We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing service while owner watched” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Christo's Palace

Christo's Palace
133 Fourth Ave, Seward, AK 99664
907-224-5255
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 46 Restaurants in Seward
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Family owned restaurant specializing in pasta,steaks,seafood,pizza, homemade specials in a casual and friendly atmosphere.We have been in business for twenty years providing year round service to the good people of Seward and visitors alike.Our hours are 11am to 10pm all year round with the exception of December when we typically close for a month for Holidays.
Franklin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very disappointing service while owner watched”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Granted it was a Sunday evening but really this was very poorly handled. We arrived for dinner at 7PM, told it would be just a few minutes for a table.... were seated and then waited and waited. Poor waitress was over whelmed and her team members were willing to help cover. Owner was sitting behind us and did nothing to improve our experience. Food was marginally prepared. We heard others really liked the place but we would NOT recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanni m, Owner at Christo's Palace, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your review...
we apologize your experience was not very pleasant, me and my wife are usually there helping and insuring things go as smooth as possible, this particular day we where out of town for some shopping for our children and restaurant.. we tried to make it back by dinner but were not able.
the older lady you saw sitting on the little table is my mother and yes she was there keeping an eye on things, im sure she would love to had help make your experience more memorable but her English is very limited and also suffers from severe back pains that limit her mobility..
I would diffinently like to be given another chance to give you the service and food we have been known for the past twenty years if you are ever in Seward again..
my name is Yanni and e-mail is manolakakis.y@gmail.com feel free to write me next time you are in town ..thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    65
    34
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Okay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Pizza was good, everything else was okay (salad, other entrees). I can't really say I could name something better in Seward though - so 'okay' isn't really a negative in this case.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanni m, Owner at Christo's Palace, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your business.
We are happy we were able to earn your thumbs up! We stride to make everyone happy.
looking forward to serving you again.

Yanni Manolakakis
Owner General Manager
Manolakakis.y@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fresh Salmon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Salmon dish was awesome.. even their pizzas were pretty good!
Good service... overall we enjoyed our dinner!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanni m, Owner at Christo's Palace, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your business.
Salmon this fresh is hard to not taste good! glad you enjoyed it.
looking forward to serving you again.

Yanni Manolakakis
Owner General Manager
Manolakakis.y@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“CRAB!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This gem of a place will make every one happy..
You want pizza? Got it!! Delish.
Pasta? Superb!!
Seafood? Fresh and not overpowered by seasonings so you can taste the sea..
Steaks? No need for knife for the prime rib can cut it with your fork..
Went there several times during our 2 week stay tried just about everything on the menu..
But the big crowd pleaser is the crab.. saw huge amounts coming out of the kitchen while I was there..big juicy legs can add them to your meal, appetizer, combination or by the bucket..yes that's right a bucket!! A big must have when in Seward ..
Service is good with local servers, nice atmosphere..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Excellent seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

One of our best meals we had in Alaska.. Best calamari ever!!
Excellent seafood and pastas.. Very good complimentary salad and breadsticks.. Prices are high but the amount of food is deffinently worth it.. Busy place good service..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Christo's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christo's Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.