We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and delicious crepes !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Barn Appetit

Le Barn Appetit
11786 Old Exit Glacier Rd, Seward, AK 99664
907-224-8706
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 46 Restaurants in Seward
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and delicious crepes !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Janet and Yvon run this amazing place which serves some of the best crepes we have ever had. From savory crepes to sweet indulgences, the crepes here will leave you yearning for more. Most likely your stomach would be the one telling you to finally stop when it can't take it anymore while your heart will keep pushing you for more.

Try the strawberry/blueberry sweet crepe and the crepe du jour (which was with spinach, egg and reindeer sausage while we were staying at the place). The most amazing thing is the love with which Janet and Yvon make these dishes. Their humorous anecdotes/comments will keep you entertained during your meal. They are a lovely couple and this is a great place to visit (even if you have to wait a little, eat at this place, its worth it).

Not many reviews mention that this is also a great place to stay (Bed and breakfast). It's a beautiful, red barn style building with several themed rooms. The rooms are cozy, comfortable and of-course breakfast (aforementioned awesome crepes) is included. I can't imagine how any other hotel/B&B can compete with that!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    22
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You Won't Be Disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Fabulous crepes! Small, but tons of character. Only seats about twenty so don't be in a hurry. Enjoy the process. We sure did!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Most amazing crepe in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

As you pull in, you have no idea what to expect. Then you go inside which is covered in an fun eclectic decor. The owners are very sweet and very helpful. It's like your joining their already large family for a meal. Ok now for the crepes...

They are AMAZING. By far the most amazing crepe I've ever had and I'd like to say I've sampled a few good ones. You can watch them cook them in front of you and their selection of savory and sweet are all winners. Can not rave about them enough... go try for yourselves. You won't be disappointed!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Outstanding!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to stay! Such friendly and gracious hosts! Every room, especially the dining room, is filled with intersting trinkets and stories. And the crepes are simply amazing. Go stay there!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Hidden gem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place is sort of hidden but you will find one of the excellent crepes there. This place is run by elderly couple and they make everything in front of you from scratch. Also, Yvon's (owner) stories are very fascinating. We enjoyed our short break at their place, it was like we were visiting some family members in Seward.
One should go to them to meet them and have the awesome crepes there.

:)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Barn Appetit also viewed

 

Been to Le Barn Appetit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Barn Appetit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.