dinner in the hotel's restaurant, including King Salmon that was delicious!
We ate in the bar area, met many interesting people and were very well attended by the staff.
The owner drove us to meet our boat the next morning, after a hearty breakfast.
Just a wonderful experience!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This hotel was one of our least favorites on our trip to Alaska. Yes - we have been lucky enough to stay in some very nice and warm welcoming hotels and b&b and maybe that is what increases this feel. However, our general feeling was that the price/quality ratio is not so good and that the people here were not as welcoming as in other places. Rooms were clean and quite. The location is good. Nothing to critisize - nothing to rave about. Ok.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seward

Address: 221 5th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Seward 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Seward reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seward, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.