We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Stay at the Bear Paw” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Paw Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bear Paw Lodge
Save
You added Bear Paw Lodge to your Saves list
10411 Bear Paw Drive, Seward, AK 99664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Excellent Stay at the Bear Paw”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

We were down in Seward for our Wilderness Medical Recert and stayed at the Bear Paw. It really felt like being at home due to the hospitality of the owners, Wendy & Dave. We had full use of the kitchen, room in the fridge and room in a cabinet for our food. It was very clean and comfortably furnished. Best of all was the outdoor hot tub! I'd recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
55
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

We had a wonderful stay at the Bear Paw Lodge in Seward. The lodge is a new log building with high ceilings and nice furnishings. Unlike most bed and breakfasts, the Bear Paw Lodge gives its guest access to a new, well-stocked kitchen, and we prepared two nice dinners at the lodge during our stay. The hot tub on the deck was nice, too.

We signed up for the "Adventure Package" offered by Kayak Adventures and spent one spectacular day taking a boat trip to Aialik Bay and kayaking up the fjord. The second day, we spent exploring Exit Glacier. These outings wouldn't be for everyone, especially the hike up to Exit Glacier, which had strenous parts. But if you like outdoor adventures, both were fabulous experiences.

  • Liked — The kitchen, hot tub, and nice accommodations.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2007

We are probably the first Croatians that have spent their honeymoon in Alaska. We don’t like long sandy beaches and cocktails and… So, Alaska was our choice, there was no question about it. We spent our first 3 days in the amazing Bear Paw Lodge B&B and were absolutely delighted. The house itself is a masterpiece, and the hot bath on the terrace is not bad either after a whole day of outdoor activities. But the hosts, Wendy and Dave are the main reason why we enjoyed Seward so much. Being so far away from home, we didn’t except that we would feel so much at home in any of the places we were staying. Bear Paw Lodge was really a place that we could call home. I don’t know what to point out ‘cause everything about it is just perfect. And believe me, the fact that it’s a 5-10 min drive from Seward is a bonus because you will have the chance to meet some of the most unusual cab drivers in the world. We called them nice lunatics!
So, if you are planning a trip to Seward, we are pretty sure that there is no better place to stay at.

Bruno &Maja
Zagreb, Croatia
Europe

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — Everything was great
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

This lodge was one of the highlights of our trip! This log cabin is so beautiful, and the inside is so warm, clean, and relaxing. The main living room has a large fire place, a cozy coach, and photo albums of their guided tour trips. After a two day backpacking trip that caused my muscles to ache, I was so happy to slip into their new hot tub on the cabin's large deck. Even more, my husband saw a moose walk through their property while he was relaxing in the hot tub. I feel as though I could stay there for a week and still not want to leave.

Additionally, we rented kayaks from KA's for our own four day excursion to Aialik Bay with another friend. The day before we left we took a safety class with Dave, Wendy's husband. We suited up in dry suits, went out into Reserrection Bay and practiced the correct way to paddle, turn, emergency rescue, emergency exits and reentry. Back at KA's home base he taught us among other things, how to read tide tables. I felt so prepared for our trip.

Another great amenity about the lodge is that it has a full kitchen. I bought food at the grocery store and pre cooked our dinners for the three nights that we were going to be out so all we had to do was heat them up.They even provided cereal and milk, yummy muffins, coffee, etc. in the morning, spices, and other refrigerated and dry goods for us to use at our disposal.

I will definately use Bear Paw Lodge, as well as Kayak Adventures, again. Thank you both Wendy and Dave!

  • Liked — Fabulous Hospitality, Full Access to Kitchen, Hot Tub, Wildlife
  • Disliked — No Cell Coverage except for Alaskan Native Cell Service, Bring a calling card
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

My wife and I did a 3 day Kayak trip with KAW and stayed the night before we left and the night we got back from our trip at the Bear Paw Lodge. Everything was great. The lodge was clean and spacious and you get to visit with fellow travelers staying there. The price was also great. The Kayaking trip was definatly the highlight of our trip. Dave our tour guide was very frindly and knowledgable. Both the lodge and kayak outfitter is owned by the same people (Wendy and Dave) They are a small business and offer great customer service. Highly recommended!

Dean and Kelly Cavalier

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

I feel lucky to have found this B&B. Great location (just a short but alway interesting cab ride from town). We did a fishing trip while in Seward and were able to grill out and enjoy some great alaskan salmon during our stay. The hot tub was a bonus and Dave and Wendy were very engaging. I would agree that the walls/floors are thin so quiet hours should be observed since most people are getting up early for tours and/or day trips.

  • Liked — Fabulous kitchen, grill, hot tub and location
  • Disliked — thin walls,
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

I knew I was going to love it from the second I drove up to the Bear Paw Lodge... I was greeted at my car door by Jax & Logan running towards me with their perky ears and their panting.... OK, so Jax & Logan are the owners dogs! I had just started my trip in Alaska, but I already missed my dog back home, so they made me feel right at home! The Lodge is HUGE, with a great living room area, then a TV/family room upstairs, complete with a computer AND INTERNET! The kitchen was also HUGE and complete with a fridge that you can store some goodies, but they also have plenty of goodies available for you too!

The lodge is a bit out of town, but it was definitely worth it! Wendy and Dave are great! They definitely know the ins and outs of the little town of Seward! They made tons of great recommendations from the hike to Exit Glacier with "the boys" to the restaurants. Of course, a stay in Seward is not complete without going kayaking! I was in Alaska for 3 weeks the kayak trip with Kayak Adventures Worldwide was one of the highlights of my trip, actually I think it was the best part of the trip! They know they best locations, have fabulous guides and safety is always a top concern.

You can't go wrong with Wendy and Dave no matter if you are thinking of staying at the Bear Paw Lodge or kayaking with them through the Alaska wilderness! Although I can't wait to go back to Alaska, I hope my next trip with them will be on their kayaking trip to Thailand!

Enjoy your stay!

  • Liked — It's
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Paw Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Paw Lodge

Address: 10411 Bear Paw Drive, Seward, AK 99664
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful log home was hand-made over a period of ten years, and sits in a quiet wooded setting just north of town. We have 4 rooms, a full kitchen, common living areas, internet, a grill, and a hot tub. We live at the lodge, in a separate, detached apartment, and are happy to help with local information. As of 2015, we will only be renting out the entire house as one unit. The cost for this is $600 / night during the summer season, and $500 / night during shoulder seasons. The house can accommodate up to 10 people. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Paw Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.