We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked for our Seward needs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Harborview Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Harborview Inn to your Saves list
Harborview Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   804 Third Ave, Seward, AK 99664-1305   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Seward
Tacoma WA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Worked for our Seward needs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

Seward is a drop-off point for cruisers, tours, and the Alaska Rail. We had flown into Anchorage for a two-day visit, then chose Seward for an overnight visit by rail before heading to my husband's business meeting in Girdwood. The Harborview Inn met our needs as a clean but not outstanding motel in-between the harbor drop-off point and the two-block city center of Seward. It was reasonably priced, although it seems that most of the hotels were similarly priced. If you aren't a walker, then this motel would probably not have worked for you, as it is in the middle of no where, really. But for us, we were able to walk to the harbor a few times, return to the hotel, then walk the opposite direction to city center a few times. The rooms were clean and the staff pleasant enough. I guess you can say that, staying at this motel, you are staying among the locals, not in a tourist area.

One downside is that the motel doesn't provide pick-up at the harbor, and we only saw one cab driver. Had we not been seasoned walkers, we would have been stuck. We noticed that many other hotels had shuttle service. The Alaska Railroad in Anchorage will even check your baggage by hotel, making sure your luggage got to the hotel with you. No such service with Harborview.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    42
    33
    8
    6
See reviews for
30
37
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
LWBenson
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

This was a great place to stay for the money. The room we stayed in was on the first floor on the end. We had a partial view of the harbor. The bathroom was large enough and the room was very nice. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Wall were thin between rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastCoast
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

This is a two story motel, with nice wooden rustic exterior. We had rain on our first day so the covered walkways were welcome. The room was clean and reasonably sized, decorated in Alaska motifs (sort of grown-up camp) but uninspired. The bathroom was small and a bit sparse on amenities. Everything, however, was spotless. The building construction is very light so you’ll hear every noise from neighbors. We were on the first floor, so heard guests on one side and above. However, since there is no night life to speak of and most people are up at dawn for boat trips, the hotel settled into sleep early. If you go, ask for the second floor (which we did not) and you might get a view of the harbor. Rating B-.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

Quaint, clean rooms, included mini fridge and micro. Free on site parking. Short drive to boat harbor and Sealife center. Great value for the money! Definitely would stay here again!

  • Liked — great value for clean rooms w/amenities
  • Disliked — no elevators
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2007

No view of harbor, no view at all. Lumpy, flat pillows. Sink was clogged, needed Drano. Thin walls. It was clean, but definitely not worth what we paid for it. Search around first.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2007

Stayed two nights at Harborview Inn during May. It was a pleasant stay in a neat, clean and pleasant environment. The front desk staff was helpful and accommodating. Not really a child friendly place, we had no refrigerator, no microwave, and there was an extra charge for the crib. The harbor view was obstructed but the mountain view was amazing.

Overall, it is a nice well kept place in a convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

My husband and I stayed here Memorial Day weekend and found this to be a very cost efficient, clean, and cozy place to stay. Seward is a beautiful town and though this hotel isn't located right on the harbor, it's location is pretty centralized. It is within reasonable walking distance to both the downtown area (coffee shops, Alaska Sealife Center, bars, and restaurants) and to the harbor area (additional restaurants and gift shops along with cruise and tour checkpoints). The room decor along with the whole hotel vibe was that of the outdoors...more like a cabin then the run of the mill plain jane hotel room. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — Reasonable Price and centralized location
  • Disliked — No high speed internet - dialup only
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harborview Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborview Inn

Address: 804 Third Ave, Seward, AK 99664-1305
Location: United States > Alaska > Seward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Seward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Harborview Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Harborview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborview Hotel Seward

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harborview Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.