We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holgate Glacier

Holgate Glacier
Kenai Peninsula, Seward, AK 99664
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 30 things to do in Seward
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Paris, IL
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We saw lots of wild life and made wonderful friends on the cruise. The food was great and we especially enjoyed the Arctic ice drinks.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    16
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beulah, North Dakota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The view of this river of ice cascading into the ocean is breathtaking. You will remember this view as one of the highlights of your trip to this area.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a beautiful glacier!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

On a 6 hour national park boat cruise through Resurrection Bay we stopped at Holgate Glacier. I got to see it calving. It was one of the best experiences of my life.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Almost spiritual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Pulling up to this glacier, turning off the engines and listening to the glacier was almost a spiritual experience for me. You could hear the glacier pop, crack, see it calve - it was a moment when I was in awe of God's creation.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We took the five-hour National Parks Cruise and were delighted to see Holgate Glacier actually calving when we cruised by. The sound and the sight of it was breath-taking

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holgate Glacier also viewed

 

Been to Holgate Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holgate Glacier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.