We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Seward Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Seward Harbor to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Seward Harbor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1412 4th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Seward
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We spent 3 nights here whilst exploring the Seward area. The hotel is in a great location overlooking the harbour and near the restaurants. The room had enough room for our family with an extra rollaway bed. The breakfast is good and fairly standard. The staff were friendly and helpful with all our questions.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    191
    70
    13
    8
See reviews for
149
200
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Outstanding Holiday Inn. We had a King Room with a balcony right on the harbor waterfront. Superb. Large room, gret bed, and an oversized bathroom. The free breakfast beats any others I had in Alaska. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Valdez.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
599 reviews 599 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 222 cities Reviews in 222 cities
583 helpful votes 583 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Holiday Inn Express provided good accommodations for our two nights in Seward. The best feature of the room was the very comfortable king bed. The hotel has a great location on the waterfront, and we enjoyed the marina view of the harbor from our balcony both morning and evening. The furnishings are nothing special, but they are in good condition, and we had everything we needed in the room – a flat panel TV, small refrigerator, microwave, upholstered chair, desk and chair. The bathroom was large enough, very clean, and in great condition. The window curtains blocked the late-night sun, but the blinds on the balcony door did allow quite a bit of light into the room; fortunately, we had packed sleep masks.

A good, hot breakfast was provided buffet-style each morning across from the front entrance. Breakfast staff stayed busy replenishing the food as the hungry hotel guests took advantage of the complimentary meal. Of course, the wonderful cinnamon rolls were part of the breakfast.

All of the hotel staff are friendly and helpful, from the front desk staff to the maintenance man working in the hallway. Everyone obviously wanted to provide a good experience to the hotel guests.

Our only complaint was the PC provided for guest-use in the lobby. The machine is old, and the internet speed is incredibly and frustratingly slow. The speed is so slow that no one would be tempted to overstay their time on the machine.

If you don’t anticipate using the balcony, go for the less expensive mountain view room (road side); the town is small enough that road noise would not be an issue. However, with the long hours of daylight, we were very glad that we requested a harbor side room with a balcony – we enjoyed our morning coffee and evening meals on the balcony. The activity in the marina was good entertainment after our active days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel was in our package deal with two days fishing for halibut and salmon. The girl on reception the first day we arrived was very pleasant, but the lady the next day was quite rude. Asked how to catch shuttle to town. Cross road by yellow road marks. That's all she said. We went out and waited. Started raining, so went back inside. Heard this same reception lady explaining to a guy how to catch shuttle, gave him a map and time schedule. Didn't give us the time or day. The room was ok. Ended up in a wheel chair friendly room. So no bath tub for relaxing in. The curtains looked like they need renewing. Didn't meet in the middle so let the light in. Breakfast was alright. Slow catching the lift, so was quicker taking the stairs. Overall just ok.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Seward Harbor, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Julie B,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am pleased that the room accommodations lived up to your expectations. However, I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

There is not a better location to stay while in Seward. I had a room right on the water with an incredible view. The rooms are all updated and modern and the staff was very helpful. The internet was quick and reliable, which is very important to me.

Room Tip: If you can get it, make sure to get a room on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Good location on the water. Room overlooked harbor, so able to watch the boats go in and out. Morning otters in hold your interest over coffee. Beds were good and room very clean. Breakfast was very nice, plenty of variety and staff very attentive. Able to walk to kenai tour boats as well as restaurants. Parking is limited and hotel stay a bit on the pricey side, but still a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is located right on the harbor with great views of the boats and mountains. The hotel décor was nice. The room was in good condition and was very clean. Hotel staff was very nice and helpful when making recommendations for area restaurants and activities. The room charge includes a full breakfast. Within walking distance of Kenai Fjords Tours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Seward Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Seward Harbor

Address: 1412 4th Avenue, Seward, AK 99664
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Seward Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Seward Harbor is the premier Alaska travel destination.Overlooking the small boat harbor and Resurrection Bay, adventure and sightseeing opportunities abound. No trip to Alaska is complete without Seward included. From fishing charters, wildlife viewing cruises, glacier trekking and abundant hiking trails along the Kenai Peninsula, Alaska starts here. In the shadow of Mt. Marathon, overlooking the Small Boat Harbor, the Holiday Inn Express Seward Hotel, offers unequaled access to a bustling harbor and a historic downtown district brimming with art galleries and eateries. Known as the 'Gateway to Kenai Fjords National Park,' Seward is located 126 miles south of Anchorage on the Kenai Peninsula, it provides visitors with a wealth of activities from trophy sport fishing, glacier cruises, sailing, flight seeing and snow machining adventures. The hotel features include our complimentary hot breakfast bar. Our hotel also features the only hotel indoor swimming pool in Seward. We look forward to being a part of your Alaskan adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Seward Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Seward Harbor Hotel Seward

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Seward Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.