We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let this one get by...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stoney Creek Inn
Save
You added Stoney Creek Inn to your Saves list
PO Box 1352, Seward, AK 99664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 52 Seward B&B and Inns
North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't let this one get by...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We're lucky we found this B&B tucked outside of Seward. We loved the clean rooms and easy access to many outdoor activities. The best part was the beautiful outdoor hot tub/jacuzzi which was nestled in the woods next to a lively trout stream. There were beautiful evergreens, ferns, and trees and the sounds of the trout stream right near by. It was great to sit out there and drink a beer, soak off the day's walking, and listen to the sounds of the Alaskan outdoors. The owners had everything perfectly ready for our night's stay and were helpful in recommending things to do and places to go. We also tried the local restaurant/tavern on Exit Glacier Road, the Salmon Bake -- great food and beer in a cool setting. This is a great value and great location for a Seward trip.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

Pretty good B&B. It was a little weird that we didn't see the owners until we checked out - almost like the food in the fridge was magically being restocked. :) Clean beds and bath. Breakfast is cereal, milk, orange juice, yogurt, muffin, and a plate of fruit (banana, grapes, apple, orange slice). There's a common area with a bookcase and some board games to play if you are so inclined. Has wireless internet access, which was helpful since we needed to make reservations for some activities.

Oh yeah! Must not forget the dogs. They have a couple of dogs that hang out around the buildings - it was really funny - when we arrived, one of the dogs came up to the car and practically walked us over to our unit. :D he kept pausing and looking back until we followed him.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

This was our favorite hotel of all the ones we stayed in during our Alaska trip. We had a lovely room with a queen size comfy bed, large bathroom, extremely clean, with brand new carpet, large window looking out to the woods, and a wonderful breakfast setup with coffee, milk, juice, cereals, muffins and fresh fruit. The fridge was restocked daily. There was a common area with books and snacks and computer access. The décor was lovely and warm.

The hotel was about five minutes outside of Seward. We only spent two nights there unfortunately, would have loved to stay longer.

  • Liked — Breakfast and cleanliness
  • Disliked — liked everything!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2007

Stoney Creek Inn is a cross between a motel and a B&B. Individual rooms are accessed through a common area that includes couches, tables, and a kitchenette for all guests to share. This central area is practical and serviceable, not fancy or cozy.

The rooms themselves are standard motel style and are also practical and serviceable, although they do include some nice extra touches like knotty pine, quilts, and a small refrigerator. The provided breakfast is basic and small, made up of Costco muffins, cereal, and beverages left in your room upon arrival. Everything was very clean, but a light facelift of paint for some color and slipcovers for the furniture would take this place a long way.

The true reason to choose Stoney Creek Inn is its location, which provides the best of both worlds. An easy 6-mile run down the road takes you to day activities and dinners in Seward. When you’re ready to relax, the Inn is a quiet wooded retreat with no encroaching neighbors, there is a stream behind the rooms complete with “babbling” water and spawning salmon, and there is a hot tub at the back of the property with lots of privacy.

  • Liked — Quiet location in the woods.
  • Disliked — Fairly generic rooms.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2007

A very nice B & B in the woods seperate from the main house. This ultra clean log cabin has five private roomy suites. Plenty of breakfast foods in the frig. Only about 50 yards from a small stream that you can hear with the window open. To our surprise there were salmon trying to make their way upstream. A very easy 6 mile drive to downtown Seward.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2005

The inn is located about 6 miles out of Seward, in a gorgeous, peaceful wooded area. There is a creek right behind the building where the jacuzzi is located. It's very serene and blissfully quiet (much more relaxing than being in town by the dock!). You can fall asleep to the sound of the creek, instead of the sound of traffic in town. Despite being out in the woods, it's also only 10 minutes (or less) to the boat docks, if you have an early morning departure.

We found the room to be small and a bit threadbare, but serviceable. Unfortunately, the mattress we slept felt creaky and old. A simple breakfast was a stocked self-serve fridge (milk, OJ, cereal, yogurt, muffins and some fruit).

Compared to the lodging in town in Seward, it is a good value. It wasn't among my favorite B&Bs in Alaska, but it was clean, cozy and reasonably priced compared to the hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, Ca.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2004

When I first booked this room I paid for it in full by phone and one of the owners "Kent" (and Lisa) sent me my receipt, confirmation, a brochure and letter that welcomed us and said that check in was after 4:00 p.m. and check-out was at 10:00 a.m.
I don't know about anyone else but I see a pattern over the years from when you used to be able to check out as late as 2:00 p.m. , Noon was a big change and 11:00 a.m. was pushing it, and now 10:00 a.m. was not reasonable as far as I was concerned. HOWEVER, my husband wanted to stay there because the rate was good and there was a hot tub and sauna.
Let me tell you!
The owner is laid back, I had already cancelled with him, he did explain that he and his wife work two jobs each besides the B&B, he refunded my money immediatly.
I called back after my husband insisted, got an answering machine, but Kent returned my call, was VERY nice and gave my room back to me.
When we arrived everything looks brand new, and the accomodations are in a seperate large cabin from the home. It has a great room with a microwave, hot choc., tea, coffee, games, books, phone, table. The Inn is on a creek, soft bubbly brook in the background, I believe there are five private rooms with private baths. The rooms have a refridge., and breakfast is already there with two types of cereals in containers, muffins, coffee and in the fridge containers of orange juice, milk, a fruit plate and yogurts. The accomodations are clean and cabin nice!
Out back is the sauna (give Kent an hour and a half to get it stoked) and a jacuzzi on the creek in again the cabin atmosphere with an outside shower on the creek! Incredible!!!!
It is a fabulous place to stay! The price for a Queen bed/2 adults was $99.00 a night the going price in town without all the extras. Kent does woodwork and it shows, the place is beautiful!
The owners do not bother you EVER, but are there if you need them, just ring their outside bell.
This is the place to stay in Seward, but make it two nights min. just to SOAK it all in!

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Address: PO Box 1352, Seward, AK 99664
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoney Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.