We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb view, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant

Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant
1404 4th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
+1 907-224-2207
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 46 Restaurants in Seward
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“superb view, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This restaurant is at the northern end of town in the small boat harbor. We caught a seat by the window and watched the fresh catch being brought by the sport fisherman. The food was tastefully prepared and presented. Although not inexpensive, the quality was very good. Much better atmosphere overall than the historic end of town. Any tours or water taxi's leave from this area as well so it is a convenient location for a meal before or after a trip on Resurrection Bay.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    217
    87
    33
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great meal, great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband had halibut and chips and I had a salmon sandwich and they were both excellent! The view is wonderful. We enjoyed walking around the area before heading out on the Resurrection Bay cruise

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The new ownership has come up with a great menu and the place looks awesome. This is the only restaurant open year round on that side of town which is great because it is right next to my favorite hotel. This is a must eat place.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great View, good food, but not cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We came here because it was walking distance from the Holiday Inn. The view was great, and the food too.
We ordered clam chowder, salmon and halibut in season!
But it comes with a price, seafood is expensive anyways, but thought it was well worth it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchitoches, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great harbor view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Took our two grandchildren to try Halibut and Salmon.. We had a drink while they got sandwiches.. While waiting on our order we could watch the boats come in with the day catches. It was neat to watch the cleaning tables(not too close). The girls loved the halibut so we shared the salmon. Cooked very well really a neat place to go. A little pricey but worth the experience

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chinooks Waterfront Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.