We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sourdough Sunrise B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sourdough Sunrise B & B
Save
You added Sourdough Sunrise B & B to your Saves list
mile 0.2 Old Exit Glacier Rd, PO Box 1813, Seward, AK 99664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 52 Seward B&B and Inns
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Perfect B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Nice house, nice room, the best breakfast! You can't miss it! Will stay there again next time!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    12
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
43
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Sourdough Sunrise is, by far, the finest B&B I have ever stayed in. Between the gorgeous woodland setting, the beautiful custom woodwork, the clean and comfortable rooms, the finest sourdough pancakes I have ever tasted, and the warmth and hospitality of our hosts Richard and Sue, this place is a true gem! We had a great time and can't wait to go back. I would highly recommend this as the place to stay in Seward.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Beautiful building and rooms, and exceptionally clean and well kept. Very nice, friendly hosts. Sue left us a very nice continental breakfast when we had to leave very early for a boat trip. The next morning we were able enjoy the pancake breakfast, which was delicious. The only problem we had was noise from the occupants of the other rooms. A family was staying in one of the rooms, and evidently was not accustomed to staying in a B&B, as they made no effort to keep their voices down, etc. Kids were running up and down the stairs, etc. The owner does have a quiet time of 10pm posted and they did quiet down at 10pm. I would recommend Room 3, as I think it would be the quietest. Room 1 is at the top of the stairway, so you get that noise, as well as any talking downstairs seemed to funnel up the stairway.

Room Tip: Request Room 3. It is the largest, and probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Found the Sourdough B&B using Tripadvisor.

Disclaimer on this review: I've stayed around the world in B&B so I've seen some phenomenal B&B's (some only costing $75 per night)!

We stayed in bedroom #1. The room was small, yet sufficient. It's a cute little house, clean, 3 bedrooms, all of which are upstairs. The owners must live close by.

Pros-- quiet, off of the beaten path. Outside of town, so if you want to walk to downtown Seward, you need to get in your car.
- Great sundeck.
- Breakfast was really good (sourdough pancakes) and the host was a really nice guy. The hospitality was appreciated.
- Clean and pretty quiet

Cons
- The bathroom is kinda funky in room #1.
- Not much in terms of toiletries (bring your own shampoo and soap).
- Beds and sheeting were a little.....old. I've slept in better. Probably time for some new sheets and bedding.

All in all a nice place....I've stayed in some B&B's with the wow factor -- that's what I look for. At $150 a night the price was about average relative to what I've seen at other B&B's. Nice place, was sufficient, cute.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011 via mobile

There are three rooms in this B&B. We stayed room 3 and our friends stayed in room 2. Rates were the same but the rooms weren't. 3 is relatively large and 2 is small with minimal space for bags. No hanging space.

The design of the place means sloping walls which further constricts the space.

There is no public space to speak of. The two choices are in tour room or go somewhere else. The breakfast room downstairs is locked except for breakfast.

The "hosts" live in the buildn behind. They did not greet us. Instead there was a sign telling us our room assignment. We first et te host at breakfast the next AM.

Breakfast was sourdough pancakes and bacon both mornings.

Bes part was a moose and calf just outside the first morning.

Hard to find as GPS was wrong on road layout.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We met with friends and were impressed with the cleanliness of the room. This is one of the biggest pluses for me when staying in a hotel or B&B. The sourdough pancakes were delicious and the owners were very friendly and welcoming. Only complaints were the flannel sheets in July with no air conditioning, no irons and no internet access. However we were extremely happy with everything else and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This B&B is one of a kind and the hospitality is amazing!!! It was wonderful to have the house separate from the owners dwelling, and they were more than willing to sit down at breakfast and visit for as long as the conversation allowed. We loved the stories told from long time Alaskans. The craftsmanship in the B&B is truly a work of art, Richard is an amazing carpenter who's dedication to quality work is evident throughout the house and property. The room was perfect in size, the beds were wonderfully comfy, the bathroom was roomy, and we had all the ammenities that we wanted at our fingertips. Breakfast was offered at a time that was convenient for us which we thought was a wonderful touch and the sourdough pancakes were truly one of a kind, we could eat them every day for weeks and never get bored. We loved this B&B and can't wait to return again and again. This is a wonderful place for families, couples seeking a romantic retreat, and travelers of all ages who want a quiet piece of true Alaskan hospitality!!! I would HIGHLY recommend this B&B!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sourdough Sunrise B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sourdough Sunrise B & B

Address: mile 0.2 Old Exit Glacier Rd, PO Box 1813, Seward, AK 99664
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful, custom, one-of-a-kind bed and breakfast on 6 1/2 acres of wooded seclusion, just minutes from downtown Seward. Clean modern rooms with private baths and deluxe queen-size beds. World famous sourdough pancake breakfast served every morning along with great stories about 35 years of living in the Great Land. Come join us for some true Alaskan hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sourdough Sunrise Hotel Seward
Sourdough Sunrise Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sourdough Sunrise B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.