We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cut and very tasty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Barn Appetit

Le Barn Appetit
11786 Old Exit Glacier Rd, Seward, AK 99664
907-224-8706
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Seward
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very cut and very tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very good place to go for an excellent breakfast. You're in a little barn and they make you crepes that are enough to feed a whole table. There are several to choose from but we got one filled with bananas and Bavarian cream - omg it was so good, I'm actually salivating a little right now thinking about it. The people at the table next to us got a savory crepe and they were loving it too. I didn't have any, but everyone was raving about how good the coffee was as well. Only 3-4 tables, but definitely worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    22
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Weird in a good way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Crepes in a barn with ducks wandering around what could be better, your right not much. Food was fantastic and service was one of a kind.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great crepe, but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Fun atmosphere and friendly Belgian crepe chef. Enjoyed the sweet crepes and a fruit-covered Belgian waffle. Reminded us of living in Switzerland, including when the check came. Would still recommend it for a splurge.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“GOOD CREPES AND FRIENDLY PEOPLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

at first glance we weren't sure what to expect. but within five minutes of sitting down and talking to the owners, Janet and Ivan, we felt right at home. i've never laughed so hard. we ended up staying for 2-3 hrs, just eating and talking with them. good people and crepes!

the crepes are HUGE! about 16". we ordered a crepe with eggs, reindeer sausage and spinach. ohhh the reindeer sausage was delicious! the best sausage i've ever tasted. Ivan makes all the crepes by hand with this little stick device. it's neat watching the master in action.

just can't say enough positive things about this place. they said their hours are 7a-7p. we went around 11a on a Monday and had no problems. when we're back in Seward, we'll def drop in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious Food & Character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

While doing laundry up the street we stopped in for some coffee. The mocha was great, not heavy on the coffee but very rich and wonderful. The hot chocolate was also great. Then we saw the crepes and knew we were going to have to come back the next for those. They didn't disappoint.

The owners and the building all add to the charm.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Barn Appetit also viewed

 

Been to Le Barn Appetit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Barn Appetit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.