We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ray's Waterfront

Ray's Waterfront
1316 Fourth Ave, Seward, AK 99664
907-224-5606
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 46 Restaurants in Seward
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Seafood is the specialty at Ray's and they do it well. As a couple, we had the halibut curry, the captain's platter (a bit of everything fishy) and some crab legs. The halibut was beautiful, while the platter was just OK. Everything was over-battered, which took away the taste of the fish.

Service was good and prices reasonable. If you get a window seat - usually afforded to those who book in advance - the view is wonderful, too.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    259
    140
    38
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food by pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Food good and view of pier excellent. Moderately priced. Service was good. Recommend for families or couples. Bar was also very nice place to have a drink.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seward, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Chicken corn chowder is the best thing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

On Sundays, Ray's serves Chicken Corn Chowder that is pretty good. The rest of the menu is ok - hasnt changed in several years and has suffered for it. Go to Chinooks - you'll be glad you did!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ray's Waterfront in Seward”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The seafood is fresh, the dishes are made from scratch and the service is very good. Because it is only open in the summer, Ray's gets a bit crowded. But it is certainly worth the wait. My favorites are the seared ahi tuna appetizer, any of their halibut dishes and the best hot fudge sundae I have tasted in a long time. We have enjoyed delicious lunches, dinners and drinks at their bar. It's my favorite place in Seward. It overlooks the small boat harbor with spectacular views of the boats in the harbor, Resurrection Bay and the mountains. It is positively breathtaking.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic View!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Our family had a delicious dinner here while we were staying in Steward. It was just a few doors down from our hotel. Our children are 11 and 9 years old and the restaurant was family friendly. The children really enjoyed petting a real reindeer in the parking lot! (A man was advertising for his nearby petting zoo.) My husband and I thought the view of the harbor and mountains was spectacular! It was so relaxing to eat and look at the scenery. We definitely would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ray's Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ray's Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.