We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet and out of the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seward Windsong Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Seward Windsong Lodge to your Saves list
Seward Windsong Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   31772 Hermann Leirer Road, Mile 0.5, Exit Glacier Road, Seward, AK 99664-2301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Seward
Holt, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet and out of the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Nice, clean and comfortable smaller size rooms with minimal desk/drawer space. The staff was very accommodating. Fairly quiet and a few miles to town and good restaurants. We ate breakfast twice and dinner once at their restaurants and the food was good and the waiting staff was extremely friendly. You pretty much need a vehicle if you plan to go anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    123
    59
    28
    5
See reviews for
87
144
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shannon Ilinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great place to stay in Seward AK with Shuttle service to Small Boat Harbor & Downtown.
Resurrection Roadhouse Restaurant is on property. Five miles from Exit Glacier.
Hotel Closes Sept 15 for winter. No Gift shop.

Room Tip: Ask for room close to main office if you have a handicap as they have 14 units around the main offic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The rooms were clean and spacious. The main lodge was beautiful. The roadhouse was a 2 minute walk for a great meal and drinks. The views from the grounds were stunning. I can't say enough about this place. I thought the beds were very comfortable. and I truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

When you stay in Alaska, the Windsong allows you to experience the rustic nature of the the great outdoors. The rooms were clean, the restaurant has fantastic views and the shuttle ran quite regularly into town and also on demand. We were looking for some place quiet and we found it! Loved the towering cabin-like lobby and fireplace coziness, too.

Room Tip: The second floor has a wonderful view out back into the wooded areas from the private balcony but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYFIELD
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights. Beautiful lodge. Small rooms and very clean. Shuttle service to town included in cost operating from 7am to 10pm. Very accommodating. Larry the driver was extremely helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This lodge is in a nice setting just outside Seward. It helps to have a car when staying here so that you have the flexibility to come and go as you please. Clearly this lodge had many people from the cruise ships, we were able to tell from the number of busses at the main entrance. The rooms were clean and had a sufficient amount of room. The room with the deck wasn't really worth it since it was rainy and chilly but the deck also looked thought some trees at the main lodge. We rented two rooms, and the suite had a nice amount of room. From what I could tell, this is probably the best place to stay in Seward, but keep in mind that the main town of Seward is a couple of miles away.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We shoud have known better to book here when this was the only hotel in town that had rooms available. We arrived late in the evening with it pouring rain checked into the room and found out that the Internet, which is advertised does not work in the rooms. The front desk person said that we could use it in th office as the ifi worked there but as they close at 10 pm, we old have to stand outside. It was pouring rain and they felt like they were doing us a favor by having us stand next to the office in pouring rain so we could access the wifi, that should have been available in the rooms

The coffee maker didn't work in the room, and the room itself was musty. Stay elsewhere if you can.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seward Windsong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seward Windsong Lodge

Address: 31772 Hermann Leirer Road, Mile 0.5, Exit Glacier Road, Seward, AK 99664-2301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seward Windsong Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seward Windsong Lodge offers a peaceful escape in a glacial river valley surrounded by towering mountains. An ideal place for your next meeting, wedding or special event. Serving fresh seafood, tasty burgers, gourmet pizzas and a variety of ales on tap. Free shuttle service to the Seward Small Boat Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Seward Windsong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seward Windsong Hotel Seward

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seward Windsong Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.