We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoney Creek Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stoney Creek Inn
Save
You added Stoney Creek Inn to your Saves list
PO Box 1352, Seward, AK 99664   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 52 Seward B&B and Inns
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A super spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this inn. The owner has a separate building with 5 rooms, all of which have their own bathroom facilities. There is a very nice common room with a fireplace, couches, table and chairs. They have tea, hot chocolate, etc. available all the time. Then, on the creek(more like a river), they have a hot tub and sauna - you sit in the hot tub and hear the water rushing. It was so relaxing. Breakfast consisted of cereal, juice, fresh fruit and a very nice muffin.
The inn is about 3 miles out of town, but still very convenient. It was one of our favorite places to stay in Alaska.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
california
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights, great price, great bed and very clean. Had plenty of room, table, refrig, we had a bath room with a tub/shower (not all the rooms have this). There is a separate building with a hot tub that looks out over a bubbling creek with beautiful greenery- this was wonderful after a day of fishing. Also is a separate building (open air) with bbq and table to cook. Out of four different places we stayed this was by far our favorite. As with any B&B, hotel, motel be aware there are people that may not realize your taking a afternoon nap. We had no issues with other guests and the rooms were all booked I hope we were quite when we were leaving for 5am fishing trips. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for the room in the back with the bathtub/shower a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were delighted to arrive at this cozy, pretty B&B after a long drive. Our room was small but attractive and comfortable. We slept great our first night and enjoyed the generous continental breakfast. All of the 5 rooms are quite close to the shared living room, and on our 2nd night we discovered this doesn't work well if there is a spoiler - a couple who returned around midnight, drunk, with several friends in tow, who then proceeded to sit in the living room, drinking, shouting, screaming with laughter - until almost 3AM. With a crowd of them, none of the rest of us wanted to confront them, but it was not a good night. Perhaps the hosts could post a "rules of the room"? Might not help, but could make such jerks think twice.....
Hosts were pleasant, but during our stay it was hard to find them. When we went to ask for advice, when our tiny bar of soap ran out, when we failed to get new coffee......the office always seemed to be dark and empty. Although there was a sign saying "ring bell", we couldn't find a bell. We also note that the price was much higher than listed in our 2012 guidebook, so check online before making plans. A pleasant place, but a few caveats.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had a room with 2 queen beds. The room was really quite small, so a little cramped for my wife and I and our adult son. Still, it was a pleasant stay and in a nice location outside of Seward. Common area had games and books. Breakfast was muffins, yogurt, and fruit which was in the room the evening we arrived. Not quite as nice as something fresh made in the morning, but it was very convenient and we could eat breakfast whenever we wanted to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg Pa.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stoney Creek is clean, quiet and situated near the end of the road. You won't pass any trailer trash on the way in. During our visit, Charlie (son) had great local information and took care of all our needs. The sauna and jacuzzi are great - they sit back by a roaring stream and is a great chill out spot after a long day of hiking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Decent Clean location.. Great host - Typical continental breakfast
Think there could be relatively lower priced options around in the nearby area..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Gorgeous B&B just outside of Seward. Clean with great breakfast offerings. Nestled in the woods along side a stream. Beautiful setting. Hot tub, steam room and grilling area! Just down the street is a great place to buy fresh seafood. Hiking is nearby as well as the great town of Seward.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoney Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Inn

Address: PO Box 1352, Seward, AK 99664
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoney Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.