We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, alright meal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant

Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant
1404 4th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
907-224-2207
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 44 restaurants in Seward
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Morgan, TX
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great view, alright meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I drove down to Seward from Anchorage and stopped at Chinooks for a late lunch. The service was good but the food wasn't anything exceptional. The view, my picture speaks for itself.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    203
    166
    66
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Best View in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband and I had dinner here in August 2010. Don't let the front view of the restaurant fool you because this place has the best waterfront view of the Seward Harbor. We were seated on the second floor on the left side of the restaurant where not only do you get an awesome view of the harbor but also the best people-watching view.

It was an awesome experience watching people from the harbor get off their charter boats and bring their catch to a place just a little in front and to the left of Chinooks restaurant. My husband and I had a blast watching "butchers" clean the fish, as well as watching those folks who caught the biggest fish, and some of them taking pictures with their best catch.

Granted, we did not come to this restaurant to people-watch, but what we saw was some sort of entertainment that tells you more about the City of Seward.

The food was excellent (I had Halibut cheeks for the first time!). We visited with our waitress and she was very helpful in pointing out places to visit. Up to this day, I follow Chinooks Restaurant in Facebook to find out what food they feature every single time :) Pricewise, the food was worth the experience of dining here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Thought it was pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stopped here before our train ride back to Anchorage it was just ok. I'm sure the location has something to do with their prices.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best in town this year!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Food, wine and service were great! We had the risotto appetizer and the scallop mac-n-cheese, paired with a fine bottle of Malbec. It was a great way to end my day after serving my own big dinner party.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service to match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I had lunch here on our last day. We tried to eat here the night before but did not want to wait (next time I will wait). Since it was lunch, it was not too busy. Our server was prompt and courteous. The wife had the chinook (king salmon) and I had the king crab. Not especially difficult dishes but everything was prepared perfectly. Take a look at the pic, look good to you? I will visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.