We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique” 3 of 5 stars
Review of A Swan Nest Inn

Save Saved
You added A Swan Nest Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Swan Nest Inn
504 Adams Street, P. O. Box 905, Seward, AK 99664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 51 Seward B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unique”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

A mixed bag - the homemade breakfast with freshly baked pastries was a plus, as was the beautifully carved furniture in the rooms, both made by the owner, a friendly and knowledgeable host. On the other hand, the room was smaller than any Manhattan hotel room I'd ever been in, and it wasn't cheap. Lugging luggage up a long outside staircase was difficult - no rooms on the first floor.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    39
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
32
37
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Definitely a different experience. Kind of a B&B mixed with an Inn

Heather, the manager/breakfast prep/organizer is terrific, a local Alaskan who was fun to meet

The rooms in the main Inn are tiny, with small lofts that my two kids loved. Recognize that the room is small, though it did not really bother us it may bother some. Also, you are at the mercy of the other few guests (think of it as being in one bedroom in a six bedroom house, all on one floor)--we had trouble getting to sleep one night because some people in another room were talking very loudly

There are sister properties around the corner that are like rental condos, with less character but well appointed and situated right across from the bay

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We enjoyed our stay. Excellent location; nIce, sunny breakfast room, friendly host, comfy beds, and Wi-fi. Kids liked sleeping in our room's upstairs loft. Would stay there again.
Dallas family

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lyme, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

If you only like to stay at finer hotels and resorts this place is not for you. If you are looking for a very friendly comfortable and inexpensive place to stay in Seward this is your place. The rooms are very small, and the furnishing are home made. The lofts are only about 4 feet high so crawling is a must up in the loft. The lofts would be perfect for the preteen set as they have a ladder up the wall to get up to them and would probably not be good for young children or older adults. The breakfast room is a great place to meet fellow travelers and get great tips of places to visit while in Seward. The free breakfasts consist of good bread, fresh fruit, juice and coffee. The inn is located within walking distance of most of the attractions in Seward and is in a very quiet area. The manager, Heather, is always willing to help with whatever is needed. We have stayed at the Inn twice and will stay there again next time we are in Seward.

Room Tip: We were in a room right off the breakfast room which is best for early risers as it can get a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I stayed in the Swans nest recently. I travelled to Alaska from Ireland with my girlfriend. I spent 2 weeks travelling around Alaska. A Swans Nest was our favourite accomodation out of all the places we stayed in. When we arrived in seward we did not have any accomodation booked. We decided to see what was on offer when we got there. We pulled up outside the Swans Nest. My girlfriend went to check it out and see if there was any rooms available. When my girlfriend came back out to me in the car she had a smile on her face. They had availability, the rooms were beautiful, the lounge area with the kitchen and tv were comfortable and relaxing and the staff were so so nice and welcoming.We decided to stay for 3 nights. During our 3 night stay in the Swans Nest we had a wonderful time in the accomodation and in Seward. The staff member Heather and the owner Tom could not have done any more for us. They made suggestions for things to us to do, they sat and talked to us and made us feel very welcome. When we had trouble with our hire car, they helped us to arrange an alternative car. Breakfast each morning was served in the dining room. The breakfast was beautiful and the view was stunning. The Coffee was the nicest we had in Alaska. I have travelled all around the world and there are very few places where i felt more at home than i did at the Swans Nest. I would absolutly recommend this Inn as a wonderful place to stay in the centre of seward.When i go back to Alaska i will be booking in to the Swans Nest.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We really enjoyed our 2-night stay at the Swan Nest Inn. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully decorated, and the lofts make for a fun change of pace, especially for kids. We loved the vibe -- part hotel, part B&B, part dorm room. Enjoy the ocean view from the dining room or kick back in the TV room. You can cook in the kitchen and use the laundry room for free, which is super convenient. Also convenient is the location -- Seward's restaurants and shops are right outside your door, and the small boat harbor is a beautiful 20-minute walk down the oceanside trail. Great stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I (the male part of NewOrleansBelle) found A Swann's Nest to be a fine place to stay. Great location, fine view (from some rooms and the common area), interesting history, reasonable (for Alaska) rates, helpful maps and books for hiking etc., no frou-frou to move out of the way. An informal, 'serve-yourself' kind of place.
On the other hand, the ladies may have trouble humping their bags up the stairs, and may miss the fancy soaps, elegant breakfasts etc. more normal for B&B's. They may be bothered by the lack of 'privacy' and quietness for the rooms that open onto the common/breakfast area. (That same lack of quietness can be a real help in getting one moving in the morning, so as to enjoy what you came to Alaska for - might as well stay home if you just want to sleep late.)
Overall, the place is clean and comfortable, if a bit spartan. The breakfast is 'continental' rather than B&B, but sufficient, and the fresh breads were tasty. The owner has 'salvaged' one of the oldest surviving buildings in Seward and I commend that. The floors creak a lot - either because of the age, or because there are ghosts (heard creaks that seemed to be IN the room, but with no obvious reason.) The first floor is still unoccupied, which detracts from the appearance, but someday...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Swan Nest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Swan Nest Inn

Address: 504 Adams Street, P. O. Box 905, Seward, AK 99664
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your A Swan Nest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Swan Nest Hotel Seward

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Swan Nest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.