We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seward Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Resurrection Roadhouse

Resurrection Roadhouse
31772 Herman Leirer Rd, Seward, AK 99664
+1 907-224-7116
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 43 Restaurants in Seward
Price range: $1 - $24
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Resurrection Roadhouse Restaurant is a full service restaurant and is part of The Seward Windsong Lodge. Our restaurant offers great views of the Resurrection River and the 4000ft Mt Benson. We are open for Breakfast(6am-11am),Lunch(11am-2pm) and Dinner(5pm-10),and bar service from 4pm-12am. Our Executive Chef offers a very creative menu that focus's on Alaska Seafood, and the likes to make a the majority of the items on the menu from scratch.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Seward Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

What a great surprise!! There are two eating areas- the main restaurant and the lounge (bar area). The menu is surprisingly simple and elegant. We ate in the bar because after seafood two days in a row, I wanted something more me- pizza.

We ordered the roadhouse salad as our appetizer, but the table next to us ordered the chips appetizer and we heard the crispy crunch from the next booth! We then had the Exit Glacier Pizza which was thin and crispy and so incredibly flavorful! This pizza held its crispness despite being laden with wonderful Klamata olives, crimni mushrooms, sausage and pepperoni. Even though we weren't terribly hungry, we almost finished this pizza pie! For dessert I had the S'mores, a combination of toasted marshmallow ice cream, graham cracker pop rocks (literally! I asked!) and a chocolate ganache. DH had the Chocolate Redoubt which was chocolate cake, mouse, salted caramel, and vanilla bean ice cream. Both desserts were almost as beautiful as they were delicious!!! Do not miss out on this Seward gem!
PS I keep seeing comments about how the food in Alaska is so expensive. Yes. Alaska is expensive. If you don't want to spend the money, stay in the lower 48! The beauty of Alaska far outweighs the cost of its food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    51
    29
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Modern American”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Staying at the adjacent lodge we enjoyed the road house for a breakfast and a dinner. The food was a very good balance of classic american with modern touch. The service was over all good, but seasonal, so a bit disjointed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sasolburg,South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Most of the starters have crumbs,do not know why,spoils the food and is not very tasty.Steak to big and pricy,perhaps they should have two sizes,ie.200 grams and 500 grams as options.

Service no to great,on the second visit ,had to wait for 10 min before someone offered me drink and in this period,several of the personnel walk pass my table.

Heinrich

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Overall Food was Very Good though had an issue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband, two teenagers, and I ate at the Resurrection Roadhouse for dinner our third night in Seward. My husband had the ribeye with mash potatoes, and asparagus. My son and daughter ordered bison burgers with fries. I ordered the Halibut picata with extra asparagus instead of the polenta because I don't eat carbs. When I placed my order with the waitress, it didn't seem to be a problem. Yet, when we all received our dishes, I only had four pieces of asparagus compared to my husband's dish which had six pieces of asparagus in addition to the mash potatoes. When I mentioned this to one of the serving girls, she simply stated that she didn't put the servings on the plate and did nothing to assuage my dissatisfaction. Needless to say, I was very disappointed with the miserly serving of asparagus for a dish costing $33 and the lack of customer service. I debated whether to give this restaurant a "3" rating because of this, but gave it a "4" because my family really like the oven baked rolls and my teenagers declared the Bison Burgers to be the best they ever had.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRAssistantGM, Manager at Resurrection Roadhouse, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Kialuagal,
Thank you for your posting and giving us 4 stars, even through we mishandled you entree.You have every right to be disapointed.Considering you opted to not have the polenta and was expecting extra aspargas,I understand your disapoinment.For this i am truly sorry.What I am really concerned with is that you told this to another server and nothing was done about it.That is not the service we are known for.We will be sharing your comments with our staff at our pre shift meeting.
It was great to hear your teenagers loved the bison burgers.
If you have any other comments you can contact me at lperoni@ciri.com or 907-224-7116 ex 2163.
Thank you.
Luke J Peroni Assistant General Manager Seward Windsong Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, TN
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good starter, but very average meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We ate here during our 3 day stay in Seward (4 adults)...the bacon-wrapped dates were fantastic, but the main courses were very average...just was nothing special at all.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Resurrection Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to Resurrection Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resurrection Roadhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.