We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Oysters and king crab” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant

Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant
1404 4th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
+1 907-224-2207
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 43 Restaurants in Seward
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Doing business, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Caves Beach,Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Go for the Oysters and king crab”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My wife and I had lunch yesterday..So good went for dinner as well and duplicated lunch
Oysters are Jakolov ( small but wonderful flavour and texture).Oyster lovers will be excited
Followed with one pound serve of king crab kegs. These are served with usual crackers to break at joints..then great scissors to cut up length of legs ( works so well) Recommend you have the Sonoma Cutrer Chardonnay ..perfect with the oysters and crab. You will not be disappointed

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cfseward, General Manager at Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you so much for coming in multiple times this week and for your positive review. We truly enjoyed serving you and hope you'll come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    226
    88
    33
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We had a very helpul server and enjoyed the perfectly cooked halibut dinner special. I read about patrons complaining over prices in Alaska and I guess it is about expectations. People that believe they are paying Ritz prices have never been to the Ritz. The quality of food, atmosphere and service should be your drivers. This establishment gives you all that! Well done!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

We read the reviews in Trip Advisor and ate here last night- unfortunately. The local produce from the sea is terrific, but this place does not know how to cook it. Both my razor clam starter and the halibut main course were heavily coated in breadcrumbs with a heavy garnish, so the tastes of the fish were swamped and could have been anything. The lemon meringue desert was awful. The service was friendly but sloppy. There are far better restaurants in Seward just a few doors away. I do not often leave negative comments, but this time felt it was necessary.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dbseward, Owner at Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for your visit. All our menu items are clearly described as breaded or not. If you picked the Special it was described by our waitstaff. If you had any questions regarding the breading did you ask the waitstaff? Did you bring it to their attention that you were in anyway unhappy? IF we hear of any customer that is unhappy with the meal, no questions asked we take care of it for you. Most of our menu selections do not feature breading. you happen to pick the two that did. We go to great lengths and cost to bring to our guests the very best fresh seafood that is sourced locally. What we cant do is read minds. please let the staff know of your dissatisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A great choice for food and view ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We stopped here for lunch and were very pleased. We say at the window and the view of the boats, glaciers and mountains were stunning. We had the smoked scallop mac and cheese which was an outstanding choice. My friends had the halibut blt. It was cooled perfectly. Great good, view and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tabernacle, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Halibut I've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We went to Chinooks for lunch while in Seward, and had the lunch special of Halibut over some greens, and veggies and it was THE BEST fish anywhere I have ever eaten. The kind when each bite produces a groan as you chew, it is so good. Highly recommend this if you're in Seward.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.