We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice quite cabin, away from town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Allens Alaska Adventures

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allens Alaska Adventures
Blk 1, Lot 4 Lost Lake Sub., Seward, AK 99664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 39 Specialty lodging in Seward
Israel
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“nice quite cabin, away from town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

I booked this cabin because of the reviews and the description of the hospitality of Joe. During the two nights we stayed there, we haven't seen Joe even once. His son took care of all the details, but we basically had to figure out everything for ourselves, not that there was much to figure out. The cabin itself is outside the town of Seward, and you, of course, need a car to get there. It is relatively clean and has every basic thing you need (we even spent one morning watching the final of the World Cup on the tiny TV). I am not sure how the prices compare to staying in town, but overall, it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoatAk, Owner at Allens Alaska Adventures, responded to this review, April 18, 2011
Yigal, I am sorry we did not get a chance to meet. Last year I had a VERY strange schedule. I am glad that there was not much to figure out in relation to your stay. Our goal is that you have a uncomplicated stay and find a place to relax and enjoy the quiet of of the old growth Hemlock's that surround the cabin. Although most of our guests watch very little TV due to your input we have replaced the TV with a much bigger one. I am glad that our son was able to help you out. He takes great pride in being the VP. Please come back and give us a chance to do better. Thanks... BoatAk (Joe)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We live in Anchorage Alaska but need to get out of the city sometimes. Joe and TJ are wonderful hosts! The Cabin is clean and beautifully decorated. The cabin also has all the comforts of home with a lot of attention paid to detail. My son and enjoyed our stay and can not wait to return and do some more hiking.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

Our primary purpose for staying in Seward was to explore the Keenai Fjords National Park. We did not want to take a tour boat. Joe Allen provided us with a one of a kind experience. He took us on his boat. A landing craft that included a grill fro BBQing! We chased after humpback whales and watched puffins float in the water. We watched glaciers claving as Joe cooked up some cod on the grill. You can't get that anywhere else! All the while Joe Allen shared with us his truely original and unique point fo view. I feel like I made a friend for life. He stopped anywhere we wanted to and let us explore remote beaches and do some beach combing. Joe is the real deal and he made our vist to Alaska a dream come trure.
His cabin is rustic and roomy. It's on the property where he and his son TJ and their dog Scamp live. Everone is friendly and welcoming at Joe's place. You are on a back road but very close to Seward. It's no problem going into town or touring Exit Galcier from here. Joe provides a little kitchen area in the cabin for coffee and it has a microwave and small refigerator. No cooking per se but there's plenty to eat in downtown Seward. We tried Thurson's Showcase Lounge for lunch and had a "Bowl of Butt"" it was great.
No trip to Alaska is complete without meeting and riding in Joe's boat. Thanks for all the fun and all the memories!!!

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

My husband and I stayed at five b&bs on this trip and this was the first one that when we drove up he said "Now this is Alaska"! The cabin was just outside of town, which was close enough to go or get anything you need, but far enough out to feel like your in the wilderness. Joe and TJ were very friendly and knowledgable about the area. Their cabin was EXTREMELY comfortable! I did not want to get out of bed in the mornings. In fact we slept in both days we were there. There is a coffee pot with a bean grinder, microwave, small fridge and toaster. He has a gas grill available for use too. The grocery store is about 3 miles away. We made breakfast for ourself one morning and enjoyed it out on the front porch of the cabin. After breakfast we joined Joe out on his boat to Northwestern Fjord. We saw two types of whales, seals, sea lions, puffins, dolphins, did some fishing, saw a glacier - man it was a great day! I only wish we would have had more time to stay in Seward and enjoy this great jewel of a place. Thanks again Joe and TJ!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

We immediately felt WELCOME and "at home" with Joe and TJ. They go out of their way to make sure you get a real alaskian "feel" from your trip. They are so easy to talk to and my husband and I felt like we had known them for years. Yep....we make new friends!!

Thanks Joe and TJ........our trip was truly special because of you and your dog, Scamp!

The Thurman

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Joe and his son TJ have a nice one room cabin that seems to give you that real Alaska feel. We stayed four nights with them and truely made new friends. They know the area and had many recommendations. Joe let us borrow his gold pans and directed us where to go to find some gold flour (and we did). There is a coffee pot with a bean grinder, micro wave, small fridge and toaster. He has a gas grill available for use too. The grocery store is about 3 miles away. You are a very short distance from the Lost Lake trail head. If you wat to have a great adventure toalk to Joe about a package deal of staying in the cabin a few nights and chartering his 40' boat. We had a fantastic trip with him to Northwestern Fjord - we only saw one other boat there all day. Kayaking, fishing, whale watching, photography we did it all. He comes with highest recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pine hill, nj
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

This was the second time I have stayed at this cabin ---which is only a few miles outside of town. I was in contact with Joe(the owner) all winter long--helping me plan, giving me tips, and even sharing some of his pictures with me,
The cabin is pretty large--there's a nice bed, mini fridge, TV and lots of books about the area. There's a friendly dog that just wants some lovin and a couple of cats as well.It's always nice to talk to Joe, he's really knowledgeable about the area, and also has some real great stories. We wished we had more time just to here them.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Allens Alaska Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allens Alaska Adventures

Address: Blk 1, Lot 4 Lost Lake Sub., Seward, AK 99664
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 Specialty lodging in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Allens Alaska Adventures we offer our guests a quality experience. Our log cabin is a roomy 16X24 and will sleep up to 4 people comfortably with all the needed amenities. You will be charmed by the wilderness decor and amazed at the peace and quiet. We border the 5.5 million acre Chugach National Forest. A short walk away is the Lost Lake Trail which offers stunning views of Seward and Resurrection Bay. We are only minutes from Seward yet, remote enough to see bears in the summer and moose in the winter. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allens Alaska Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Allens Alaska Adventures to your Saves list