We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant

Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant
1404 4th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
+1 907-224-2207
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 43 Restaurants in Seward
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
St. Augustine, FL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great dinner but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My husband & I were here recently & ate at the bar since the wait was so long. Our dinners were excellent but we felt they were overpriced compared to similar restaurants.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    226
    88
    33
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Sat down for lunch after a party of 15 and our server made sure that our order got in before the large party did. The lunch was fabulous.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Ate here after an all day boat tour. Great, friendly service, clean restaurant and really good food. A lot of us had the fish and chips which were wonderful, but everyone enjoyed their food.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olmsted Falls, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“1st Visit = A / 2nd Visit = F”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

My wife and I ate at Chinooks twice in Seward. The reason for my 3 rating is due to our second visit.
1st Visit (A) - We ate dinner at Chinooks our first night in Seward. We arrived our 5 PM and got a table with a great view of the harbor. Our server was very good and the food was amazing. We started with king crab sliders which were good. I had the mac and cheese with scallops and my wife had the sable fish. Both entrees were very good but I wish I ordered the sable fish as it was really good.
2nd Visit (F) - We decided to eat dinner at Chinooks on our last day in Seward because of our first experience. It was a Wed. night around 7 PM and the restaurant was packed. We decided to sit at the bar which was a HUGE MISTAKE. The bar tender/server (Stan S.) was terrible. We wanted to order some appetizers so we could try a bunch of food and Stan kept on showing us where the entrees were and "that's where we should be looking". We ordered the clam strips, seafood chowder and ceaser salad w/ smoked salmon. He never came over to ask us if our food was good and I feel he ignored us since we didn't order any entrees. It was a bad way to end our visit to Seward.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Salmon was awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great fresh Sockeye salmon - it was a real treat. Considering that the fish come in right there at the harbor, I thought it was a little pricey, but was definitely excellent.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.